Google+

InFamous: Second Son review

Solid
Back to Article

76 comments

  • StrayGator - March 21, 2014 8:18 a.m.

    Can't wait to play the inevitable mashup inFaMarius: Second Son of Rome
  • cricket0 - March 20, 2014 11:09 p.m.

    Hey Cooper, there's word that there will be a free day one patch for this game that will supposedly add 5 hours of content to the game. Will you update this review afterwords to reflect upon that additional stuff, since one of your criticisms was about the length?
  • Sinsational - March 21, 2014 5:29 a.m.

    The additional 5 hours of gameplay comes from the Paper Trail DLC cited above. It seems the DLC itself will be free additional content included in the patch. You can read more and have a more concrete list of what the 1.01 patch entails here: http://www.playstationtrophies.org/news/news-12637-inFamous--Second-Son-Available-at-Midnight-on-PSN--Day-One-Patch-Adds-Extra-Content.html
  • sonofskywalker3 - March 21, 2014 9:05 a.m.

    He also doesn't mention the "Coles Legacy" DLC that any pre-order customer gets, that's another bit of extra gameplay. Picking up my copy after work today!!
  • GamesRadarCollanderCooper - March 20, 2014 7:26 p.m.

    I guess Sony's check didn't clear
  • kaijuichi - March 21, 2014 11:22 a.m.

    Sony doesn't send checks. Their games are legit.
  • Nikku7 - March 20, 2014 4:51 p.m.

    Infamous 2 has done the best job of keeping the world interesting with plenty to do so far from the looks of it. Kinda bummed to see that this one doesn't do better. The story, characters, and powers has always been what got me through an infamous game for the most part anyway though. I've never been a fan of the series's tendencies to throw in a bunch of "protect this," "fight hordes off," "chase this dude down," side missions anyway. It's a shame that they aren't any more interesting here.
  • CitizenWolfie - March 20, 2014 2:13 p.m.

    I'm definitely picking this up, been a big fan of the series since the first and I love the arcadey ridiculousness of it all. I even like the blatant good/bad divide. Let's face it, some days you want to experience grave decisions and make stark, morally grey choices and some days you just want to be a pantomime villain and blow shit up. With a series like Infamous, more of the same is a win for me
  • winner2 - March 20, 2014 1:58 p.m.

    Well, I'm just glad it isn't BAD. When I finally pick up a ps4 i'll pick this up. It should be some decent fun if there's nothing else to overshadow it at that time. Although, they seriously need to get rid of that binary karma system. Homestar99 put it best earlier on here, basically make it more like Walking Dead or Witcher 2 where you don't get to be told what's good and what's bad, you've just got to make the decision YOU think is gonna work best (or least-worst might be a better way to put it) for your goals/purposes. Also someone please pm me or something and tell me if my any of my predictions were true.
  • Divine Paladin - March 20, 2014 12:53 p.m.

    So essentially it's the usual "we had to go next gen fast so we had to cut stuff from the previous games to save time" type of exclusive a la Tools of Destruction, most early 7th gen games, and Forza 5/Shadowfall. Sort of expected, honestly; it's inevitable with a jump forward in tech. Glad to see it mostly held up outside of being a bit shallow, since it's a damn fun series.
  • thatwonkid - March 20, 2014 12:37 p.m.

    Completes the game and still forgets the main characters name. It's deLsin not deSlin. It's like when people call me me Gordan. My name is Jordan. Big dif
  • Divine Paladin - March 20, 2014 1 p.m.

    I don't see the typo. I'm assuming he fixed it by now then. Was it just one typo or every one of them? I'd find it tough to believe Coop ould get it wrong every time.
  • GR HollanderCooper - March 20, 2014 5:08 p.m.

    I didn't? Maybe I said it wrong on the video?
  • Divine Paladin - March 20, 2014 6:07 p.m.

    Maybe; I don't tend to watch the videos. Either way, it's apparently noticeable to only one person, so no big deal.
  • GOD - March 21, 2014 12:41 a.m.

    Just to clarify, at 2:24 in the video, Henry mistakenly says "Deslin" and then I think hearing that subconsciously made you say it at 3:14. Sorry but........... Cooooooorrections. Yah screwed up. Even if Henry's the one who sabotaged you.
  • Redeater - March 20, 2014 11:05 a.m.

    Clearly, you forgot to add the + for Troy Baker's handsome mug. Well, guess I'll be a little less excited when I pick this up tomorrow. Oh well, it will provide a nice break from Dark Souls 2.
  • ombranox - March 20, 2014 9:21 a.m.

    It's only as good as TitanFall? Blah.
  • LeTHaL.MiGRaiNe - March 20, 2014 10:47 a.m.

    1. the first 2 infamous games were boring... this one doesn't look any different than the last one. 2. Infamous will never be as good as Titanfall.... unless you're crazy.
  • LeTHaL.MiGRaiNe - March 20, 2014 10:50 a.m.

    looking at Metacritic, the game sites agree, Infamous isn't getting the same review scores as Titanfall, it's a bit lower.
  • Redeater - March 20, 2014 11:02 a.m.

    They're two completely different games. Who the christ cares what got higher? The only people that are going to give a shit are pea-brained console fan boys who are desperate to compare apples and oranges. (I'm pretty sure ombranox was just joking)

Showing 1-20 of 76 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 21 2014 - PS4 (US)
Available Platforms: PS4
Genre: Action
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Sucker Punch
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood, Drug Reference, Language, Sexual Themes, Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.