Google+

Spore review

Excellent
Back to Article

64 comments

  • a9bejo - September 8, 2008 6:58 p.m.

    And again, no mention of the DRM system. Masses of people who pay for this game will think they just bought another software license. No a word of the "you only buy 3 activations." thing, and what this actually means for customers. I think EA has the right to release their games in any way they like. But it is very disappointing that this review does not include any information about what you (don't) get for your money. Some people install games only once or twice, and then they forget about it. Others will be shocked to find out that they may not be able to play Spore for many years. I'm not saying that Spore is a bad game. But I am very disappointed that PC Gamer does not mention such important information in the review. It is very important information if you consider buying this game. (PS: And yes, I know that you may pay for a call to EA support and they will maybe reset your activation count for another 3 installs. But you have no right to get this reset, it is really only a accommodation that they can reject whenever they feel like it) http://www.amazon.com/review/product/B000FKBCX4/ref=dp_top_cm_cr_acr_txt?_encoding=UTF8&showViewpoints=1 http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spore_(2008_video_game)#Digital_rights_management http://consumerist.com/tag/mass-effect-DRM/?i=5016980&t=ea-allows-3-activations-of-mass-effect-and-thats-it-period
  • GamesRadarTylerWilde - September 9, 2008 2:49 p.m.

    Lordkemo, I assure you that our editorial is never influenced by advertisers. Watch this: EA SUCKS! BOOO!
  • GamesRadarJoeMcNeilly - September 9, 2008 3:42 p.m.

    The Sims made the jump to consoles... just sayin'...
  • EricBratcher - September 9, 2008 11:16 p.m.

    Actually, I'd personally bet my boss' paycheck (he makes more than me, you see) that they'll patch away that restriction later on, once sales have cooled a bit. Your point is well made, though. The heavy-handed DRM is worth a mention, certainly. And I'm glad you were here to make that mention. Thanks for contributing! Seriously, we're so glad to have comments on the site - I can't even tell you how cool it is.
  • MegaGamer1000 - September 10, 2008 2:45 a.m.

    maybe ill get this next year but its totally on my list
  • anduin1 - September 10, 2008 4:25 p.m.

    It's apt that someone who doesn't really play strategy games reviews a game that tries so hard to be one. With all the stuff they said would be in the game, it sure fell short of expectations. The initial cell/creature stage are probably the best part of the game and its where you get to design goofy looking monsters and then either kill or befriend everything. Everything after that is a mess of extremely simplified game play. Send a unit to attack a village, village taken, do it again x 6, level up to the next stage. There's nothing in between that makes you want to keep playing. 91% is being generous, I think its more of a 85% based on the concept and early delivery but falls way flat in the end.
  • anduin1 - September 10, 2008 6:32 p.m.

    and btw PC Gamer is a sham of a magazine, anything that is hyped gets a great score regardless of whether it deserves it or not. A magazine filled with 120 pages and a good 25-40% is ads, you pay premium dollars for ads ? Uh, I thought that's supposed to drive the costs DOWN.
  • lordkemo - September 10, 2008 7 p.m.

    Although, i'm a bit angry with the spore and mass effect reviews as well as the red alert preview not saying anything about DRM, I still think that PC Gamer is a great mag and i look forward to it every month. It's got ad's... so what. You pay 20 bucks for 12 mag's How do you think they pay the bills. next your going to tell me that TV is a sham and Going to pro sporting events is a sham, Or driving down the highway is a sham. Just turn the pages and keep on reading. If not, save your 20 bucks and eat a couple of cheeseburgers i guess.
  • Thequestion 121 - September 10, 2008 8:29 p.m.

    I want this game so bad!!!
  • KruelDeath - September 11, 2008 11:38 a.m.

    Spore will probably never be ported to anything other than crappy version on the ds and iphone/ipod touch so youll need a pretty basic gaming pc to play it properly which isnt very hard
  • Crashman - September 17, 2008 6:15 p.m.

    Dan's comment at the end is not to be taken lightly. This game is NOT for everyone. Casual gamers will almost certainly love it but hardcore gamers will likely be disappointed in gameplay that is often too simplistic and predictable.
  • crazyqazqaz - September 21, 2008 11:19 a.m.

    Many people have complained about the security system on spore, only allowing you to upload it three times. I am disappointed that you have not enlightened me on this subject and because EA seem to have put in a major fault which may well cost Spore it's rightful place in the history books
  • wiggy09 - September 22, 2008 2:10 p.m.

    afther a long w8 tbh its not even that gd gets boring afther a few hours in space stage :(
  • Goshorj - September 27, 2008 4:57 a.m.

    Has anyone heard about this? This would have been nice to know in advance. 'Spore' Hijacks Computers, Class Claims http://www.courthousenews.com/2008/09/23/_Spore_Hijacks_Computers_Class_Claims.htm Is this what causing the end game play to crash to the desktop with an exception error of access rights? It says it attaches itself at a level that requires reformatting to remove. Would some protection software see this as a rootkit virus?
  • punkerjam - October 7, 2008 9:07 p.m.

    You stole your reveiw from PC gamer almost word for word
  • RawOysters - October 29, 2008 3:59 a.m.

    I was very disappointed in this game. The heavy handed DRM aside, it was very simplistic and somewhat childish. I expected a much more scientific based game that would be a challenge. Instead I got a kids game that was boring as hell. Felt like I wasted $50. Would not ever consider wasting money on an expansion. Gave it to my 10 year old nephew.
  • poshaa08 - November 2, 2008 2:08 a.m.

    hey will this come to aussie town (AUSTRALIA)
  • Z-man427 - September 4, 2008 7:21 a.m.

    holy hannah this game looks awesome.
  • Squidmonk3j - September 4, 2008 4:17 p.m.

    Yay i got the Galactic Edition, they only got 2 from where i bought it . and 10 seconds later someone else bought the last one
  • Holy Diver - September 4, 2008 11:11 p.m.

    I wish my computer didnt suck. I really want to play this game. I will pray to Odin that they port it to the 360

Showing 21-40 of 64 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 07 2008 - DS (US)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox, PSP, DS, PS2, Xbox 360, PS3, Wii
Genre: Strategy
Published by: EA GAMES, Electronic Arts
Developed by: Maxis
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Animated Blood, Comic Mischief, Fantasy Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.