Google+

Splinter Cell: Conviction Super Review

Back to Article

116 comments

  • Zeb364 - April 14, 2010 8:35 a.m.

    I just want to say that I started playing it yesterday and thought it was kinda funny to see Sam Fisher hit a girl but I cracked up when I saw your screenshot of that event. You guys made it look sooooo much funnier.
  • camelfro - April 14, 2010 8:03 a.m.

    good review doesnt look much like the old ones i might actually play this one
  • Aeshir - April 14, 2010 7:11 a.m.

    SHIIIIIIIIT extreme double-post! The comment disappeared and when I reposted it, the original was back! lolwat
  • Aeshir - April 14, 2010 7:09 a.m.

    @mEgAzD Splinter Cell has always been an Xbox-focused franchise, even when it was on other systems; this is part of the reason for its technical prowess. The ports to other systems (as they all were, other than PC) were always drastically inferior to the Xbox versions, and the Gamecube versions never even had co-op or online play until Double Agent (norly). That said, I still played through the Gamecube version of Double Agent once on each difficulty setting (that's FOUR TIMES, the highest of which takes away all but your knife and a gadget on your pistol that enables you to silently but temporarily zap lights off), and had a great time. This is a personal testament to the fact that the gameplay really /is/ good, even without the power of the Xbox and market share-approved polish to back it up. @Chris On a similar note, I have couple points to make about your review, which I really did get a guapping good amount of enjoyment out of reading (bitch SLAP bitch SLAP bitch SLAP!). First, I can't help but be a little taken aback at your slightly ignorant (but justified) attitude toward the series. I've loved it since I first played the original in 2006 (late, I know), even through the brutal, often-frustrating, and in-need-of-more-than-a-little-polish gameplay (CONTEXT-MENU-DRIVEN ACTION, ANYONE?!). But even though I do love Splinter Cell, I'm glad Ubisoft is taking a big chance with Conviction; it's clear it needed to evolve. I was certainly skeptical at first about the direction and evident streamlining of the game into a much more action-focused experience, and it's sad to see that even with all the changes, they either haven't gotten it right, or maybe the series still really isn't for you. I hate to question the wisdom of hooevar's (I'm aware of the very democratic review-assigning system at the 'Dar) decision for a decidedly Splinter Cell-hating gamer to review it, but it does seem a little odd for someone who's so averse to the metered and honestly, clumsy, plan-and-attack gameplay to have been given the responsibility. But I still do trust your personal opinion on the game. Just sayin'. Shit, this comment is spiralling out of control, it's getting late and I can't think straight. Less parentheses arghahgarhhgrahg. I appreciate that you did try to like the game despite your previous distaste for the franchise, and it's nice to see that you did enjoy going through the coop with a friend. I look forward to trying it and the new series direction for myself. IDEAL COMMENT AMIRITE?
  • Aeshir - April 14, 2010 6:45 a.m.

    @mEgAzD Splinter Cell has always been an Xbox-focused franchise, even when it was on other systems; this is part of the reason for its technical prowess. The ports to other systems (as they all were, other than PC) were always drastically inferior to the Xbox versions, and the Gamecube versions never even had co-op or online play until Double Agent (norly). That said, I still played through the Gamecube version of Double Agent once on each difficulty setting (that's FOUR TIMES, the highest of which takes away all but your knife and a gadget on your pistol that enables you to silently but temporarily zap lights off), and had a great time. This is a personal testament to the fact that the gameplay really /is/ good, even without the power of the Xbox and market share-approved polish to back it up. @Chris On a similar note, I have couple points to make about your review, which I really did get a guapping good amount of enjoyment out of reading (bitch SLAP bitch SLAP bitch SLAP!). First, I can't help but be a little taken aback at your slightly ignorant (but justified) attitude toward the series. I've loved it since I first played the original in 2006 (late, I know), even through the brutal, often-frustrating, and in-need-of-more-than-a-little-polish gameplay (CONTEXT-MENU-DRIVEN ACTION, ANYONE?!). But even though I do love Splinter Cell, I'm glad Ubisoft is taking a big chance with Conviction; it's clear it needed to evolve. I was certainly skeptical at first about the direction and evident streamlining of the game into a much more action-focused experience, and it's sad to see that even with all the changes, they either haven't gotten it right, or maybe the series still really isn't for you. I hate to question the wisdom of hooevar's (I'm aware of the very democratic review-assigning system at the 'Dar) decision for a decidedly Splinter Cell-hating gamer to review it, but it does seem a little odd for someone who's so averse to the metered and honestly, clumsy, plan-and-attack gameplay to have been given the responsibility. But I still do trust your personal opinion on the game. Just sayin'. Shit, this comment is spiralling out of control, it's getting late and I can't think straight. Less parentheses arghahgarhhgrahg. I appreciate that you did try to like the game despite your previous distaste for the franchise, and it's nice to see that you did enjoy going through the coop with a friend. I look forward to trying it and the new series direction for myself. IDEAL COMMENT AMIRITE?
  • StrayGator - April 14, 2010 6:39 a.m.

    Wasn't there an SC:C 6-page super review written by charlie earlier? Was it removed? edited? shortened? Am I hallucinating?
  • Ultima - April 14, 2010 6:33 a.m.

    GamesRadarChrisAntista - 9 hours 26 minutes ago Oooo! Aren't we the elite gamer! Sorry you're all butt hurt about my opinion, but if it weren't reflective of what gamers wanted, why did Ubi spend so much time developing (and redeveloping) it into something a majority of next-gen gamers want to play? -------------------------------- @GamesRadarChrisAntista Apart from being unnecessarily rude to your reader who made a good point I think you are a bit naive. This and so many other 'next-gen' games are being dumbed down because in recent years the number and type of people playing computer games has massively expanded and the industry has become a multi-billion dollar industry. Therefore the makers want to cash in and need to make it appeal to as many as possible and so they dumb down the game play for consumption of the mass market - as michaelmcc827 said 'because it makes you feel like you're good at the game, without actually being good at it'. I have to agree with him 100% as I actually like to use my brain whilst playing and feel rewarded when challenged, not when I have my hand held throughout a game. The old splinter cell certainly was not that difficult and at no point was it ever necessary to totally restart a mission.
  • jonlias - April 14, 2010 5:49 a.m.

    Its the first splinter cell I've ever played. Pretty fun, but i agree the easy deaths and constant restarts kinda sucks. Good game, but definitely a renter.
  • Chewrocka - April 14, 2010 5:20 a.m.

    @michaelmmc I didn't say you were wrong I said you were pissed and unjustly taking it out on Chris. We've all been excited for something that turned out sucking or watched a beloved franchise change into something we don't like but that doesn't mean you take it out on the review. The review is an opinion and in your response you not only suggest that Chris was wrong but also impugned his gaming ability and journalistic integrating, and for what? Because you're mad that his game is not what you wanted. And yes different game play gives different people different feelings of accomplishment. However that is an opinion and just because you like something and someone else doesn't does not means it's time to saddle up the high horse. There is no point in arguing with you, you will be unhappy and are not going to admit you are "wrong" under any circumstances so go sulk by yourself and leave everyone else alone.
  • jesusfrk15 - April 14, 2010 5:17 a.m.

    daaaamnnnnn i was like "if it isnt 10 then there'll be hell to pay!" its an 8! that makes me a sad panda
  • WillisTron - April 14, 2010 4:47 a.m.

    My wallet's all tapped out! I'll rent it for sure, but I don't think I can drop another 60 smackaroons right now
  • Cwf2008 - April 14, 2010 4:40 a.m.

    Dorothy with an MP5 and night vision goggles? ME LIKEY
  • GamesRadarButtercup - April 14, 2010 4:35 a.m.

    Needs more horses...
  • spideralex90 - April 14, 2010 4:32 a.m.

    Batman is no Sam fisher. Also this made no sense: 'Sam Fisher isn’t even all that great with a gun' Because being able to headshot two guys in under a second means you're just okay with a gun. And i'm pretty sure at this point anything is better than the glitch mess that is Modern Warfare 2. but on a side note, i wonder if Arkham Asylum 2 will have Co-Op? Anyhow, off to play Co-op! :D
  • Irishranger - April 14, 2010 4:12 a.m.

    Holy titsballs. Chris writes a super review and the crazies come out of the wood work. I'm sorry to hear the single player isn't that long. I thought maybe this would be the game that forced me to buy an Xbox 360, but alas, no. Oh, and thanks for your review Chris. Don't get discouraged, there's plenty of us out here that take reviews they way they are intended, we're just a silent majority. Good on ya.
  • gamingfreak - April 14, 2010 4:06 a.m.

    I would love to meet Mr. Antista just to see if he actually smells like pizza. lol Anyways, I do agree with his review 100%.
  • ShesARebel - April 14, 2010 3:43 a.m.

    The Co-op looks awesome!!! I can't wait till I get this game!! XD
  • JDMDrifter - April 14, 2010 3:06 a.m.

    still on the fence for this one, not sure whether to buy it or not
  • RebornKusabi - April 14, 2010 3:02 a.m.

    I loved the previous Splinter Cell games and found them to be extremely fun and challenging, but I don't know about this one. I completely and irrevocably understand that it's faster paced gameplay is because of the concept of Sam Fisher being on the run but I honestly love stealth games because I love the tension and suspense of "the hunt" far more than just "running and gunning". I will be giving this a try because I love the series, and that commercial that has Johnny Cash music in it makes the game look awesome. I just figured I would post that while I disagree with the notion that "stealth=bad, action=good", based on Mr. Antista's review I will still give this game a try. Besides, while people might dislike the idea that co-op makes the game better, I have to say disagree with this notion. I remember playing through the co-op in Chaos Theory and Conviction and it was EXTREMELY FUN! So I look forward to the co-op in this one.
  • DavkasPegason - April 14, 2010 2:30 a.m.

    I always thought that Splinter Cell was a really clumsy stealth game, it always wanted you to feel badass by taking out a whole room with a few pinpoint moves, or by striking fear into the guards by slowly picking them off, but it never seemed very smooth, I'm glad you guys finally gratified me by noting it good review guys

Showing 41-60 of 116 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360
Published by: Ubisoft
Developed by: Ubisoft, Ubisoft Montreal
ESRB Rating:
Mature

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.