Google+

Radar Mission 3DS review

Great
AT A GLANCE
  • Cool battle animations
  • Multiple missile volleys
  • Two different play modes
  • Getting sunk by the AI
  • Lack of two-player support
  • Shooting blanks into the sea

Price: $2.99
Size: 35 Blocks
First Released: 1990

That Radar Mission is just a fancied-up version of Battleship with a few tweaks isn’t a bad thing. It captures the pure essence of the original and spices it up a bit. Strategically sending volleys of missiles careening into a grid-based ocean in an effort to sink an armada of invisible ships is more thrilling than it should be. Process of elimination and a little luck is all that stands between victory and having your fleet thrashed to the bottom of the sea in a pile of twisted metal.

Radar Mission’s main mode is a faithful re-creation of Battleship. After plotting out your ship locations on your respective grids, you and your opponent take turns volleying shots at one another until all of the ships on one side are sunk. Watching as your computer-controlled opponent pokes and prods the ocean in search of your fleet is anxiety-inducing, but landing hits of your own provides a satisfying balance. Hitting a “lucky” grid square arms your next turn with a multi-shot volley of rockets, increasing your chances of uncovering or annihilating an enemy ship. Being able to adjust the grid-size and toggle additional rules is a nice touch, and the battle animations between moves give the gameplay added personality.

In addition to the turn-based naval battles, there’s also a second sub-battling mode that has you working in real-time to defend your fleet from enemy subs while sending torpedoes and bullets into your foe’s hull. This all takes place from a neat periscope perspective, and it’s a great variation on the main mode. It’s perhaps not the most original Game Boy title of its time, but Radar Mission definitely still holds up a solid offering.

Jul 17, 2011

More Info

Available Platforms: Game Boy, 3DS

9 comments

  • SideOfBeef - July 17, 2011 8:55 p.m.

    When I saw the name, I got really hopeful. Where's my damn TDAR game? (or GDAR in general, <3 you all) I'll go ahead and read the review now.
  • bigwill1221 - July 17, 2011 10:05 p.m.

    These old school reviews are getting really annoying...
  • santaclouse37 - July 17, 2011 10:26 p.m.

    @bigwill1221 How so? You don't have to read them, and there have only been 3 as of now. The fact you took the time to sign in and comment on this rather than skipping over it clearly shows you're just looking to troll. I, for one, enjoy reading a modern take on these old games, even though I don't own a 3DS. Thanks, gamesradar!
  • UsernameLoser - July 17, 2011 11:31 p.m.

    I have a problem with this game not having a sense of progression, but its good for short spurts.
  • VMPSaberwolf - July 18, 2011 12:11 a.m.

    Freaky, I was just trying to think of the name for this for the QOTW but couldn't. There was a submarine mode too against the AI, it's been 20 years but I remember it being a lot of fun.
  • Redeater - July 18, 2011 12:13 a.m.

    @bigwill1221 I actually enjoy these reviews. Considering that this is the only story posted in the last couple days you should be grateful to get anything at all. Do us a favor and go check out Kotaku or 1UP if you want the latest news for COD or (insert bland FPS shooter here).
  • garnsr - July 18, 2011 3:52 a.m.

    0 I like these reviews, though I don't plan to own a 3DS any time soon. It seems odd that so many original GameBoy games are rated so high, I don't remember them being that great 20 years ago, but I never got to play too many GB games. I'd kill for Final Fantasy Adventure, either as that or as Seiken Densetsu, though, that and Gargoyle's Quest are two of the few I played, and really enjoyed. Many of the readers here don't remember a time when anything was black and white, so letting the know the game is good, at least, is useful.
  • CaseInPoint - July 18, 2011 3:01 p.m.

    You can join in with the Radar Mission provided you are a member of the Radar Secret Service.
  • SparkleDevon - July 19, 2011 3 a.m.

    I love these reviews. They help me decide on what Virtual Console games I should get, on the rare opportunity that I get an eShop card <3

Showing 1-9 of 9 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.