Google+

New Super Mario Bros 2 review

Back to Article

27 comments

  • Crabhand - August 20, 2012 6:58 p.m.

    I haven't played any new Mario games for a few years, so I decided to pick this up. Enjoying it so far.
  • XanderGC - August 5, 2012 2:21 p.m.

    I think this maybe the first time in my personal history that I am absolutely hating the Mario music. Did it grate on anyone else?
  • Rambo 11 - August 3, 2012 6:16 a.m.

    Could it be? Is IP fatigue finally setting in for Mario?
  • Annihilator820 - August 2, 2012 5:01 p.m.

    I can agree on the thought that Mario needs a rest and then a reboot. Once the obligatory WiiU launch release is over with, Mario needs a break in favor of another similar protagonist, one who's less prominent, greedier and smellier. Wario is the hero we truly need and deserve. (TL;DR for Nintendo: OBEY WARIO DESTROY MARIO)
  • talleyXIV - August 2, 2012 3:19 p.m.

    Guys, guys, guys calm down. It is a 7/10 in Mario standards, so it truly is around a 9.5 compared to every other stale FPS game that comes out.
  • IceBlueKirby - August 2, 2012 2:12 p.m.

    I still enjoy playing the first two NSMB games, so I know I'm going to have fun with this one even if it isn't particularly "New" Super Mario Bros. at this point.
  • wingsdjy - August 2, 2012 9:10 a.m.

    Video review is broken. Won't stream for me.
  • Racing1972 - August 2, 2012 7:20 a.m.

    Sounds great - my wife is drooling at the thought!!
  • tehtimeisnow - August 2, 2012 4:20 a.m.

    ha ah i new this game would b garbege cuz nitedno keeps getting away with makeing the same stuped e rated games every single year and fanbabys keep bying it seruoisely this is like the 500th sequal to mario alredy and there the same game it should b illegal ha ah no thanks i play games on ipad and xobx wear i get good new origanal games that dont suck like this one
  • Burdmayn - August 2, 2012 5:50 a.m.

    Oh Mai u maek mi sew mad!
  • RandyBobandy - August 3, 2012 5:54 a.m.

    Learn how to spell first before you give a biased rant.
  • AuthorityFigure - August 2, 2012 2:02 a.m.

    I thought the DS one stank, so I avoided the Wii one - and so here we are...
  • shawksta - August 8, 2012 1:15 p.m.

    This is just my personal opinion but I thought the Wii Version is the superior one, better level design, cool new suits, the mini mushroom is WAY more useful and used in more ways than the handheld variants, the Koopalings were fun and awesome and the star world was brutal. I still think of this now, sure, NSMB2 is hard and a traditionally good but for me it's a staller till U comes out which will more likely expand what the Wii did.
  • Hobogonigal - August 2, 2012 1:36 a.m.

    Regarding the short length, it seems like it didn't take Nintendo long to understand how to use DLC... I will still pick this up when it releases, I have been interested in it as soon as I heard about it due to the coin rush mode.
  • larkan - August 1, 2012 9:33 p.m.

    I still remember getting up an hour before school to attempt the last star in Mario 64, and it was a sky level 100 coins. It took me two weeks to get it, but it felt sooooo good when I did.
  • ChaosEternal - August 2, 2012 8:35 a.m.

    Was it Rainbow Ride, because that was the last star I got! Rainbow Ride 100 coins. That was back in 2007, after playing the game for 6 years. Heh, I got the game when I was 4 or 5, so my parents would get stars for me late at night, until I was old enough to do it myself. Then I got the remaining 39 starts when I was older. I was so happy when I finally did it. :D
  • asayur - August 16, 2012 8:26 a.m.

    Wow, this is a very cool story, your parents are great :D
  • ncurry2 - August 1, 2012 8:35 p.m.

    I can see how the NSMB thing is getting a bit stale. I was hoping this one would be the best though since I have almost no faith in the WiiU one. I'm hoping they're done with NSMB games for a while and focus on the next 3D console release.
  • Redeater - August 1, 2012 7:44 p.m.

    ......well.....I'll always have my SMB 3 NES cartridge I suppose.
  • Darkhawk - August 1, 2012 7:37 p.m.

    I hereby bestow 1,000,000 coins on Gamesradar for including a Video Review. Keep it up!

Showing 1-20 of 27 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Aug 19 2012 - 3DS (US)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Genre: Action
Published by: Nintendo
Franchise: Mario
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Comic Mischief