Google+

Mario Kart 8 review

Back to Article

167 comments

  • -_-Anonymous-_- - May 15, 2014 8:52 p.m.

    Another bad Nintendo review from a Playstation & Xbox fanboy. to make Nintendo look bad. and Xbox & Playstation look great.
  • Swedish_Chef - May 15, 2014 9:04 p.m.

    Ahh the modern game industry, the only place where there are people that consider an 8/10 review score "Bad".
  • -_-Anonymous-_- - May 15, 2014 9:08 p.m.

    You know this review is nothing more than a joke? It was made by teenage kids who are fanboys of the playstation & Xbox.
  • shawksta - May 15, 2014 11:27 p.m.

    Justin is a Sonic Fan first of all :P
  • -_-Anonymous-_- - May 16, 2014 4:45 p.m.

    Sonic is a mascot for Sega, Not a gaming console.
  • angelusdlion - May 17, 2014 6:39 a.m.

    Not anymore, considering how many non-sega games he's been in.
  • -_-Anonymous-_- - May 17, 2014 1:12 p.m.

    Sega is now a 3rd party Publisher. I'm not talking about mascots or games. I'm talking about gaming consoles. Not mascots of game companies. Maybe you Newbs can understand this.
  • angelusdlion - May 17, 2014 6:38 a.m.

    You know an 8 still means it's a great game right?
  • -_-Anonymous-_- - May 19, 2014 11:02 p.m.

    I wasn't talking about the review score. You kids take everything out of context. I'm talking about these xbox and playstation fanboys for their hate on Nintendo.
  • FouetBarak - June 2, 2014 3:22 p.m.

    Now please quote whatever part of the review indicates bias and/or fanboyism. People would then understand why you're being rude to a reviewer who is an obvious fan of the franchise...
  • Darkhawk - May 15, 2014 5:10 p.m.

    God I love reading GR reviews. It's so much more apparent here than at IGN that the writers really know and love these games. This actually sounds like the thoughts of someone raised on MK, instead of just PR-babble via the IGNoramuses. Anyway, sounds as I expected. The most shameful thing is how quickly Lakitu picks you up off the track now. Lame.
  • Vonter - May 15, 2014 9:49 p.m.

    Why? It was essentially a load respawn the way Lakitu picks you in other games. Having it be in real time how is it any badder?
  • Darkhawk - May 16, 2014 9:42 a.m.

    Before, knocking someone off course ='d black out screen + slow-load back to track placement. With an almost instant re-set, it dramatically reduces the tactical advantage of deliberately targeting someone to knock them off course. (Think the big jump in Royal Raceway, MK64.)
  • pl4y4h - May 15, 2014 10:34 a.m.

    How do you ruin balloon mode? HOW? It's been the same for how long? UGH
  • pl4y4h - May 15, 2014 5:57 p.m.

    Some of these characters could have been better overall. Dump metal mario and pink-gold peach and throw in a Metal hat item for a short defense against shells then go with characters like boo, drybones, birdo, diddy, etc (especially instead of more baby characters) but hey, what's done is done.
  • Vonter - May 15, 2014 9:51 p.m.

    HD development has taken a toll in Nintendo's way of developing game, this is unusual for them, so I really suppose it was a time constraint that had them cut those aspects. Still I'm hopeful since they want to push this game hard throughout the year. I'm more or less sure they'll announce extra content coming later.
  • Jackonomics2.0 - May 15, 2014 8:44 a.m.

    Its okay Justin, we all know you were spoiled by Sonic Allstars Racing Transformed, cause really now there's no other way you gave Mario Kart 7 a 10/10 despite being the weakest game in the series only to revolt back.
  • shawksta - May 15, 2014 8:39 a.m.

    Im loving the track design both new and old. Electrodome and Mount Wario are so far are my favorites. The Battle Mode track switch is a "You either love it or hate it" situation, gonna have to try it myself cause reworking existing tracks for it seems interesting to me. Gonna be a blast playing this long term, its definitely gonna sell a lot, but will it sell Wii U's? We'll have to wait and see. MAH BOI'S LUDWIG AND IGGY GONNA BE MY MAINS BABY
  • homestar99 - May 15, 2014 8:08 a.m.

    I'd buy this if I had a Wii U. Also, how the fuck do you get a two weeks in advance copy?!
  • BladedFalcon - May 15, 2014 6:56 a.m.

    So... More of the same, essentially what every single Mario kart game has been since the n64 one. No surprises here then.
  • ncurry2 - May 15, 2014 7:13 a.m.

    Just out of curiosity, how many mario kart games have you actually played since the n64 one? I've owned each one and sure, they're all kart racing games but after spending a a few months with Mario kart wii and going back to 64, I couldn't believe how different the karts handled. I guess you just get accustomed to the new one and don't realize the differences. For me, it's all about the tracks anyways so each new one is unique in that way. To each his own and whatever but i love the series and feel like they found a winning formula long ago and have simply been tweaking it since then, far more so than other racing games. Or any sports games or annualized shooter. But that's my opinion.
  • Vonter - May 15, 2014 9:27 a.m.

    Also I can't refuse a 2x1 game offer.
  • Outofmanyone - May 15, 2014 3:55 p.m.

    I never feel like Mario Kart gets old (been playing them since SNES), it's a time tested formula that works. I'll never understand why any other genre can feel 'fresh and new' while essentially performing the same way the previous installment had but when a Nintendo game is brought into the conversation, it's 'stale, rehashed, the same.' It's been years since the last Mario Kart so I'm all ready to race against friends and family once again. It never gets old and one of the few games my Dad(in his 50's) is actually willing to play. Gameplay-wise.. Double-dash has always been my favorite. One of the main reasons being you can play Grand Prix mode with 4-people and it's fun being able to unlock characters and tracks with friends. I was kinda disappointed the Wii version didn't include that but I was hoping this version did. I don't see any mention of it here so, time to do some searching..

Showing 21-40 of 167 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: May 30 2014 - Wii U (US)
Available Platforms: Wii U
Genre: Racing
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Comic Mischief