Google+

Phantasy Star Portable 2 review

Solid
AT A GLANCE
  • Makes grinding pretty fun
  • More customization options
  • Dodge rolls
  • Not much has changed
  • Chatting is a pain
  • Story elements are too wordy

This article comes courtesy of GamesRadar sister magazine

Phantasy Star used to be the defining name in online multiplayer RPGs – except, er, it was sooo long ago we can barely remember what it was like. With Capcom’s Monster Hunter now the default choice for grind-loving, team-based RPG fans, Phantasy Star’s servers have shut down. But Phantasy Star Portable 2 could change that as, unlike the first Portable installment, it makes co-op scrapping against giant space monsters – as you’d hope – fun.

There are more customization options, with more avatars to choose from. The levels are more lively with old favorite enemies making comebacks. Words sometimes get in the way of the fun, both in the story mode’s verbosity and the clunky chat input system on PSP.

In all honesty, there’s little new here bar some tweaks like the ability to dodge roll or use physical shields. Oh, and photon points are now character specific. If this makes sense, then you’re most likely a Phantasy Star veteran who pre-ordered a long time before the game’s release. For everyone else, you have a somewhat above-average JRPG that hasn’t really changed in 22 years. Still, as handheld multiplayer monster-mashers go, it’s the perfect filler until Monster Hunter Portable 3.

If you'd like to see more articles from PSM3, you can get a subscription here.

Oct 25, 2010

More Info

Release date: Sep 14 2010 - PSP (US)
Sep 17 2010 - PSP (UK)
Available Platforms: PSP
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Sega
Developed by: Alfa System
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes
PEGI Rating:
16+

We Recommend By ZergNet

7 comments

  • EnragedTortoise1 - October 26, 2010 2:40 p.m.

    What the hell took you so long? The game's been out for over a month! Still, it's sucked up over 80 hours of my time. I love it.
  • mattdark - October 26, 2010 6:31 a.m.

    Agreed, this 'review' hardly touches on anything the PSP2 offers. They happen to mention the new dodge roll, and the not so new shields (Which were introduced back in Phantasy Star Zero on the DS) Aside from the fact it doesnt even mention the story, or talk about the online mode, which is full online, not just ADHOC. Im probably most annoyed that they considered this game a 'filler' title until the next monster hunter... Despite how these games are lightyears apart in the way they work and play.
  • TNK2 - October 26, 2010 3:17 a.m.

    Please gamesradar stop putting sister magazine reviewgs on the site or at least make a tab on the home page for sister reviews. There short boring and dumb(probably because of page space of the magazine). I wanna see the hard hitting reviews the gamesradar team do.
  • TNK2 - October 26, 2010 3:15 a.m.

    Wow they didn't talk about the online modes or anything. This review sucks lol. The game is like a mmorpg in your pocket.
  • d0x - October 25, 2010 11:17 p.m.

    God I loved Phantasy Star Online...but hated Universe. Sega went and ruined a good thing there. Hopefully they can regain that simplistic magic again for the next game on consoles.
  • garnsr - October 25, 2010 11:10 p.m.

    Phantasy Star used to be a defining title in RPGs period, not just online. I haven't played any of the online ones, but they sound less interesting than the ones I grew up with.
  • ultimatepunchrod - October 25, 2010 11:10 p.m.

    i played a bit of the first phantasy star and thought it was cool. might give this a try

Showing 1-7 of 7 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.