Google+

Pokemon Black and White review

Excellent
Back to Article

75 comments

  • rjjones - April 26, 2011 2 a.m.

    THATS RACIST!!! but i get teh blakk one
  • secretsearcher - March 19, 2011 6:07 p.m.

    decision made. i'm getting white. if only because i really want that black legendary...
  • secretsearcher - March 19, 2011 6:04 p.m.

    Well fine. I'm sold. I was planning on not buying one of these (Poke'mon has been getting old for me), but you've convinced me otherwise. Now I just need to decide which to buy...
  • gamingfreak - March 17, 2011 11:48 p.m.

    Every time I'm done with Pokemon, I get sucked right back in.
  • Austin_SJ - March 8, 2011 2:36 p.m.

    I kind of wish I had a DS.
  • GamesRadarShanePatterson - March 8, 2011 2:26 a.m.

    MUST GET
  • GameManiac - March 8, 2011 1:36 a.m.

    Must. Get. White. Damn you Gamestop for making me wait. Oh well... At least I'll finish Heartgold by then.
  • Felixthecat - March 7, 2011 9:04 p.m.

    Got it Friday, fucking love it. Best game since Pokemon Yellow, and this is coming from an owner of every main series Pokemon game thus far. Everything feels new, it's so different. Should have gotten a 10 IMO.
  • jackthemenace - March 7, 2011 4:22 p.m.

    I love the game, but... I can't help feeling that it's getting too samey. The whole new 'dex is obviously supposed to try and combat it, but, like the article says, the tried and tested eight-gyms-then-pokemon-league, as well as one dodgy team that always seems to do the same thing just make the series kinda stale. They need to come up with something new, a bit more of an adult pokemon game (IK,R!?) I've loved the series since i was, what, four? But it's glaringly obvious it has been the same thing ever since i was four. Over-all, while i do love the look of the game, and the new dex is brilliant, I honestly think i preferred HG/SS, just because it was amazing with the fact it had the two whole regions to explore, and I'm worried once I've finished this, i won't have anything left to do if i don't do the multiplayer. I guess the main thing is that i want a more adult Pokemon. @reCAPTCHA: Barth Splef? Was he Vaders mentally-impaired cousin?
  • AuthorityFigure - March 7, 2011 12:44 p.m.

    So I'll assume then that Platinum is still superior.
  • super0sonic - March 7, 2011 8:21 a.m.

    I am getting white that tron city looks dumb.
  • Aletheon - March 7, 2011 6:32 a.m.

    Nothing wrong with 8 gym formula. Why is that a negative?
  • chewbaca777 - March 7, 2011 2:29 a.m.

    thanks for the review! i will be ordering this game asap! but to tell you the truth i was going to buy it anyway
  • Conversen - March 6, 2011 11:17 p.m.

    I've been playing the game for about an hour... omigosh right?... and have listened to every Pokemon Monday podcast to this point. Needless to say I'm having a huge geekgasm. But I agree with the review except that I wish they had kept the HG/SS idea of having the first Pokemon in your party out and following you around, cause that was pretty cool. Good review guys! It's only on par with Halo Reach though.
  • KrEid - March 6, 2011 6:26 p.m.

    Just finished it this morning (UK) and it's actually my new fave! I haven't always taken too kindly to the new games (I'm looking at YOU Platinum!) but this one was rather bladdy good! Also, no more damn Zubat caves \o/
  • Smeggs - March 6, 2011 5:16 a.m.

    MY GOD! When will my prayers be answered? Why have they not added a Party-Trade or Mass-Trade system yet? I'm sure I'm not the only one who feels it's a major pain to have to sit through a minute-long cutscene just to trade one pokemon to someone! I want to be able to go "I'll trade this, this and this for that, that and that. Go." I want a full-party swapping system. Especially when I'm done with all my pokemon, I like putting them into a version I don't play for storage so I can start a new game, but it takes forever. I'd like to be able to mass trade stuff, just to be able to dump it into a PC. Another problem with transferring for storage is you have to trade a pokemon for a pokemon. There should be an option to just send a pokemon to another version and straight into a PC.
  • D0CCON - March 6, 2011 4:22 a.m.

    @Marioman50 Black version is actually the one that looks more futuristic. Not to mention that the change is purely aesthetic and won't affect how battles play out. A building in Black version may have glowing lights and sliding doors while the same building in White will be painted brick with wooden doors, but the actual buildings themselves are the same. The main difference is Black version gives Black City (a place to fight trainers) and White gives you White Forrest (a place to catch Generation 1-4 Pokemon that don't appear in Black). Just thought you might want to know if you are looking for the future-y game.
  • AlpineGuy - March 5, 2011 10:04 p.m.

    Thing is...as cool as this looks, I'm still in the middle of SoulSilver, and I don't think I can commit to another Pokemon for a while. Plus, the PokeWalker is so damned cool. I don't ever want to stop using it.
  • GamesRadarBrettElston - March 5, 2011 8:06 p.m.

    @redthehaze Metacritic actually doesn't factor into our traffic much. It's not a huge source of inbound links. That Just for You, Metacritic blurb is part of every Super Review, dating back to 2009. It's more a joke acknowledging how Metacritic pulls whatever it wants out of a review as its own summary, so we prepare one ourselves to make sure OUR points make the summary.
  • Crimmy - March 5, 2011 6:49 p.m.

    Time to pour another 500 hours into a new Pokeymanz! Oh, and I'm going with Smugleaf. The name Snivy can suck it.

Showing 1-20 of 75 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 06 2011 - DS (US)
Mar 04 2011 - DS (UK)
Available Platforms: DS
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Game Freak
Franchise: Pokemon
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Comic Mischief, Mild Cartoon Violence
PEGI Rating:
3+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.