Google+

Ace Combat Assault Horizon - Full Access Preview

Ace Combat Assault Horizon comes out on Tuesday, at which time we'll post our review, but until then we have a preview video showcasing one of the early missions. We tried to show off all the nifty doodads this latest Ace Combat brings to the table, but forgive us for a bit of greenhorn flying as we try to talk and dogfight simultaneously. In this mission, the sixth, we're trying to protect Dubai from a squadron of bombers supposedly carrying some terrifying new super-weapon, but there's plenty of fighter-on-fighter action as well.

What do you think? Is the new DFM (dogfight mode) an exciting new feature or too arcadey for your taste? What do you think of the kill cams and (dare we say it) regenerating plane health? We'll let you know our full assessment when the review drops on Tuesday.

Oct 7, 2011

Topics

FAP

We Recommend By ZergNet

11 comments

  • Yeager1122 - October 8, 2011 6:07 p.m.

    Havent played Ace Combat in years this ones looking good.
  • SillyPigeon - October 7, 2011 4:55 p.m.

    Any Puddle Of Mudd on the soundtrack?
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - October 7, 2011 5:38 p.m.

    The soundtrack is all original, and completely awesome.
  • ScottyPippen - October 7, 2011 4:42 p.m.

    I'm pretty sure I heard a quick Catch-22 reference in there. That makes me so happy.
  • 510BrotherPanda - October 7, 2011 4:01 p.m.

    "WORK THAT YAW!" This FAP was so appropriate, since this is Fleet Week here in SF...looks like fun!
  • PlainLikeVanilla - October 7, 2011 3:18 p.m.

    How are you going to review Ace Combat games without Brett?
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - October 7, 2011 3:34 p.m.

    Not as well? I'll try my best, though.
  • Zzombie99 - October 7, 2011 2:47 p.m.

    I really like how this looks. I think the brilliance in this game is in how it can play as an arcade-y game but also like any Ace Combat that we're used to. Do want!
  • MyCoolWhiteLies - October 7, 2011 2:28 p.m.

    This game looks ridiculous. Fun though.
  • MuleVariant - October 7, 2011 2:27 p.m.

    not a fan of this type of game normaly, but this looks pretty damn amazing. the dfm is a good idea, i think that's what keeps me away from this type of game usually.
  • UberNoob - October 7, 2011 2:26 p.m.

    I tried the demo, but the gameplay doesn't seem as polished and smooth as in the video. I still enjoyed it, especially DFM since it doesn't make the game seem repetitive.

Showing 1-11 of 11 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.