Google+

Splinter Cell: Conviction Super Review

Back to Article

116 comments

  • michaelmcc827 - April 13, 2010 9:45 p.m.

    Me insulting him? If it were your opinion he were trashing in a review, you'd feel the same way. There's a difference between posting a review with your own opinion, and insulting other people's opinions in the review.
  • may.be.vital - April 13, 2010 9:38 p.m.

    Michael please shut up and leave the good Mr. Antista alone... The game is very good, his review is his own opinion, which you don't have to follow (imagine that!), and you don't need to insult him about it.
  • michaelmcc827 - April 13, 2010 9:38 p.m.

    Oh, and I never called you "stupid" as you did me, try to keep it civil; I called TFU's comment worthless because it added nothing to the conversation, it was strictly accusatory and rude.
  • michaelmcc827 - April 13, 2010 9:36 p.m.

    @D0CCON Here, let me simplify it so you don't get confused. He didn't like previous Splinter Cells because he though they were too boring/hard. This splinter Cell made action more fast paced, and took out the features that made it slower and more tactical, so Chris gave it an 8. However, he still think that they didn't make it fast-paced enough, which is why he didn't rate it higher. Following me? What I "hate" about this, is that he's essentially judging all of the games based on how fast-paced they are (in a nutshell, don't quote that out of context.), judging it higher for what the series was never meant to be in the first place.
  • R_U_Guys_From_British - April 13, 2010 9:29 p.m.

    @ michaelmcc827 Are you Ubi's Maxime Beland?
  • D0CCON - April 13, 2010 9:28 p.m.

    Oops, sorry to post basically the same thing twice, didn't think it appeared the first time. Everyone makes mistakes.
  • D0CCON - April 13, 2010 9:27 p.m.

    Just to make sure, most of that was for Michaelmcc827, even though I started with @TFUPrivatelron. I'm guessing most can figure it out, but there are some morons out there, so it's better to be safe than sorry.
  • D0CCON - April 13, 2010 9:25 p.m.

    Oh, and although I started @TFUPrivatelron, it quickly became @Michaelmcc827. I totally agree with TFUPrivatelron and I'm guessing most people figured that out, but there are some really stupid people out there, so this is for clarification.
  • michaelmcc827 - April 13, 2010 9:24 p.m.

    Reading Metacritic, at least the reviews point out fans of the series will likely be disappointed, instead of outright mocking them in the review. I understand GR reviews are more "off-the-cuff", but it seems you aren't differentiating between fanboys who scream "bias!!! paid off!!!" and people with legitimate complaints who just disagree with you, which is extremely frustrating.
  • D0CCON - April 13, 2010 9:24 p.m.

    @TFUPrivatelron don't worry, it's not you. Sometimes people just really need things to bitch about for no reason and this is what Michaelmcc827 needed. You can sort of tell when he keeps contradicting himself (first paragraph: oh, you hated the game with its challenge and removed features. What's wrong with you? This game is great, you just aren't good enough at gaming! Second paragraph: How dare you rate it too high and give into the hype just to avoid pissing people off [although he still got pissed off anyways]). Why do you hate the reviewer for apparently hating the game and THEN hate him for apparently giving the game a rating of something better than it deserves. And (here's the best part) THEN you write about hating the review because it doesn't respect certain people's opinions. You have been attacking this guy's opinions for no good reason for the past two paragraphs. NOW you choose to get preachy? Not to mention that you say that the reviewer thinks that everybody that hates the game is retarded, although you also think that the reviewer hates the game. Therefore, according to your logic, the reviewer thinks he's retarded, he hated the game, he gave the game a rating that was way too high compared to what it deserved, and that he doesn't get why anybody would want to hate the game (even though he does). There are a couple more gaps in logic that I could point out, but I think I've done enough. Oh, and by the way, I'm waiting for you to say that this was a waste of a post or that my argument is invalid for some f***ed up reason
  • dland - April 13, 2010 9:22 p.m.

    I think the co-op will be the best, but by the time I get it (maybe a week) there will nobody to play it with. Oh well, good review Chris! You're a good writer dude!
  • R_U_Guys_From_British - April 13, 2010 9:22 p.m.

    Great (super?) review Chris, what do you make of the other game modes though? face off, hunter, etc?
  • GamesRadarChrisAntista - April 13, 2010 9:12 p.m.

    @michaelmcc827 The Splinter Cells series received high scores because they set the bar extremely high in terms of top of the line visuals, realistic AI, etc... Whether that solidifies them as "classics" is another story, and altogether moot, since Conviction doesn't really innovate along those lines anyway. Oh, and if you can see it from your high horse, you may want to go compare my thoughts with those on Metacritic.
  • RosetteSuckerForTheWin - April 13, 2010 9:12 p.m.

    Was not interested in this at all. But the co-op sounds really cool! Wish i knew someone with a 360 ;-)
  • ProphetZarquon - April 13, 2010 9:11 p.m.

    @michaelmcc827 I think you need to learn what a difficulty setting. If you want a challenge play through on hard! Its a simple concept. There's no reason why a game cant be fun to play through and a laugh on easy then a far more intense, challenging game on hard. That's what they're there for. If a game is too hard then its a downside, and people will be put off. I love challenging games, but I'd love to be able to mess around on splinter cell as well sometimes instead of always playing cautiously and taking things slow. Look at Metro 2033, the options there to do either. You can slowly progress through the levels, hiding in the shadows and sneaking in the odd stealth kill. Or pick up the shotgun and the AK and blast your way through. Sounds like the co-op mode on this does a good job of making up for it though so perhaps that's what they were going for?
  • Romination - April 13, 2010 9:01 p.m.

    this is the first thing you've written in a long time that i've actually wanted to read all the way through. Yipee!
  • michaelmcc827 - April 13, 2010 9 p.m.

    @TFUPrivatelron Dude, seriously, make a comment that's worth at least the time it takes to post.
  • michaelmcc827 - April 13, 2010 8:58 p.m.

    If you want to call yourself a "next-gen gamer" rather than just a gamer, then by all means, sure, take ALL the shooters you could ever want, because that's apparently the new craze. But, that still doesn't explain why the original splinter cell games are in almost the top rated franchise on the xbox, and why conviction is the lowest rated out of the whole series. Sure, act like everyone hated the old Splinter Cells, since they always scored in the 90s, and have a huge fan following.
  • TFUPrivateIron - April 13, 2010 8:56 p.m.

    @michaelmcc827 Dude, seriously, get over yourself.
  • GamesRadarChrisAntista - April 13, 2010 8:51 p.m.

    @michaelmcc827 Oooo! Aren't we the elite gamer! Sorry you're all butt hurt about my opinion, but if it weren't reflective of what gamers wanted, why did Ubi spend so much time developing (and redeveloping) it into something a majority of next-gen gamers want to play? Captcha: and bunnies!

Showing 81-100 of 116 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft, Ubisoft Montreal
ESRB Rating:
Mature

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.