Google+

Batman: Arkham Asylum review

Back to Article

91 comments

  • richt - August 25, 2009 7:51 p.m.

    Just pre-ordered the collectors edition (with my accuratley replicated batarang) and now cant wait i actually feel like a kid on christmas eve, i havent looked forward to a game this much since fable 2, n this looks to be better :) demo is awesome so cant imagine the rest of the game, and great review btw only problem is the wait i have now roll on friday :).
  • crazyqazqaz - August 26, 2009 6:38 p.m.

    Looks good, might actually get this. First Batman game if I do.
  • WAY2DOPE - August 28, 2009 9:04 a.m.

    I might buy this game today cause it looks awesome the fighting fun and I could not stop playing the demo
  • justified_candy - August 28, 2009 11:21 p.m.

    harley quinn. nuff said
  • Cyberninja - August 21, 2009 4:15 p.m.

    i am going to buy a new system for this game with the money i get fom chrismas
  • garnsr - August 21, 2009 4:25 p.m.

    The demo didn't really make me want to buy it, but it didn't put me off much, either. It's good to see reviews a little while before the game comes out, but it seems odd to me to see the Brits reviewing an American institution like Batman.
  • Pr0fesserCha0s - August 21, 2009 4:58 p.m.

    Best Review Ever Best Game Ever Best Hero Ever Best Hero Game Ever Best Gameplay Best Voice over Best Graphics Best Website Ever Game of The Year God Dammit Gamesradar just give it a freakin 10 it dosen't deserves a freakin 9 it rightfully deserves a 10 and its definitely Game of The Year :P
  • may.be.vital - August 21, 2009 5:01 p.m.

    GR posts first Batman Review!? Thanks guys and great job, already pre-ordered this baby :) Cheers!
  • may.be.vital - August 21, 2009 5:05 p.m.

    Oh and for anyone in Canada and possibly every where else, if you pre-order it at EB games and pick it up on release day then you get it for like $40 instead of $60 :D That sounded like an ad haha :P
  • Dexsus - August 21, 2009 5:05 p.m.

    Holy super review batman! I must get my hands on this! Very well done Mr.Houghton, very well done indeed!
  • GR_DavidHoughton - August 21, 2009 5:06 p.m.

    Pr0fesserCha0s: Best comment ever. And to be honest with you, the "9 or 10?" decision was a genuinely hard one, but the stuff I mentioned in the penultimate paragraph gave me no choice but to knock it down.
  • sixboxes - August 21, 2009 5:35 p.m.

    Also, hearing Arleen Sorkin as Harley Quinn saw the words "Mr. J." almost brought tears of fanjoy to my eyes. Yes I'm probably a bigger fan of the killer cartoon series than anything else bat related, but I think it just shows how this game touches every corner of the Batman universe. Well, every good corner, anyway. The batsuit doesn't have nipples, or Ahnuld as Dr. Freeze. Life is good.
  • Perfect_Insanity - August 21, 2009 6 p.m.

    As a huge Bat-Fan myself the mere thought of owning this game makes me feel like a small child on Christmas eve. There is finally a proper, - and rightfully so - groundbreaking Batman game :)
  • HardlyBirdman - August 21, 2009 7:38 p.m.

    Holy Blockbuster Bonanza Batman! This on the heels of the PS3 slim news has the money in my wallet fighting for the privledge of being spent to obtain this awesomeness.
  • skyline19 - August 21, 2009 8:13 p.m.

    got this bad boy pre-ordered special edition can't wait!
  • SlightlyBetterName - August 21, 2009 8:54 p.m.

    Wasn't looking forward to this until i played the demo. Now i'm really interested. Might be the first game i've actually bought in a while.
  • bron1417 - August 21, 2009 9:07 p.m.

    wow i had a feeling this was going to be good. i hope i can go pick it up soon
  • TrigunGunner - August 21, 2009 9:20 p.m.

    spidey will never get back in the game enough to rival batman. TheWebSwinger has his hopes too high. Bats eat spiders for breakfast. Spiderman will never be better than batman
  • crumbdunky - August 21, 2009 10:53 p.m.

    So then. I've read a 9, a 9.3 and another 9 so far-so AA confirmed as AAA? Looks that way and, tbh, I wasn't bowled over by the demo(just felt a bit stiff and samey)-it was OK but nothung to indicate this level of praise so there really has to be much more depth and balance to the full game. Getting sick of these demos that don't represent their games-VC was cack and the game was cool whereas Sonic:Unleashed promised fast Hedgehog action and told you nothing about the awful Werehog BS that made up 90% of the damn game! Seems like Eidos may have caught the bug off Sega! Oh well stick another game on the pile-what would we have done if they HADN'T moved all those games to 2010?
  • Corsair89 - August 22, 2009 12:05 a.m.

    I'm so overjoyed that AA broke through where so many other superhero games fell short. Best licensed game ever.

Showing 41-60 of 91 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 15 2009 - PC
Aug 25 2009 - PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Sep 15 2009 - PC
Aug 28 2009 - PS3, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Eidos
Developed by: Rocksteady Studios
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Blood, Suggestive Themes, Tobacco Reference, Violence, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
16+