Google+

Sacred 2: Fallen Angel review

Decent
AT A GLANCE
  • Plenty of missions and lifespan
  • Tons of combat and loot
  • Some pretty scenery
  • Brings nothing new to action/RPGs
  • Grinding gets a bit tedious
  • Tons of time spent traveling

Looking at Sacred 2: Fallen Angel from a purely statistical point of view, we had high expectations; 22 square miles of open world to explore, 100 core campaign missions, six classes of characters, tens of thousands of customizable weapons and armor pieces and four-player multiplayer. For the fan of Baldur’s Gate or Diablo style top-down RPGs with a taste for lootin’ and grindin’, it sounds like time-annihilating heaven.

Heaven is a subjective place, though; Sacred 2’s flaws scream of poor design, low budget and unoriginal ideas. Where to start? The cruddy graphics, poorly animated characters and dreadfully laid-out world that requires constant back-tracking because you can’t negotiate the smallest obstacle? The appalling and repetitive voice acting? The convoluted and unfriendly inventory system, lack of storyline focus or the vague missions?

Yes, Sacred 2 is epic in scale and the ability to juggle numerous odd job side quests at once will ensure you’re constantly kept busy. Plus, the 200-plus level cap will potentially provide many hours of gameplay. But it’ll take a particular gamer with a love of the grind to overlook what is unmistakably a decrepit action/RPG in a genre with far more competent competition. For every hundred gamers that spot the numerous inadequacies that run a mile there’ll be one that relishes creating a powerful mega character and steamrolling the map. If that’s you, then we wish you luck…

May 28, 2009

More Info

Release date: Sep 30 2008 - PC
May 11 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Nov 07 2008 - PC
Jun 05 2009 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: CDV
Developed by: Ascaron Entertainment
Franchise: Sacred
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Violence
PEGI Rating:
18+

We Recommend By ZergNet

12 comments

  • pete678 - August 31, 2009 2:58 p.m.

    can someone plzz tell me what dose grinding me? yes im a noob :P lol
  • Jedipimp0712 - August 3, 2009 5:02 p.m.

    i agree that it is a short review, especially for such a large and expansive game. i recently bought it with an xbox arcade (my other xbox was fucked) and started playing. i really enjoy it as a Diablo substitute on the 360. If you enjoy Diablo, then i would give this game an 8, but the graphics were a problem with me as well. i know the game was made to be played in HD, and i only have a SD television, so that might be some of the problem. but with the classes, they may not have a zillion skills like in WoW, but if you go deep into one of the aspect trees, then you can beast on shit. and yes, it is a "grinder" as he mentioned, but thats what i enjoy doing a lot. there are a few downsides like he said, and they include the graphics, and some of your skills you use dont respond after one button push (it may just be my controller though, i have over 30 days of playing in on the controller and can tell that some of the buttons are becoming less responsive) one thing Shaun didnt mention though, is that there are 2 different campaigns, Light and Shadow, and although they lead you to the same places, with the main quests you do different things at each of them depending on which quest line you are in. Also to note, with the trouble you had with traveling, what different is it then games like WoW, or even Fallout 3... i mean there is a portal in every major town, and if your in multiplayer, you can teleport to any of the people in your game (im not sure about the free world of PvP aspect of the game since i have not played that at all) Overall i think the game is more fun with other people in your game, but then (in one situation i had) i got 3 health potions in the 3 hour session that we had, while the host had over 30. Captcha: Canadas dribbles
  • maddogg22 - July 19, 2009 12:27 a.m.

    sacred two sounds really cool but one thing i hate is all the people who say u aint gonna like it hey how do u know im not gonna like it
  • Elbo444 - June 2, 2009 10:08 p.m.

    too human could possibly be 360 competition, too human was good but could've been better, the level 50 cap didn't last long at all, i haven't tried sacred 2 yet but a few of my friends have it and they like it
  • Fiin - June 2, 2009 2:43 a.m.

    Travel isnt that bad if you take advantage of the warp gates and portals, but yer right, its a grinder forsure.
  • cen - June 1, 2009 8:19 a.m.

    Yeh, come on what is this game's competion on the 360? And have a look at the review page for this game on the ps3, look at the comments and post your thoughts......
  • Dexsus - May 31, 2009 4:02 p.m.

    Well that was a short review, did you type this on your lunch break or something? :P But anyway I'm still going to get this, it looks great from all the previews and reviews I've seen.
  • JHawk - May 29, 2009 7:33 p.m.

    You mentioned "far more competent competition" could you elaborate (especially in regards to the XBOX 360?). I'm not trying to call you out, I'm just a fan of the genre who also happens to be pretty new to the 360 scene. I especially wouldn't mind if anyone wants to go back a year or two. Gracias.
  • Dominator2112 - May 29, 2009 1:13 a.m.

    first
  • redsolobird - June 7, 2009 7:01 p.m.

    one thing i do not understand about game reviews is why a game has to bring soemthing new to be good. If a game is made that is just as good as an innovative game it should be given the same score just because it didnt do it first doesnt make it any worse.
  • theevilgerbil - May 29, 2009 8:08 p.m.

    there isn't one on the 360 plainly put, i love my 360 and am a HUGE fan of western RPGS...ive tried them all on 360 and the only one thats remotely like this is two worlds and that was average at best, bring on 5th of june!
  • Stabby_Joe - May 29, 2009 5:48 p.m.

    I really like the look of this, not out in the UK for another week but many players in the US have said to have found it a good Diablo substitute.

Showing 1-12 of 12 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.