Google+

Armored Core for Answer review

AT A GLANCE
  • New missions
  • Improved customization
  • Online co-op
  • Really just Armored Core 4.5
  • Won't attract casual players
  • Doesn't look quite next-gen

Confusing title, but not as baffling a game. This feels very familiar to what’s gone before it. In fact, if you’ve got last year’s Armored Core 4 you’d be mistaken for thinking you’d put the wrong disc in your system. The only differences are the new missions, improved customization and the inclusion of online co-op play.


 
Still, that’s going to be no bad thing if you enjoy creating mechanical giants and stomping about with heat-seeking missiles. The escort and blow-stuff-up missions are fun, and, while the environments and explosions aren’t as pretty as one could expect, there’s an impressive amount of customization options available to let you personalize your mech exactly how you see fit.

Moving around in Armored Core feels spot on, but the game still does nothing to attract casual players. Unless you’re going to dedicate hours of your life to mech construction, there’s not much here for you.

Nov 18, 2008

More Info

Release date: Sep 16 2008 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Nov 28 2008 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: From Software
Franchise: Armored Core
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Violence, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

8 comments

  • fart_hyardsmel - November 28, 2008 3:55 p.m.

    This is quite possibly the worst review on your site. It's shallow, insubstantial, and useless on all practical levels. For shame Gamesradar. For shame Keith Brice. You could have done better.
  • Akiira - November 19, 2008 5:47 a.m.

    i miss the good ole days of playing ac on the ps2
  • IslanderSwagg - January 17, 2009 11:37 p.m.

    Armored Core looks too paper-ish
  • An1h1lat0r - August 10, 2009 4:52 p.m.

    I have this game and the only bad thing is that its not co-op without xbox live so eat it gamesradar!
  • DEC4D3 - April 30, 2009 6:15 a.m.

    Hmm As fart_hyardsmel has kindly stated. This review is Shit. I love Armoured Core but just a casual lover not really hardcore. Anyone could pick up this game and go AWESOME! You can just judge people like that >.>. This is probibly the worst review ever..ever..ever..ever...Did I mention does not even look like a damn review? >:O
  • vikingwarlord90 - December 30, 2008 4:42 a.m.

    I have to agree with Wooptypickle. especially because i am one of those hardcore ac players. i like final fantasy as much as anybody, but id have to choose ac anytime over that.
  • Wooptypickle - December 23, 2008 7:09 p.m.

    Alright seriously you guys have given Armored Core in general a bad rap. I havent played this game but I still know what it is and that is a good and a bad thing. This game well Armored Core has a religious following. Which means of course its not for the casual gamer if you realized what this games about or all Armored Cores youd realize thats not what they're going for kinda like Final Fantasy and all their glory they tell you its coming out and dont need to tell us any more cause they know its going to sell, because its already got a fan base. I think that that needs to be taken off your rating system.
  • Yellowhat17 - December 13, 2008 3:19 a.m.

    "Won't attract casual players?"!?!? That's a ridiculous thing to say on a review for a very obviously hardcore game.

Showing 1-8 of 8 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000