Google+

Age of Booty - Xbox Live Arcade review

Solid
AT A GLANCE
  • Unique amongst XBLA titles
  • Pick-up-and-play RTS
  • Fun with friends
  • Not fun to play alone
  • Kinda boring visuals
  • A bit pricey

Pirates, eh!? Brilliant, eh!? Not really, but this is a multiplayer game up there with Bomberman and Worms. Eight players sail the seas, fight, and attempt to occupy ports to secure victory. Offline, it’s... a bit rubbish. It’s a speedy and strategic RTS-lite, and unlike anything else on XBLA. Just don’t bother playing alone.

Oct 17, 2008

More Info

Release date: Oct 15 2008 - Xbox 360 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Strategy
Published by: Capcom
Developed by: Certain Affinity
ESRB Rating:
Everyone
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

We Recommend By ZergNet

7 comments

  • VoideeX7 - May 17, 2011 6:17 p.m.

    The game is at 200MP now for this week, i never heard of it, but today I tried the demo, if they call this a RTS, they should burry it, no strategy needed, just upgrade everything till 3 and u beat everyone, no penalties for losing a ship, no control what so ever, Sid Meirs or whatever his name is had more control for battle and resource, or Port ROyal 2, I wish a game like that made it in to the XBLA, it be fun to play long battle, save at anytime and continue later... the online... 4 Captains vs all, or CO-OP resource gathering... nice idea
  • Elbo444 - October 22, 2008 12:18 a.m.

    why read 3 pages of review when you can get the same info in a paragraph? waste of time in my book, if the game isn't very big the review shouldn't need to be very big either
  • Gonri 13 - October 19, 2008 7:54 p.m.

    Maybe it was uneventful and din't warrant any more words.
  • Tikicobra - October 18, 2008 2:15 a.m.

    That was the saddest, most ridiculously short review I've ever read. I read the whole thing and thought it was just the beginning paragraph. I award the writer no points. He doesn't deserve credit for this sad excuse of a review.
  • skyguy343 - October 20, 2008 7:47 p.m.

    then why don't you MARRY GameSpot!!! meanwhile, we'll be enjoying the party GamesRadar is throwin for the record they just set!
  • Tikicobra - October 19, 2008 10:07 p.m.

    GameSpot has a full, regular length review for the exact same game - and it's well-written, too. I think that GamesRadar - once again - didn't know what to say.
  • climbing wolf - October 19, 2008 6:50 p.m.

    Record. Shortest review ever on gamesradar.

Showing 1-7 of 7 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.