Google+

Super Mario 3D Land review

Excellent
Back to Article

43 comments

  • XanderGC - November 9, 2011 11:59 a.m.

    Hank the Tank! A great review and I really like the way you guys compare games at the end. Truthfully I returned New Super Mario Bros within a week of buying it because it just didn't do it for me. This seems like a Mario game I could get behind.
  • CitizenWolfie - November 9, 2011 12:23 p.m.

    I played a short demo at Gamefest earlier in the year and I know what you mean. Especially the "run" button just doesn't work as well due to it being in 3D. I liked it in general but I found myself going "that's clever" instead of "wow, this is great." I'll still get it though, my one and only 3DS game (Ocarina, naturally) looks pretty lonely on the shelf. I just wish Nintendo would do a traditional 2D Mario platformer again but with 2D graphics and sprites. I'd even settle for a 16 bit feel. For all the innovation they are capable of, I sort of want them to go back to basics.
  • shawksta - November 9, 2011 1:05 p.m.

    *Facepalm at random lolz and stupidity in comments* Anyways, awesome to know this game is awesome! I cant wait for Sunday!
  • sirdilznik - November 9, 2011 1:21 p.m.

    I'm fine with a run button as I'm more used to playing 2D Mario games than 3D ones so I'm sure that won't bother me. I got this pre-ordered, just a couple days to go. /rubs hands together
  • garnsr - November 9, 2011 1:33 p.m.

    Is the run button the B button? The one that should be jump, but the Japanese are stuck putting our fingers in odd positions, so they leave jump on A?
  • BladedFalcon - November 9, 2011 1:34 p.m.

    Good on the 3DS finally getting a new game worth getting. Still far from convinced on getting one, but still, about time.
  • samsneeze - November 9, 2011 2:08 p.m.

    Dead or Alive: Dimensions is well worth getting.
  • EnigmaSpirit - November 9, 2011 2:42 p.m.

    I have been debating getting DoA or not. The only decent game I've bought for 3DS so far is OoT. I probably will. I wish 3D land were harder, but I still plan to get it. Then again, I am the guy that wanted more harder stages in Galaxy 2.
  • sirdilznik - November 9, 2011 3:37 p.m.

    I will second the recommendation for Dead or Alive Dimensions. It's an excellent game. Also, Shin Megami Tensei: Devil Survivor Overclocked is terrific and I highly recommend it provided you didn't play the original on DS.
  • BladedFalcon - November 9, 2011 5:05 p.m.

    Yes, but again, SMT:DSO is a game you could alreayd paly somewhere else, it's not really an exclusive, powerful reason to shell out 170 bucks. At least for me it isn't.
  • BladedFalcon - November 9, 2011 5:03 p.m.

    It still kind of a remake, or at least has a very familiar feel to any of the console DoA games. My main problem with the 3DS is the lack of actual original games, such as this one... Which came out 8 months after the system.
  • samsneeze - November 9, 2011 7:08 p.m.

    It doesn't really matter if it's a remake or not if the game is good. And Dead or Alive: Dimensions is tons more new than old. Of course it feels like the other games, it's in the same series. Which is a lot more than I can say for Ocarina of Crap or whatever. I am not a Legend of Zelda fan. I do see your point that the 3DS is still trying to make it's sales off of Nintendo's "WE'RE AWESOME, BUY OUR SH*T" mentality. It's the primary reason the 3DS isn't doing so well. It was essentially, an overpriced, rushed, and blatant cash grab by Nintendo, in my opinion.(I honestly wouldn't know about the cash grab part since I don't know the production cost of the 3DS). They wanted "Wii Money" in handheld form and ended up making some poor decisions because of that. Even now, Eshop is abysmal and even though they say improvement is coming, I don't think they'll follow through the way they should. It'll probably be filled with DSiware stuff, making it more laughable. The reason the DS beat out the PSP, in my opinion, wasn't because it could surf the web or because it had a music player or because it was "graphically superior". Heck, I don't even think the DS's touch screen played that big of a role. It was because it had tons of games worth playing. Right now, according to my 3DS, the "most played title" is Netflix. Which is pretty damn sad when you think about. Overall, I'm just glad I didn't waste my money at launch.
  • shawksta - November 10, 2011 3:02 a.m.

    That isnt to say the 3DS wont end up huge, theres quite allot of games coming, the timing is just long, just like the DS.
  • BladedFalcon - November 10, 2011 5:27 a.m.

    Not really. The DS never took nearly as long as the 3DS did to have good, original, worthwhile games. In less than six months you already had Meteos, Kirby: Canvas curse, Castlevania Dawn of Sorrow and The Wario Ware title, all were excellent, fun titles that were enough for the DS to justify itself. The 3DS had no such title in their first six months, and just NOW got it's first, original worthwhile game. I'm not saying the system won't get better, it has to, and it will no doubt will. But please don't try to justify it or compared it to the DS, the DS was never handled nearly as poorly.
  • revrock - November 10, 2011 2:40 p.m.

    I "third" the DoA recommendation. I think it is the best DoA ever made for any console.
  • samsneeze - November 10, 2011 6:52 p.m.

    And I'm going to have to disagree with you there. Dead or Alive 4 is the best of the console versions.
  • GameManiac - November 9, 2011 1:42 p.m.

    Yes, I'm the type of person who got every single star in BOTH Galaxy games (that 242nd star in SMG2 was challenging though). I already had this game pre-ordered (for the Gamestop pre-order bonus) and paid in full. Now I play the waiting game.
  • Pyroco101 - November 9, 2011 2:18 p.m.

    Petty thinking of me, I wished I could get a special on this game since it comes out right on my birthday.
  • putainsdetoiles - November 9, 2011 3:03 p.m.

    These Cave Story ads with sound are EXTREMELY ANNOYING. Make them go away!
  • Fuzunga - November 9, 2011 3:47 p.m.

    The run button has baffled me from day one.

Showing 21-40 of 43 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 13 2011 - 3DS (US)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Action
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Cartoon Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.