Google+

Alien Swarm review

Decent
Back to Article

34 comments

  • Hobojedi - July 24, 2010 4:44 a.m.

    Y'know, the hacking minigames do get more complex near the end, and half the time, you can just chainsaw the doors down.
  • BigLandoz - July 24, 2010 3:40 a.m.

    A 6?! This game is a blast!
  • JohnnyMaverik - July 24, 2010 2:41 a.m.

    I disagree strongly with the "overly simplified gameplay", if anything it's not quite simple enough, however fair points on the other two fronts, although I wouldn't say the game is completely lacking in atmosphere. Also giving this game a full, scored review seems pretty weird. @ Doctalen LOL, no -_-
  • Doctalen - July 24, 2010 2:30 a.m.

    Is this possibly available over Xbox Live?
  • Memph - July 24, 2010 2:26 a.m.

    6 my arse. Even that Nation Red static arena guff got a 7 and Madballs nailed an 8! Those are far more simpler games. This is my co-op game of the year thus far, by a country mile. On insane with some mates it's anything but not all that interesting. 1 campaign is really only the beginning with the extreme mod-potential this game presents to the community, being absolutely free there will (hopefully) be a flood of quality content very soon. Tbh, i hope it takes off so much we get a full-blown sequel with larger L4D style campaigns. Far from the usual murky pool of FPS knockoffs all fur-coat and no knickers, this feels like a real game, with real challenge. Get stuck in i say, it's sodding ace.
  • Amnesiac - July 24, 2010 2:20 a.m.

    Huh, that's a surprisingly mediocre score.
  • SumthingStupid - July 24, 2010 1:30 a.m.

    6!?!?! Alien swarm is great i can't stop playing it, it is so much fun
  • Jesse1066 - July 24, 2010 1:16 a.m.

    At the price, I'd say there's no excuse not to play, or at least try, Alien Swarm. I even recommended it to my grandma. It's that awesome!
  • Rancid47 - July 24, 2010 12:57 a.m.

    It might be simple but it's highly addicting. This deserves a much higher rating.
  • ColonelKc - July 24, 2010 12:14 a.m.

    I love this game, i just want some new maps and weapons.
  • Wriggly - July 23, 2010 11:57 p.m.

    It being free doesn't make it a better game, but I can agree where you're coming from. One of the pluses was that it's free, too.
  • sft10 - July 23, 2010 11:49 p.m.

    agree with ColonelKc how can you give this a 6, its free and it involves shooting aliens what more is there to say ??
  • redmight - July 23, 2010 11:45 p.m.

    what! a simple six! this game is great I have been playing it for a while now with great online players and it incredibly addicting I would of forgiven a seven but a six thats low for a free good game in my opinion.
  • ColonelKc - July 23, 2010 11:44 p.m.

    A 6!?!?!!?!?

Showing 21-34 of 34 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PC

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.