Google+

Sonic Generations review

Back to Article

66 comments

  • IsaacShadow - October 31, 2011 10:52 a.m.

    So....its all good? I might pick it up.
  • R-ape - October 31, 2011 10:36 a.m.

    Hope the sales are up to par with the score. Good gamz jurnaleesm, Justin.
  • shawksta - October 31, 2011 10:36 a.m.

    Awesome review,i knew this would be a great step forward for sega! I wonder how the 3DS one fares.
  • GameManiac - October 31, 2011 11:38 a.m.

    I'm with shawksta on how the 3DS version fairs.
  • GR_JustinTowell - October 31, 2011 12:20 p.m.

    Be patient - the review is coming! It's just a small wait away, as the 3DS game is coming out a little after the big versions.
  • SparkleDevon - November 1, 2011 2:20 p.m.

    Good, I was going to say that the 3DS review needs to be looked at differently. C; Recaptcha: sweetbread I'd like some sweet bread please.
  • shawksta - November 1, 2011 11:34 p.m.

    Im patiently waiting cause i know its not until after the game, Its interesting how Modern sonic will be using Rush Mechanics on the 3DS so its literally 2 different games between console and 3DS.
  • Net_Bastard - October 31, 2011 9:09 a.m.

    I think I'll pick this up on Steam. I do not want to buy a Sonic game at a store. Too embarrassing.
  • gamingfreak - October 31, 2011 10:57 a.m.

    You think buying a sonic game a store is embarrassing? I pre-ordered Sonic Unleashed, now thats embarrassing.
  • GameManiac - October 31, 2011 11:39 a.m.

    I found a working PS2 version of it...IN THE TRASH! Someone was disappointed in it.
  • TriforcePlayer - October 31, 2011 9 a.m.

    Awesome review
  • FOZ - October 31, 2011 8:28 a.m.

    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is NOT the best 3d platformer, and it has TONS of filler. Those mandatory "secret" stars in EVERY galaxy? Making you collect 10 stars just to advance by one galaxy? Filler, boring, rabble rabble. I'll probably buy it when it goes on a Steam sale. I don't know why Sega is so adamant about 3d Sonic when it's been getting bashed for years. They need someone else's perspective on 3d Sonic rather than churning out games to perpetuate the Sonic cycle. But older fans have probably been ignoring the 3d Sonic part of the game for quite a while, and it sounds like the 2d part is actually long and quality enough this time, with no Man-Hog.
  • ThatGuyFromTV - November 1, 2011 8:44 a.m.

    If you're gonna bash SMG2 for having filler, bash the green stars. The main stars were all mostly unique. The green stars... well, they were challenging, but doing essentially the same thing 120 times got repetivive.
  • Arucard04 - October 31, 2011 8:15 a.m.

    Yours is the review I was waiting for. Can't wait to play this.
  • NotBraze - October 31, 2011 7:47 a.m.

    It's really disappointing that SEGA has said this will be the last appearance of Classic Sonic. If you were to ask me, it'd make all sorts of sense to scrap the template from Sonic 4: Episode I and make Sonic 4: Episode II much closer to the Classic Sonic levels from Generations. You can keep modern Sonic for the full 3D games, but utilize Classic Sonic for anything 2D.
  • Errrrbo - October 31, 2011 7:19 a.m.

    Great review Justin, although to me dropping the score from 9 to 8 because you didn't like the optional content makes very little sense. Just my humble opinion.
  • IIIIIACEIIIII - October 31, 2011 6:38 a.m.

    The biggest Sonic fan on the site (maybe in the world) gave this an 8/10. Maybe I'm just getting too used to the '9/10=average' review score mentality of our time, but this has deflated me. I was looking really, really forward to replaying the Sonic VS Shadow boss fight/race at the end of SA2 with boosting too. I think I understand what you mean about there being two different games on show here, I've been playing Green Hill Zone with both Sonics non-stop since the demo came out on PSN, and the game feels incredible when you're hitting every shortcut and shaving off another second with each run. I really hope I come to enjoy all the padding and end up seeing the game differently to you and rate it more, but you're the only reviewer here I've ever fully agreed with each time so far so I feel a little let down.
  • ZuzuPachulia - October 31, 2011 6:23 a.m.

    Obligatory as good as halo reach joke here! Actually i might look at this game. Haven't played a good sonic game in years.
  • ultimatepunchrod - October 31, 2011 6:04 a.m.

    this is great. i wish i had the money for it, I'm getting U3 instead. why'd they have to come on the same day?
  • Felixthecat - October 31, 2011 5:38 a.m.

    I'll probably get it next year at some point. My only problems lie in the camera being too close to 2D Sonic. That along with the level design was changed from the first demo and it made it initially harder to play for me. Another thing is that Sonic's spin roll has been broken and he no longer spin rolls around loops, at least from my experience. It makes it frustrating when all I want to do is speed run the level. Other than that, the demo impressed me, so it's an eventual purchase.

Showing 21-40 of 66 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360, 3DS, PC
Franchise: Sonic the Hedgehog