Google+

Rise of Nightmares Review

Back to Article

33 comments

  • Redeater - September 6, 2011 2:31 p.m.

    So almost a year later yet another reason not to own a Kinect presents itself. This is EXACTLY why people shouldn't be early adopters. I hope you kids out there still enjoy replaying your Dance Central. If you think that Star Wars game is going to redeem this expensive hardware purchase I have bad news for you........
  • reesesforlunch - September 6, 2011 3:24 p.m.

    Dance central, fruit ninja kinect, child of eden.
  • Redeater - September 6, 2011 3:58 p.m.

    Except Fruit Ninja is $0.99 on the iPhone and it is generally accepted that Child of Eden is better played with a controller. So if you like paying $150-200 for Fruit Ninja and a game that plays better and more accurate with a traditional controller.....shine on you crazy diamond!
  • reesesforlunch - September 6, 2011 5:09 p.m.

    "Generally accepted" is quite a vague phrase. Usually people cite sources (preferably multiple ones) when making this sort of claim, though that usually only happens when the statement can be proven. Such as, according to metacritic, it is generally accepted that this game is better than this reviewer thinks. As for the price point, I bought the kinect simply because it and a few 25 pound weights were cheaper than a lifelong gym membership. The games and extra gimmicks like voice commands, video chat, and the netflix stuff are just icing on the cake.
  • BlueScorpion91 - September 7, 2011 3:51 a.m.

    Are you actually saying that you bought a Kinect just to get fit?
  • MassSaber - September 6, 2011 1:24 p.m.

    Wasn't this meant to be the game that would redeem Kinect in the eyes of true gamers? I'll think stick to humble gamepad thanks it costs less and I won't have move my coffee table around when I want to play a game
  • bebl09 - September 6, 2011 1:39 p.m.

    I don't think it can be redeemed. It's not accurate enough to have a good control scheme that actually works so games are all either on rails or are incredibly frustrating to control. And don't even get started on how you'd play shooters with it. Basically Microsoft banked on the casual gamer lapping it up, especially with their insane advertising, putting it on Oprah and all that.
  • reesesforlunch - September 6, 2011 3:28 p.m.

    Other reviewers have been much kinder to this game.
  • IREPMINNEAPOLIS - September 6, 2011 1:10 p.m.

    Aaaaand am still waitin to have a reason to be pissed that I sold my Kinect. This ain't it and I don't see any in the near future.
  • bebl09 - September 6, 2011 1:20 p.m.

    Why the hell did you buy a Kinect in the first place? Did Microsoft sucker you in with their promises of the future and their $500,000,000 marketing budget?
  • bebl09 - September 6, 2011 1 p.m.

    I am Jack's complete lack of surprise.
  • MidianGTX - September 6, 2011 12:54 p.m.

    Flailing and frustration sums up the Kinect perfectly. Some people will never admit it, but the Move technology is completely fantastic, the speed an accuracy could lead to some incredible games if only it had the support of the developers and the public. Such a shame so many people got taken in by Microsoft's bullcrap.
  • Redeater - September 6, 2011 2:38 p.m.

    I don't own a PS3 yet but from what I hear the Move is borderline terrible as it is. After all the reviews of No More Heroes Paradise it has guaranteed that I will not be purchasing a move when I get a PS3. My point is that while I think Kinect is crap at least Microsoft tried something different and didn't just rip off Nintendo and market it as revolutionary.
  • Plan10FromOuterSpace - September 6, 2011 11:49 p.m.

    I think a lot of it is the developers, not the hardware, even though microsoft might well of had a say in this, desperate as they are to convince us Kinect will change gaming forever, but I knew this wouldn't work as soon as they said it wouldn't be 'on rails', move would have exactly the same problem, movement (pun unintentional)
  • shawksta - September 6, 2011 12:45 p.m.

    Is it just me, or is Kinect getting a case of Karma? other than that what the hell is Sega doing releasing something like this? didnt they test it!? Sega's sucess seems to only apply with Nintendo, which is ironic
  • DecoyOctorok - September 6, 2011 3:51 p.m.

    What is this success that you speak of? The last time I checked, Sega was busy cranking out more shi**y Marvel movie tie-in games. Also, why are we not allowed to swear in the comments anymore?

Showing 21-33 of 33 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360
Published by: Sega
Developed by: Sega

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.