Google+

We Recommend By ZergNet

51 comments

  • BurglarSkullman - February 15, 2014 12:19 a.m.

    Clocking in at 2 hours, 39 minutes, I have finished The Last of Us: Left Behind. It is unbelievably well-made, and the finest DLC I've played since The Lost and Damned. Possibly the finest game Naughty Dog has ever put out; much better than the main game. A very fitting game to release on Valentine's Day. Ellie and Riley's day at the mall is one of the most heartwarming stories ever. Definitely worth the money, especially if you loved the main game. 10/10
  • BladedFalcon - February 15, 2014 9:58 p.m.

    Just finished it as well, in survival no less, and I agree, it's a very damn polished, cleverly made DLC that even introduces some mechanics you'd wish they would have thought of for the main game. That being said, I disagree that it's much better than the main game though, specially story-wise. This DLC works great as an expansion and companion piece, but the main story is glorious in so many levels with, or without this expansion.
  • BurglarSkullman - February 17, 2014 3:53 a.m.

    TLoU is a phenomenal game, there's no debating that. I just preferred the tighter pacing and the story of this DLC to it.
  • brickman409 - February 14, 2014 12:37 p.m.

    This is this the first time in awhile that I've read a full review, instead of just skimming through and looking at the score. Maybe reviews are sometimes better without scores.
  • R_U_Guys_From_British - February 14, 2014 7:11 a.m.

    I know GR uses a score on their main reviews but I like not having a score. Too many people just hunger for a score, yet there is so much opinion behind the score that often goes ignored. Anyway, great review! I'll be playing this.
  • Willza69 - February 14, 2014 1:35 a.m.

    Top quality review Henry. summed it up nicely. keep it up.
  • GOD - February 13, 2014 10:45 p.m.

    I won't be able to play this until it comes out tomorrow, but my immediate thought is that the combat wouldn't make much sense, because when you're playing through the main game which is chronologically after this, Ellie is pretty wet behind the ears when it comes to combat, and slowly develops her skills during her time with Joel.
  • Willza69 - February 14, 2014 1:40 a.m.

    Doesn't Ellie kill her first human in thlou campaign, yet she's stabbing dudes in the back here.....
  • BladedFalcon - February 14, 2014 5:35 a.m.

    I don't think they established that she killed her first human in the campaign, just that it's the first time she's ever shot one with a gu- Actually, that wouldn't make sense because if she stabbed dudes before, shooting one with a gun shpouldn't have that much more of an impact. You're right, that part of the game doesn't make a lot of sense, have to play it to see for myself though.
  • Vonter - February 14, 2014 9:32 a.m.

    That's the problem when trying to build games around drama, translating that to gameplay can be tricky. Maybe a clocktower type of gameplay could have worked to make sense of that point, but it could have made the game less fun or enjoyable is the word, maybe engagement, not sure what to define for what the gameplay is exactly looking to get out.
  • BladedFalcon - February 14, 2014 10:35 a.m.

    Well, if Henry's post below is any indication, it seems we may have been worrying over nothing XD And actually, we should have probably have had more faith on Naughty Dog to be aware of this potential problem and adress it themselves. They have been nothing but extremely careful with the cohesiveness and plot of TloU
  • GR_HenryGilbert - February 14, 2014 10:14 a.m.

    Your concern is valid, but the game deals with that potential issue well
  • BladedFalcon - February 13, 2014 10:28 p.m.

    There we go, wimpy Henry Gilbert once again complaining about a challenging part and calling it frustrating instead of just acknowledging he probably just sucked at it... Anyway, glad to know the DLC is worthwhile (: Soon as I can find a copy to rent it, I'll give this a spin!
  • Redeater - February 14, 2014 12:08 a.m.

    It's his watermark. Seriously though @HEENNEERRRNNEEEYYYEEE, man the fuck up. How someone who's career revolves around games could be so fucking terrible at actually playing them......it's beyond me. No one says you have to be a "hardcore pro gamer" but if you aren't willing to practice until you get better, the least you can do is stop whinning about it in your articles, tweets, podcasts and, I'm assuming, anyone physically within a 20 foot radius.
  • GR_HenryGilbert - February 14, 2014 12:33 a.m.

    I would say that if I were as bad at games as you think, I wouldn't ever complete anything on standard difficulty.
  • GOD - February 14, 2014 1:47 a.m.

    But you said "slightly frustrating battle" which could only mean that you are really the one at fault! ...otherwise this is completely the wrong article for people to troll you about raging in.
  • BladedFalcon - February 14, 2014 5:30 a.m.

    Having played and completed The Last of US both in Hard and Survivor difficulty, I can say with confidence that there's never really a frustrating or "unfair" part in the game, and unless you were a moron and just spent EVERY item and ammo you had, the game makes sure you ALWAYS have the necessary to keep moving. TloU is a ton of things, but hard isn't one of them. Unless the game's mechanics and design COMPLETELY changed for this one, (and I seriously doubt it) complaining that one part is frustrating enough to take you out of the enjoyment probably means that the one at fault is the player, not the game.
  • db1331 - February 14, 2014 5:41 a.m.

    I have to agree with this. My first time through the game on normal I spent almost an hour failing at one encounter in the game. Yeah I could've mowed them all down, but I wanted to be somewhat stealthy. My second time through the game on Survivor, however, I got through the same encounter in two attempts. It's all about knowing the game mechanics.
  • BurglarSkullman - February 15, 2014 12:11 a.m.

    That's similar to how on hard, I had to retry the final boss of uncharted 2 18 times. Then, during my crushing playthrough, I beat it in one run. Hear this kids: practice makes perfect!
  • BladedFalcon - February 15, 2014 10:07 p.m.

    Played it, finished it, loved it. And yes, Henry's a wuss. Anyway, if you can accept paying 15 bucks for about 3 hours of VERY well done story telling and gameplay, and a cleverly done expansion on the mains story, I'd recommend you get on this ASAP.

Showing 21-40 of 51 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.