Google+

Alan Wake super review

Back to Article

67 comments

  • thelegendaryX - November 20, 2013 5:26 a.m.

    Amazing game. Immersive atmosphere, intriguing story, addictive gameplay.
  • Alucard918 - May 19, 2012 9:55 a.m.

    Although the enemies are repetitive and aren't very scary the story is amazing and if you play on nightmare difficulty it is really intense and seams less repetitive.
  • danny-stuivenberg - May 9, 2012 9:53 p.m.

    Although it might be confusing, Alan Wake has a great ending.
  • BertTheTurtle - August 4, 2011 12:45 a.m.

    I know this is really late, but I wanted to defend this game since it is my favorite. Personally, I like this game more than the games I have that scored a 10. The story is one of the best I've experienced. The animations are smooth, the camera is amazing, the lighting is astounding, the pacing is perfect, the voice acting, the level design, the controls, the atmosphere, the setting, the attention to detail, the character development is all wonderfully done, and the soundtrack is one of the best I've ever heard. Also, I found this game to be one of the scarier ones I've played, and the DLC is outstanding. Personally, this is the best game I've played so far.
  • thelegendaryX - March 29, 2014 7:25 p.m.

    I agree! I can only think of three flaws. I FEEL it gives you too much ammo in many areas, the facial animations are pretty bad, and the driving physics are awful. But these are very minor issues (especially the last two). All in all, I enjoyed this game immensely. From gameplay to atmosphere to story. Really awesome, easily in my top 10.
  • MrQuatloo - January 18, 2011 2:20 a.m.

    Man, I love that game. It has made me fear the dark all over again.and the Cthulu reference was hilarious.
  • DrKiss - June 4, 2010 6:56 a.m.

    If I shine a light at my imaginary friends will they become real?... Then try to kill me
  • FVHound - June 2, 2010 10:37 a.m.

    Graphically it was the ugliest Game I had ever seen. The voices tended to not fit the movement of their mouth, which was minimal anyway, And just the terrible textures... I've played 2 hours, it's worth playing for the story, and perhaps wanting to know the characters, the gameplay is interesting, but repetetive.
  • thelegendaryX - March 29, 2014 7:26 p.m.

    I think the graphics in this game are amazing, all except the facial animations. Really beautiful game, IMO.
  • SausageLozenge - May 19, 2010 7:37 p.m.

    I find forests repetitive too.
  • RebornKusabi - May 17, 2010 9:57 p.m.

    Two things: Firstly, You're right, the enemies in Silent Hill: Homecoming didn't make ANY sense... however that is not the case for the earlier games, especially the first three games. Silent Hill 1's enemies were all completely based on the fears of Alessa Gillespie, some even from books that she read as a child. Silent Hill 2's enemies were all based on James Sunderland's personal ****ed-up thoughts... with the exception of two enemies (one is a human boss and another which was based off another characters father and what he did to her). Silent Hill 3's enemies are based off of both Heather and Alessa's memories, again some of the enemies being based off of literary monsters. Silent Hill 4's enemies are based off of Walter's fears and memories (as well as those dumb-ass and annoying as Hell Ghost Victim enemies) and Silent Hill: Origins enemies are based off of Travis's memories as well as Alessa's (again...) fears that she had as a child. Just a minor pet peeve of mine, but I hate when people (NOT YOU... you're awesome lol) bitch about the series' enemies when they really have no idea what the **** they're talking about. All you said was that the enemies were "weird for weirds sake" which is a completely fair criticism of the series' enemies in my book. Lastly, the first half of your review had me intrigued instantly (plus I'm a big fan of the Max Payne series and hearing they were involved was interesting)... too bad all of the [valid] complaints you had kind of turned me off of the game. I'll rent it first thought because the Survival Horror genre is really REALLY in the need of some new and relatively original games lol
  • JD_Method - May 10, 2010 12:15 p.m.

    Why do people talk about this like eight is a bad score? It's not. Eight is a great score.
  • LIKEUCARE - May 7, 2010 8:24 p.m.

    I was greatly interested in this game from announcement till the day it was confirmed as a XBOX 360 exclusive. Sucks bad, but its reality... and well, I refuse to buy a console solely for one appealing game for me! However, if the alleged rumors are right and there is a 360 slim on the way, then I might get one, ONLY IF its well rated and better built than current craptacular 360 that fails every months or so... Till then, I'll be more than busy with RDR, thank you very much!
  • blairjacobs - May 7, 2010 3:12 p.m.

    remedy makes quality games although the repetitiveness of wake mentioned in this review is kinda off putting... il stil pick this one up though... after red dead...
  • oryandymackie - May 6, 2010 4:39 p.m.

    I'm not ready to deal with this yet. I'm off to play Saints Row 2.
  • Mechamorbo - May 6, 2010 3:32 p.m.

    I was hoping for blown away reviews, but since I'm primarily interested in the story anyway, I'll still be picking it up
  • The_Tingler - May 6, 2010 6:24 a.m.

    If it was on PC I'd still get it... oh well.
  • Tochy - May 6, 2010 3:14 a.m.

    fail reCAPTCHA:marimba expression lol
  • Rob0727 - May 6, 2010 2:12 a.m.

    cant wait great review charlie but i think i might like it a bit more then u but still great

Showing 1-20 of 67 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Remedy
ESRB Rating:
Teen
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.