Google+

The Last of Us review

Astonishing
Back to Article

96 comments

  • gamerdad23 - June 5, 2013 3 p.m.

    This game makes me really wish I had a PS3.
  • Redeater - June 5, 2013 11:18 p.m.

    You are in for a treat! I just picked up one last year and bought around 20 games ranging from $10-$20. I love(d) Xbox but the PS3 has some real treasures. Hell, I bought Gears:Judgement a week ago and only made it to the 3rd level before turning it off. Much like Halo, I got tired after the third one. Popping in Ratchet or Heavy Rain is a perfect remedy for the shoot-a-thon that is the 360....
  • CitizenWolfie - June 5, 2013 2:33 p.m.

    This is even more anticipated than GTAV for me. I loved every one of the Uncharted games (and Jak & Daxter before them) so I'm completely trusting Naughty Dog to deliver. I'm glad to hear there are some moments of quiet downtime - one of my favourite things about Fallout was wandering into a totally deserted area and trying to piece together in my own head what happened. It's also the reason I love Shadow of the Colossus as you quietly contemplate what happened to the abandoned worlds between fights. From the sound of it, I might even give multiplayer a try (although emphasis on surviving makes me think it might turn into a campers' paradise). I've read on other reviews that the story is also quite unpredictable in that whenever you think it's about to go one way, it goes another. Is this true?
  • cgriff63 - June 5, 2013 1:30 p.m.

    So I'm curious as to why Remember Me got the Video Review and this didn't.
  • BladedFalcon - June 5, 2013 1:51 p.m.

    I'm gonna guess that's because Remember me was reviewed by a US editor, and this was reviewed by an UK editor. And I'm pretty sure most of the video content is handled by the US staff. Pretty sure it IS gonna get a video review soon though, either later today or tomorrow.
  • cgriff63 - June 5, 2013 2:10 p.m.

    Ahh. That makes sense. Thanks
  • GR_RyanTaljonick - June 5, 2013 4:55 p.m.

    BladedFalcon is partially correct, but the bigger problem is that Sony imposed some mega strict video content restrictions. Thus, we won't be doing a video review of The Last of Us. Sorry, we really wanted too :(
  • shinkeidei - June 5, 2013 5:39 p.m.

    But you will do an spoilercast after E3 (and we all have finish it)? And you will be discussing it this friday at Radioradar right?
  • Redeater - June 5, 2013 11:21 p.m.

    Poor Remember Me. I was going to give it a chance but with all the ridiculous 10's Last of Us has been scoring I just can't invest in it. Money is not the issue for me I just don't like investing in "sub-par" games. Maybe after a couple of months I may give it a shot.
  • TanookiMan - June 5, 2013 12:55 p.m.

    I had hoped to wait until the PS4 launch to pick up a PS3 cheap and complete the generation trifecta...but this is making it awful hard to hold out!
  • Nikku7 - June 5, 2013 12:44 p.m.

    I'm not sure I haven't been that excited for this game for a while now. I guess I just wasn't sure how Naughty Dog could jump from much lighter hearted Uncharted to something like this! It looks amazing though, and compare to some of the other reviews I've read this one is much better. Some of them seemed almost whiny about the strange gameplay elements that keep with the aesthetic and keep the action so tense. That's what this game is supposed to be about, and no one has said it doesn't do it well, so how is that a problem besides not being your personal preference? Anyway, glad this review got me excited about this game again!
  • CitizenWolfie - June 5, 2013 2:34 p.m.

    I spotted those criticisms as well, although on some the reviewer mentions that they really had to dig deep to consider it a minus point.
  • Nikku7 - June 5, 2013 2:42 p.m.

    Seriously man, one was piicking at technical flaws that are literally in every game I've played this gen. Pretty bad.
  • CitizenWolfie - June 5, 2013 2:59 p.m.

    Some sites/magazines have their favourites and mark everyone else down. I wouldn't be surprised if Edge gave it a 6/10 or something. GamesMaster UK gave all the Uncharted games a reduced score as well purely because they were unoriginal. To be honest, when the general consensus is that the game is amazing there's no point sweating the nitpickers. So long as you enjoy it yourself when you play it is what really matters.
  • Nikku7 - June 5, 2013 3:04 p.m.

    Also makes it fun to read the different reviews with higher profile games such as this too. Kind of weak to excuse such behavior, but I guess if it weren't somewhat interesting or different I wouldn't read it anyway...
  • Fox_Mulder - June 5, 2013 12:24 p.m.

    Great review, you poured your heart into it, David. Beautifully said.
  • ShadowOps117 - June 5, 2013 11:57 a.m.

    To shut you all up, The Last of Us got a 95 on Metacritic. I guess you guys meant that by "official" anyway.
  • ShadowOps117 - June 5, 2013 11:53 a.m.

    YES! YES! YES!!!!!
  • Talvari - June 5, 2013 11:46 a.m.

    Glad to see this lived up to the expectations. I'll probably pick this up at somepoint, even though i'm a pussy when it comes to even remotely scary / horrific things. Wasn't a huge fan of the uncharted games because of the gameplay but this looks like a good fix for it!
  • rob619 - June 5, 2013 11:43 a.m.

    Can't remember the last time I saw gamesradar give full marks for a game, wow! Lives up to the hype I guess
  • PatHan-bHai - June 5, 2013 10:20 a.m.

    Just as I expected! :D

Showing 41-60 of 96 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jul 29 2014 - PS4
Jun 14 2013 - PS3 (US)
Q4 2013 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS4, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Sony Computer Entertainment
Developed by: Naughty Dog
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.