Google+

Max Payne 3 review

Astonishing
Back to Article

80 comments

  • Mar27w - August 23, 2012 8:47 a.m.

    this game rocks, although make sure you switch of the crappy bullet fx effect before playing,the game is joy to play and once you unlock unlimited bullet time and bullet cam for all kills it just turns into a beautiful ballet of bullets and cinematic gunplay the likes of which has never been done before in such glorious detail,watching your bullets splinter through a wooden fence then rip through the badguy and finally punture a water tank with the water spouting out all in ultra smooth slo mo is just a joy to behold and as far as im concerned,best game of 2012
  • griever - June 15, 2012 10:17 a.m.

    It's a good game. I mean yeah, "good", but I don't think it deserves a 10/10. Yeah Max's monologues are always a treat, but overall the storyline is so predictable. Attention to detail is there of course but the overall gameplay's sluggish. I'd give it at best a 7/10 compared to the first two games of the series.
  • daniel-scott - June 4, 2012 11:57 a.m.

    I was really surprised with the attention to detail in this game. The little twitches Max has when getting shot at, or how he carries a long rifle/shotgun in his hand and drops it to use two guns really impressed me. It feels an older game, but only the best things, everything that was outdated was rebuilt. Their are very little probs, but I agree with this review. Replay value is also very high even without multiplayer 10/10
  • codzprc - May 28, 2012 2:49 a.m.

    So everyone is okay with the scoped weapons using the left stick to aim... no one wants to mention the fact that for 97% of the game you aim with the RIGHT stick, but the moment you grab a scoped weapon you're forced to use the LEFT stick... I'm just curious on the thought process behind that decision.
  • codzprc - May 28, 2012 3 a.m.

    goggled the problem, lots say they can aim scoped weapons with the right stick as normal - anyone confirm that? What do I need to change? I haven't switched any settings, but didn't see anything that would apply to these differences in the options.
  • Imgema - May 22, 2012 3:22 a.m.

    This game has the best graphics i have ever seen so far, i'll give them that.
  • Telekinesis - May 19, 2012 3:56 p.m.

    10/10 and I'm supposed to take this review seriously becuase? That's a score 10 year old fanboys give to a game on metacritic.
  • reach110 - May 21, 2012 7:23 p.m.

    "This game is too good! How dare you rate this well!!! This is preposterous! Your scale should only go to 9! HARUMPH!"
  • D0CCON - May 16, 2012 6:23 p.m.

    This review smelt of pizza and I loved it for that. Impressive VO by the way.
  • XanderGC - May 16, 2012 11:09 a.m.

    CANTISTA! - As if I wasn't already excited enough about the game, he has to go and ramp it up a notch lol.
  • rob619 - May 16, 2012 9:34 a.m.

    Gamesradar finally! A video review please do this for all reviews in the future. You need to do this to keep in their with the likes of IGN, Gamespot etc which always have video reviews. I personally have always prefered gamesradar! You are heading in the right direction!
  • GaryTheGuidoHunter - May 16, 2012 6:47 a.m.

    Excellent review
  • DualWieldingIsNotFeasible - May 15, 2012 9:15 p.m.

    Since D3's servers are so spotty, I was playing this all afternoon. I couldn't have asked for more. Max Payne 1 and 2 were such beautiful masterpieces of overwrought noire, and 3 keeps the streak alive.
  • BladedFalcon - May 15, 2012 8:40 p.m.

    Yay! Glad to see the Antista video Review! been waiting to get it ^^ And yeah, seeing the game in motion again only makes me even more pumped for it. Also, Giant shooting gallery or not, you gotta love those awesome cinematic moments such as when Max slides from that balcony to shoot down enemies in slow motion. Hopefully I'll be bale to get the game sooner than later.
  • Jedipimp0712 - May 15, 2012 2:38 p.m.

    Y u no have super review? Still great review though! Can't wait to pick it up!
  • Fiirestorm21 - May 14, 2012 8:55 p.m.

    I think it's safe to say that mechanics are easily Rockstar's weak point. Still hate the GTA games for theirs; GTA4 was just playable in my eyes. This looks better, but still, come on, checkpoint pacing? Really, Rockstar?
  • addicted2088 - May 15, 2012 1:37 p.m.

    If by mechanics you mean the way the character we controls moves and plays, then yes, I totally agree. GTA4 was a mess, trying to control Niko was a pain, specially when making him turn backwards or forwards. And I didn't see much improvements in the Max Payne 3 videos, the characters still seem to move awkwardly. L.A Noire had the problem as well. Seriously Max Payne 3 is not too irritating.
  • Dadyo238 - May 14, 2012 8:07 p.m.

    10?! YEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • ObliqueZombie - May 14, 2012 6:50 p.m.

    Eh, still don't care enough to play it. Not that it doesn't look interest, but I haven't played the other two and getting a "quick recap" of the previous titles seems shallow and unfun. Unfortunately, I think I'll pass on this for a while.
  • secher_nbiw - May 15, 2012 3:04 a.m.

    It's a video game, not the second act of Richard III. I think you'll be alright just jumping in :)

Showing 1-20 of 80 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: May 15 2012 - Xbox 360
Jun 01 2012 - PC
May 15 2012 - PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Rockstar Games
Developed by: Rockstar Studios
Franchise: Max Payne
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Partial Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs, Use of Alcohol
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.