Google+

Pikmin 3 review

Excellent
Back to Article

42 comments

  • Talvari - July 22, 2013 10:19 a.m.

    Glad to hear this seems to be getting great reviews so far from the people who have released them! I'm guessing i'm not missing out on anything by not playing Pikmin 1/2 right? I wasn't that interested in them way back in early 2000 but all the video trailers and interviews with miyamoto etc have gotten me pretty interested Also regarding the final area, is it just hectic and hard to follow / sudden change of pace etc? Or just strangely designed? Maybe an experience that varies from player to player. Would hate to be dissapointed by the final portion of the game, but so long as it doesn't really take away from the overall experience and stuff. And thanks for the review Justin :D
  • GR_JustinTowell - July 22, 2013 10:51 a.m.

    No problem, a pleasure to write this one :) You're not missing out at all by not playing Pikmin 1 or 2. In fact, Miyamoto actually said (reportedly and if memory serves) that he feels a bit sorry for those who played Pikmin 1 as he believes Pikmin 3 is the game Pikmin 1 should have been. Pikmin 1 was great at the time, but this is a finely honed gem of a game. As for the final area, I don't want to spoil anything for anyone which is why I'm not going to say exactly what happens. It's not that it's bad, just that it is a sudden change of pace that feels just that it feels at odds with the other 18 or so hours of play. You'll see. You might really like it - it's certainly no disaster and is definitely impressive. But the main game is what's won my heart. It's brilliant.
  • BladedFalcon - July 22, 2013 11:13 a.m.

    Hmm, it's interesting to hear that Miyamoto feel that way about Pikmin 1. Mostly because I frankly got super bored with it, but I always thought that was simply because it just wasn't my cup of tea, wasn't into the game's design, nor it's gameplay, and superficially, both Pikmin 2 and Pikmin 3 looked very similar to the first game. So hearing that, I admit I'm curious. Still probably won't play it any time soon, but if I ever get a Wii U, I might give it at least a rental.
  • shawksta - July 23, 2013 11:02 p.m.

    He felt similar to Pikmin 2. As fantastic as the game was, Miyamoto just didn't like how much more free (which isnt really bad) and easy it was, especially how overpowered the white and Purple Pikmin are. It seemed he never reached what he wanted the game to truly be, he wanted the pressure of Pikmin 1 but at the same time the freedom of the sequel. He managed to fuse the best of both for the 3rd game resulting in what his true vision was. Heck, the worlds actually look like they are giant gardens this time, which is where his inspiration came from,Gardening XD.
  • BladedFalcon - July 24, 2013 8:21 a.m.

    See, gardens bore the fuck out of me, which may explain why Pikmin has never managed to grab me XD
  • shawksta - July 24, 2013 12:47 p.m.

    WELP :P

Showing 41-42 of 42 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 04 2013 - Wii U (US)
Jul 26 2013 - Wii U (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii U
Genre: Strategy
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.