Google+

Nostalgia review

Great
AT A GLANCE
  • A decent yarn in a refreshing setting
  • Unashamedly retro mechanics
  • Upgrading your airship
  • Lots of brown everywhere
  • Still could have adopted more recent ideas
  • Yet not quite as nostalgic as it aims for

There are no prizes for guessing that with a name like Nostalgia, this RPG harks back to the halcyon days when a party of four adventurers turn-based-battled their way through dungeons, earning XP from fights to level up and gain new skills, visiting stores in towns to acquire new kit and… Hold on a minute – nostalgia? It sounds remarkably like 2008/09 to us, years that have seen a bumper crop of RPGs in the ‘classic’ mould.

While the title might be a bit of a misnomer, there’s plenty to like here. Rather than the usual fantasy world setting and derivative plot, the game takes place at the height of the British Empire and the story owes more to Rider Haggard than Hironobu Sakaguchi. You explore and battle in places such as the pyramids, the Tower of Babel and Noah’s Ark, searching for your missing dad, a famed adventurer.

Aside from the usual JRPG trappings, there’s a Skies of Arcadia twist with the inclusion of airships. You pilot yours across the world map to new locations, doing battle with other ships and upgrading the weapons when you can. It’s a pleasing additional layer to what’s a generally decent if somewhat brown-hued game.

Jan 19, 2010

More Info

Release date: Oct 27 2009 - DS (US)
Available Platforms: DS
Published by: Tecmo, Ignition Entertainment
Developed by: Red Entertainment, Matrix Software
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Mild Fantasy Violence
PEGI Rating:
12+

6 comments

  • wyndamn - November 23, 2010 7:24 p.m.

    I finished this game and it was very good indeed. Als true nobody will ever guess what the game its about just by reading its name, but the name kinda makes sense to the story of the caracters. I highly recommend this game for anyone who considers himself a true RPG-Maniac or if you just love RPGs and yes it may seem like a FF wannabe but the story sets it appart from it. Aside from that i agree with this review cuz the only thing this games seems to be missing to be near perfect its turning it into an RPG action/adventure rather than just RPG adventure.
  • boyverygood01 - January 25, 2010 7:44 p.m.

    http://www.wellbbiz.com free shipping competitive price any size available accept the online payment Air jordan(1-24)shoes $34--38 Nike shox(R4,NZ,OZ,TL1,TL2,TL3) $36 Handbags(Coach lv fendi d&g) $35 Tshirts (Polo ,ed hardy,lacoste) $16 Jean(True Religion,ed hardy,coogi) $36 Sunglasses(Oakey,coach,gucci,Armaini) $18 New era cap $16 We do wholesale and retail! All are extremely CHEAP, please visit: http://www.wellbbiz.com
  • OnyxOblivion - January 22, 2010 8:13 p.m.

    Crazy short review. Still, I'll get it when I'm done with Pokemon Heart Gold and Soul Silver.
  • Cyberninja - January 22, 2010 1:25 a.m.

    ff 3 and 4 were made in the late 80s and 90s and this game came out in september
  • w1n5t0n - January 21, 2010 1:59 p.m.

    I don't know, seems kind of lazy to make a game called "Nostalgia" and then come out with a game that looks almost exactly like Final Fantasy III and, 4? the other one that came out on DS within the past two years... I don't really have nostalgia for 2 year old games
  • CreeplyTuna - January 20, 2010 6:04 p.m.

    that is brown...

Showing 1-6 of 6 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.