David Gemmell Legend Award shortlist

Fantasy author David Gemmell is widely regarded as the UK’s most accomplished author in the heroic fantasy genre. The David Gemmell Legend Award has been created in his name following his sudden death in 2006, and will be presented for the very first time in 2009 for the best fantasy novel of 2008. The award will be given to a work written in the 'spirit' of the late master of heroic fantasy. We asked author Deborah Miller about her part in setting it up back in October. The winner will be announced and the Award given on 19 June at the Magic Circle headquarters in London, where there will also be a charity auction. Last week at Eastercon the shortlist was announced, and here it is in case you haven't seen it yet:

Joe Abercrombie
Last Argument Of Kings
Juliet Marillier
Heir To Sevenwaters
(Tor UK)
Brandon Sanderson
The Hero Of Ages
(Tor US)
Andrzej Sapkowski
Blood Of Elves
Brent Weeks
The Way Of Shadows

Miller also shared with us the next five titles on the list, which didn’t make the shortlist but polled within the top ten (in alphabetical order by author):

The Painted Man – Peter Brett (Voyager) Toll The Hounds – Steve Erikson (Transworld) The Two Pearls Of Wisdom – Alison Goodman (Bantam) The Kingdom Beyond The Waves – Stephen Hunt (Voyager) Havemercy – Jaida Jones and Danielle Bennett (Bantam Spectra)

To find out more and to vote, visit the official DGLA website here .