Google+

You're in the Movies review

Decent
AT A GLANCE
  • Brilliant core idea
  • Amusing B-Movie replays
  • Good for party play
  • Takes too long to set up
  • Unbalanced scoring system
  • Won't amuse for long

The basic idea of this Live Vision game is brilliant – set up a camera, play some EyeToy-style minigames that require different movements and chuck in some silly expressions and faces. Then, once the round is over, sit back and watch You’re in the Movies play back your actions in a series of B-Movie style film trailers.

It works too – and it’s a brilliant bit of fun for an hour or two. There are downsides however. It can take a little while to set up and, unless you film yourself perfectly, it all comes out a bit glitchy. And as an actual ‘game’, some elements are a little broken, like an unbalanced scoring system that makes winning and losing arbitrary.

The sort of thing you’ll bring out once in a while when mates are round. No harm in that – even if as a game it doesn’t really work.

Jan 2, 2009

More Info

Release date: Nov 17 2008 - Xbox 360 (US)
Nov 21 2008 - Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Genre: Other Games/Compilations
Published by: Microsoft
Developed by: Codemasters
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Comic Mischief, Mild Violence, Mild Language

We Recommend By ZergNet

8 comments

  • Tomsta666 - May 20, 2009 6:01 p.m.

    I just got this. It does seem fun but I cant seem to get the lighting right. Its showing me with patches missing. Which is a shame. Cos I was looking forward to some drunken fun with friends with this game :(
  • The_Author - January 6, 2009 10:38 a.m.

    I'm argueing against everyone here... This game is super fun when you play it with friends... Me and the 3 mates I was playing it with couldn't stop laughing! And the crappy B Movie trailers we made were brillaint... If only we could upload them to youtube...
  • Jbo87 - January 3, 2009 3:15 a.m.

    Have to agree that this looks fecking terrible. But lets be honest, with Nintendo releasing the pandora's box of gaming retardation, (and being monumentally successful), who can blame the other consoles for following suit? I also just saw that it was developed by Codemasters..... Jesus Christ what are those boys thinking. I'm not even that much of a racing fan but I appreciate what they've done. Dark days people, dark days.
  • RowleyBirkinQC - January 2, 2009 11:22 p.m.

    my god that looks absolute turd burger
  • Gunslinger - January 2, 2009 11 p.m.

    First. Had to be said, sorry. And yeah, I'm gunna avoid this game like the plague. Looks... effin' atrocious. But thanks for the review, to tell it's not TOO atrocious. Brief and accurate. I likes 'em that way.
  • Gunslinger - January 2, 2009 10:59 p.m.

    First. Had to be said, sorry. And yeah, I'm gunna avoid this game like the plague. Looks... effin' atrocious. But thanks for the review, to tell it's not TOO atrocious. Brief and accurate. I likes 'em that way.
  • RandyChimp - January 4, 2009 8:33 p.m.

    isn't this essentially eyetoy play? theyve stolen old technology that was only slightly fun when it was brand new.
  • key0blade - January 4, 2009 7:13 a.m.

    I knew the moment I saw this on E3....

Showing 1-8 of 8 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.