Google+

The Last of Us review

Astonishing
Back to Article

96 comments

  • aznxchunky - June 5, 2013 9:46 a.m.

    I can't wait to play this
  • StrayGator - June 5, 2013 9:45 a.m.

    I know it doesn't mean anything, but nevertheless a 5/5 review from dave H. will always remind me of bulletstorm.
  • db1331 - June 5, 2013 11:39 a.m.

    A Dave H. review will always remind me of when he took points off the BF3 score for all platforms because the graphics sucked on the Xbox. Basically unreadable. I'm going to regurgitate my prediction of the ending I called when the game was first released. One of the two main characters will become infected, and you will have to kill them. Either Joel straight up shootiing Ellie, or the game suddenly drops you in control of Ellie at the very end (Like Jack from RDR) and Joel is the "Final Boss," as it were.
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 1:22 p.m.

    Well, to further support your theory, in one of the trailers you can see Joel looking very worse for wear, with his eyed reddened and pale skin, which does kinda suggest that he gets infected. Not that will stop me in the least from getting it.
  • db1331 - June 5, 2013 1:25 p.m.

    I'll get it for sure too. Just not for $60. Maybe for $20 someday.
  • phoenixwright13 - June 5, 2013 8:59 a.m.

    Where's the Video review?
  • shawksta - June 5, 2013 8:45 a.m.

    INCREDIBLE, Great to see the last of us didn't disappoint, my expectations have been thrown out the window and falcon punched. Awesome.
  • gilgamesh310 - June 5, 2013 8:18 a.m.

    5/5. gee, I never would have guessed that. It seems every high profile release must be given a top score. Bioshock Infinite was riddled with flaws and this likely is too. Time to wait for some unofficial reviews.
  • BlueScorpion91 - June 5, 2013 8:28 a.m.

    If you really think that way then why do you bother to visit "official"(whatever you mean by that) reviews?
  • gilgamesh310 - June 5, 2013 8:31 a.m.

    Because I used to have faith in them but at this point most really just sicken me. I haven't come here in a while. The only reviews I trust at this point are from people who aren't funded.
  • veryweirdguy - June 5, 2013 9:17 a.m.

    So...non professional reviewers. Seems smart.
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 8:32 a.m.

    And yet, Dead Space 3 didn't get a top score, Sim City Didn't get a top score, Tomb Raider didn't quite get a top score either. So your over-generalization seems a bit off. Also, official or unofficial, reviews are always the opinions of other people. And while unofficial reviews might lack the perceived "corporal bias" you see to believe professional reviews have. Unofficial ones are always much more unreliable and hyperbolic anyway. Just get the damn game and judge for yourself. It's what you always end up doing anyway :P
  • gilgamesh310 - June 5, 2013 8:39 a.m.

    It was obvious that Dead Space 3 wasn't going down well with people long before it was released so it's not surprising that journalists cater to that audience in their reviews. TLoU had people calling it the best game ever after only just seeing 5 minutes of footage in trailers. Tomb Raider got a higher score than it deserved if you ask me too. The storytelling in the game was a mess. Yes but people who aren't getting paid are likely to be more honest in what they say, as they won't feel the need to cater to any specific audience, they just say what they feel. I have been reading reviews for a very long time and over time I've come to realise this. Unnoficial ones often go into more detail and highlight the clear flaws that games might have more so than official ones. I will be getting it. That is likely the only way I'll know for myself. There's no denying that. I don't even think it will be bad but I very highly doubt it will be worthy of the top scores it's getting, just like the Uncharted series.
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 9:09 a.m.

    Yes, unofficial reviews also tend to make mountains out of molehills, and often let their own expectations and tastes give an objective view of the game. I am currently playing Tomb Raider, not yet finished, but I definitely think it's a game deserving of a 9 so far. And while the story already has shown it has some lame supernatural elements, I'm still finding it far more interesting that most games of this sort, such as uncharted or GOW. That, and the exploration elements remind of of a metroid or castlevania game, which is always fantastic in my books. Anyway, yeah, the only way we'll know for sure how good the game will be shall be by playing it. I just like that it does seem to deliver in most of what promised in the trailers. I mean, even without playing the game, I can already tell the dialog and characters are much better played out, the setting is fantastic, and the story from what we know so far already sounds way better and more interesting that anything uncharted ever strove for. But again, won't know for sure till I play it.
  • gilgamesh310 - June 5, 2013 9:30 a.m.

    The problem with Tomb Raider's storytelling(note I said storytelling, not story) was the extreme ludonarrative dissonance. In the cutscenes Lara is am innocent and unbecoming adventurer who starts crying when she takes a life and apologises for killing creatures, yet in game she's just a pure killing machine that knows a wide range of death moves. I did like the exploration aspect of the game and there was other good stuff. I would probably give it an 8. I agree that TLoU does look like it has a much better story than Uncharted alright and the characters and dialogue seem much better. I hate how there still isn't a demo of the game, unless you buy GoW Ascension, but I won't be going near that.
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 10:28 a.m.

    Eh, regarding the narrative dissonance. I guess I'm not bothered by that in the slightest because I'm completely fine in separating the intended narrative of a game, between the actual game-play element of said game. It's nice when a game achieves a better resonance in that regard I suppose, but it's not at all necessary to me. And hm, maybe you should check again? I thought I had heard that the demo was out for everyone now, but since I don't really care about demos, I could be wrong.
  • gilgamesh310 - June 5, 2013 11:05 a.m.

    I just checked. It's not in the PS store. I thought it was supposed to be but it isn't. Why exactly is it you don't care for demos? I find them the best way to gauge how good a game is before I play it. Far better than any review or opinion anyway.
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 11:55 a.m.

    I actually think it's the opposite. A demo seldom feels like it's the proper representation of the game. It's a small chunk that rarely gives you any context, it's usually not the retail build, and it has modifications that aren't accurate of the place of the game. I mean, not saying they're useless, but I find them more a waste of time and also the fact that it,in a way, spoils a part of the game for me that I'd rather enjoy in the cohesive whole that's meant to be played in. Also, it's foolish to rely on one single review on opinion, but they ARE extremely useful once you match and compare of what other people say and think about a game. A single review is useless, 5 or more reviews are, to my experience, a much more accurate amalgamation of what I can expect of a game that a demo ever can be.
  • The_Ouroboros - June 7, 2013 2:11 p.m.

    I agree with you on both aspects. Playing through a demo of a game has the propensity to spoil that same section for you when you go back through it(DmC), but on the other hand I really like the idea of trials. Play through the beginning, see if you like it enough to make the purchase. The reason I don't see this becoming feasible is because the beginning of some games don't always represent what the game as a whole is about. And your last paragraph, exactly. It's actually comparing reviews across a variety of sites that has caused me to claim this one as my central hub. I personally look forward to a Houghton review as you can see in the text whether or not he's genuinely enthused to share in his experience. If more reviewers used personal experience to drive their reviews, people could respond better to them(unfortunately it seems the most appealing part of a review is the snark). Sure that's bias, but that's why you surf reviews to see what other journos have to say about it as well. The passion for the experience, when it translates to the readers, can spark a whole new interest via word of mouth. Look at the Deadly Premonition love letter. I bought it, and personally enjoyed the hell out of its Twin Peaks referencing nature. I'd have never looked twice at that game if it wasn't for that article.

Showing 61-80 of 96 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jul 29 2014 - PS4
Jun 14 2013 - PS3 (US)
Q4 2013 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS4, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Sony Computer Entertainment
Developed by: Naughty Dog
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.