Google+

Metroid: Other M review

Back to Article

88 comments

  • zer0hvk - August 27, 2010 9:35 p.m.

    I didn't trust Team Ninja and I think I was right not to, they make crappy over-sexualized cheap games, with cheap-ass menus with the WORST fucking fonts I've ever seen on videogames. I hope Retro gets the franchise back after DKC Returns is released, they knew what they were doing.
  • zer0hvk - August 27, 2010 9:32 p.m.

    I was expecting this to get a lower score, this is a nice surprise, the promise of an excellent last third of the game sounds very interesting. I'm a big fan of the Metroid series, I really wanted this to be awesome, but I guess "good" will have to suffice. As powerpc127 said, THANK YOU for a non-pretentious review Mr. Elston.
  • slimjim441 - August 27, 2010 9:22 p.m.

    I am disappointed, but not surprised as all. I will hate and despise Team Ninja as long as I live. Nobody tell me Nintendo got in their way. This is all Team Ninja's fault. It would have been flawless if some one else had done it. Like Kojima. They wanted an in-depth story, they should've gotten Hideo Kojima.
  • SuperBrettroid - August 27, 2010 9:06 p.m.

    Wow. I really had high hopes for this game. It looks really awesome. I'm still picking this up though. Damn.
  • abbottfrizzell - August 27, 2010 9 p.m.

    So.. I never played any metroid before Prime, I just wasn't big into games until the 64, will I still enjoy this (as much as a person can enjoy this game?)
  • gamingfreak - August 27, 2010 8:29 p.m.

    Not really surprised with the score. I had a feeling they wouldn't quite pull it off. I'll probably rent it for now and when it comes down in price I'll buy it.
  • mahabat - August 27, 2010 8:18 p.m.

    i, i think i'm going to cry... i loved metroid... so much for it being nintendo's halo... Retro! come back! we need you
  • Jacko415 - August 27, 2010 8:17 p.m.

    This series deserves a better console and graffics.
  • 2Girls1CupOfSorrow - August 27, 2010 8:10 p.m.

    It's probably fun for the most part, but the mere existence of control issues or minor caveats to certain aspects of the gameplay is aggravating. I don't care if "7 is still a good score"—this is a Nintendo game, and given their track record with first party titles they should be held to a significantly higher standard than most other developers.
  • crimsonlink310 - August 27, 2010 8:08 p.m.

    Terrible, as in the background of the game and the game itself. It looks like Samus is colored in a black and white world and doesn't fit in. The enemies and stages look like they are made out of a cardboard box. Also Samus having every single weapon is cool but Adam is the one who has to authorize it is some total BS. That was one of the best things about Metroid which was to have Samus lose her weapons and then gain them back and afterwards get even more weapons. This game is gonna have to be rented or borrowed from a friend by me. >.< The finishing moves Team ninja made were alright but didn't really add much. Only the story has me excited really.
  • 510BrotherPanda - August 27, 2010 8:03 p.m.

    @ linko9 This is why i wish Gunpei Yokoi didn't die in that car crash in '97. He was General Manager over Sakamoto on Super Metroid, right? Out of the list of huge changes he helped make/lead (Game and Watch,Game Boy and handhelds as a whole, "mentor" to Miyamoto), the only major hiccup was the Virtual Boy. If it still doesn't gel with me when I do play it, I'll just have to do with going back to 100% Prime Trilogy...
  • ihopethisisnotantistasblood - August 27, 2010 7:52 p.m.

    i already pre-ordered it, can't wait.. also i wanted a comparison between this and shadow complex wich i started playing and felt it was a carbon copy(when i got the speed boost i said "fuck this")
  • garnsr - August 27, 2010 7:51 p.m.

    There aren't even trophies or achievements to give you some more incentive to play through a boring 3/4 of the game. At least we'll always have Super Metroid.
  • linko9 - August 27, 2010 7:39 p.m.

    I feel like this game is sort of like the new star wars trilogy (though probably not as shitty). Sakamoto had no one to tell him he was wrong. Team ninja couldn't very well waltz in and tell the series creator that he couldn't make his own game the way he wanted to. Unfortunately, Sakamoto had some terrible ideas, namely, refusing to use the nunchuck (even though everyone around him wanted to use it). I'm sure I'll still love this game, but I'm still disappointed. Guess I'll wait a few days to make my own judgment.
  • Corsair89 - August 27, 2010 7:20 p.m.

    I'll probably still end up playing it at some point. I really need to play Super Metroid> >.>
  • sklorbit - August 27, 2010 7:10 p.m.

    im buying it either way. im really interested in the games story, i commend nintendo for making a story in one of their games that isnt just fluff. btw people, its gotten better reviews from other places so dont not buy it just cause one review. reviews should never completely change ur mind unless the score is terrible.
  • thefreakysurgeon - August 27, 2010 7:02 p.m.

    i thought this game would at least get an 8. 7 is, well, meh.
  • batmanboy11 - August 27, 2010 6:58 p.m.

    That's dissapointing. I'll still play it when my brother buys it though.
  • c03n3nj0 - August 27, 2010 6:53 p.m.

    I has a sad :( Although, 7 is still a good score, and looking at other review (which vary from 6 to 9) this game is either a hit or a miss. I'll probably get it.... later on.
  • shyfonzie - August 27, 2010 6:50 p.m.

    Aww, I was looking forward to this. I'm too poor to buy a game so critically flawed. Maybe I'll just play Fusion.

Showing 41-60 of 88 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Action
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Team Ninja
Franchise: Metroid
ESRB Rating:
Rating Pending
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending