Google+

Military Madness: Nectaris review

Decent
AT A GLANCE
  • Inspired by Advance Wars
  • Competent turn-based strategy
  • Unusual setting
  • Too simplistic to satisfy
  • Everything is grey
  • Bland and unexciting missions

This is best described as a simplistic Advance Wars with all the colour – not to mention joy – sucked out of it. It’s a competent turn-based strategy game, sure, but compared to the more sophisticated efforts we’re used to, it feels bland and unexciting.

It doesn’t help that it’s set on the moon. All grey, grey and grey. Nor does it help that the game only gives you a brief gist of the plot before throwing you into the ‘action’ without an explanation of how things work. Not that you’ll need one given how simple it all is. Take turns to move your units around a hex-based grid. Gain bonuses for things like the kind of terrain you’re on, or whether there are any allied units nearby, and then engage the enemy. Get rid of every foe and you’ll be dumped into the next battle.

You’ll have done this kind of thing a million times over, and there’s little here to make you think outside the box. Not that there’s much wrong with that as such, but it doesn’t get us excited.

Apr 13, 2010

More Info

Release date: Apr 12 2010 - Wii
Sep 30 2009 - Xbox 360
Nov 05 2009 - PS3 (US)
Apr 12 2010 - Wii
Sep 30 2009 - Xbox 360
Nov 05 2009 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Wii, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Strategy
Published by: Hudson Entertainment
Developed by: Backbone Entertainment
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Mild Fantasy Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

We Recommend By ZergNet

5 comments

  • ClusterBomb - May 31, 2010 5:43 p.m.

    You know what's wrong with games and people that rate them these days is that the way the game looks is about all that's important. I remember the good old days when the game was rated on how fun it is and people didn't wast years trying to make it look good and forget about the game itself.
  • jason118 - April 19, 2010 3:25 p.m.

    One more thing, the online offering is robust and free. What more could you ask for?
  • jason118 - April 19, 2010 3:21 p.m.

    I disagree with this review. First, this game seems more in depth than AW due to the hex moving pattern, huge number of units, and complicated combat system that takes a lot more variablesinto consideration than AW does. Also, you said it just throws you into the action without explaination, but if you read thru the literature that accompanies the game, it actually gives you a detailed rundown of some basic strategies. Finally, I like how the game handles unit production better than AW, as a lot of times in AW, economies grow out of control and games go on forever. In MM, there is a set number of units for each map and it's up to you to use those units effectivly. Also, 'move-attack-move' units are awesome!
  • mEgAzD - April 14, 2010 1:53 a.m.

    I was actually surprised they were making a new one. I bought the Turbo GrafX one 2 years ago and it plays somewhat decent. However, I won't be getting this.
  • emayekayee - April 13, 2010 10:13 p.m.

    Hey! I played this game on the Turbo GrafX 16 way back in 1996, so don't "inspired by Advance wars" crap. I played Advance wars and thought "Oh, this is a lot like Military Madness." I agree with the review score, but check your facts. The original is available on Virtual Console if anyone wants to check it out.

Showing 1-5 of 5 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.