Google+

Pikmin 3 review

Back to Article

42 comments

  • garnsr - July 22, 2013 8:55 p.m.

    I've been thinking about the Nintendo question lately, and I realised I don't really have that much affection for Nintendo, I just liked the games that were on their systems in the 8 and 16 bit eras. I see that there is a quality to Nintendo games, but it's not really a quality I feel connected to these days. Pikmin seems like a style from yesteryear, like all first-party Nintendo games, and it 's not something I feel connected to. It feels like Nintendo should go to the PC, where they could keep making their lower-tech games and not fight against the other systems that are pushing technology, and it'd fit in better with their style, I think.
  • shawksta - July 23, 2013 10:15 a.m.

    Pikmin is STILL unique in its style, being the only one in its kind. You cant just outright call a genre and style you dont seem fit from "Yesteryear" but hey thats your opinion.
  • BladedFalcon - July 23, 2013 3:05 p.m.

    Well, if the core gameplay has remained almost identical to the first one, we're than talking about a pretty much decade old core, regardless of genre or other games. So old IS definitely a valid adjective. Whether that's good or bad though, that just really depends on your taste, really. It's true that I don't really know many games like Pikmin, so at least no one can say it's over-saturating or beating a dead horse XD Specially, because, I mean, I'm a sucker for metroidvania games, no matter how "more of the same" they are. So as long as you're not bloating the market, niches like that are fine by me.
  • shawksta - July 23, 2013 10:57 p.m.

    True point do doubt.
  • tehtimeisnow - July 22, 2013 5:17 p.m.

    horrable game. bad grafics cuz the wiiu isnt even as poewerfull as the xobx360 and it has gimmecky controlls and its to easy and its rated e for littel kids
  • SveedishFeesh - July 26, 2013 4:08 a.m.

    0/10
  • Vonter - August 7, 2013 4:07 p.m.

    Aim wraitin.
  • g1rldraco7 - July 22, 2013 5:03 p.m.

    I have to agree, it's looks beautiful in HD, but Pikmin is not my cup of tea, but I see why it;s popular.
  • Rub3z - July 22, 2013 4:26 p.m.

    Nice review Justin. Not as if I wasn't planning on getting this anyway, but how large is the download for the digital version? I was surprised to see that Mario Bros. U was friggin' huge, taking up more than half of the available space on the puny 32GB hard drive... am I going to have to get an external if I want to download more full retail games? How much do those go for?
  • logan-hollis - July 22, 2013 6:47 p.m.

    I was able to pick up a 2TB Seagate external w/external power source for $100. So it's not horribly expensive. If you do pick one up though, just make sure that it has its own power source.
  • GR_JustinTowell - July 23, 2013 3:06 a.m.

    I think it's 4GB. I remember because I put it on to download at about 9:30pm thinking I'd play some Pikmin before bed and it finished downloading at 1am. Grrr...
  • Rub3z - July 23, 2013 5:51 a.m.

    Kind of a shame the U is Wi-fi only, neither of us would have such long download times with a good old Ethernet connection. 4GBs doesn't seem bad for me either ways, still room to spare... thanks for the info Justin. :)
  • GR_JustinTowell - July 23, 2013 6:26 a.m.

    No prob. Mind you, I've heard you can use a Wii USB broadband connector... but I haven't tried it!
  • Rub3z - July 23, 2013 2:45 p.m.

    Might have to look into that, as it's a pain having to run upkeep on my inferior Wi-fi connection. On my PC or even my Xbox I just plug in the blue wire and I'm good to go, but my WiFi may see me digging into the router's setup page tooling around with God-knows-what-these-settings-mean to get an optimal connection... :/
  • shawksta - July 22, 2013 10:27 a.m.

    Great review, Miyamoto put allot into the game so its great to see it delivers, the question now is in sales when it actually comes out. The final level is "Nightmarish" you say? Looking forward to it, as if Pikmin was already frightening in its presentation of Nature and killing of your pikmin :P
  • talleyXIV - July 23, 2013 9:10 a.m.

    Can't be scarier than the final battle with Emperor Bulblax in the first one, that battle gets my heart racing every single time.
  • shawksta - July 23, 2013 10:13 a.m.

    Who knows, considering they said the structure is different from what you normally do, doesnt matter, till be worth it.
  • Cyberninja - July 22, 2013 10:25 a.m.

    Looks like another gem from Nintendo I over looked before like Animal Crossing.
  • Talvari - July 22, 2013 10:19 a.m.

    Glad to hear this seems to be getting great reviews so far from the people who have released them! I'm guessing i'm not missing out on anything by not playing Pikmin 1/2 right? I wasn't that interested in them way back in early 2000 but all the video trailers and interviews with miyamoto etc have gotten me pretty interested Also regarding the final area, is it just hectic and hard to follow / sudden change of pace etc? Or just strangely designed? Maybe an experience that varies from player to player. Would hate to be dissapointed by the final portion of the game, but so long as it doesn't really take away from the overall experience and stuff. And thanks for the review Justin :D
  • GR_JustinTowell - July 22, 2013 10:51 a.m.

    No problem, a pleasure to write this one :) You're not missing out at all by not playing Pikmin 1 or 2. In fact, Miyamoto actually said (reportedly and if memory serves) that he feels a bit sorry for those who played Pikmin 1 as he believes Pikmin 3 is the game Pikmin 1 should have been. Pikmin 1 was great at the time, but this is a finely honed gem of a game. As for the final area, I don't want to spoil anything for anyone which is why I'm not going to say exactly what happens. It's not that it's bad, just that it is a sudden change of pace that feels just that it feels at odds with the other 18 or so hours of play. You'll see. You might really like it - it's certainly no disaster and is definitely impressive. But the main game is what's won my heart. It's brilliant.
  • Talvari - July 22, 2013 11:10 a.m.

    Ah neat. Nothing to worry about then. Got it on pre-order and looking forward to playing it :D Thanks for the swift response.
  • BladedFalcon - July 22, 2013 11:13 a.m.

    Hmm, it's interesting to hear that Miyamoto feel that way about Pikmin 1. Mostly because I frankly got super bored with it, but I always thought that was simply because it just wasn't my cup of tea, wasn't into the game's design, nor it's gameplay, and superficially, both Pikmin 2 and Pikmin 3 looked very similar to the first game. So hearing that, I admit I'm curious. Still probably won't play it any time soon, but if I ever get a Wii U, I might give it at least a rental.
  • shawksta - July 23, 2013 11:02 p.m.

    He felt similar to Pikmin 2. As fantastic as the game was, Miyamoto just didn't like how much more free (which isnt really bad) and easy it was, especially how overpowered the white and Purple Pikmin are. It seemed he never reached what he wanted the game to truly be, he wanted the pressure of Pikmin 1 but at the same time the freedom of the sequel. He managed to fuse the best of both for the 3rd game resulting in what his true vision was. Heck, the worlds actually look like they are giant gardens this time, which is where his inspiration came from,Gardening XD.

Showing 21-40 of 42 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 04 2013 - Wii U (US)
Jul 26 2013 - Wii U (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii U
Genre: Strategy
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+