Google+

Heavy Rain review

Solid
Back to Article

125 comments

  • Red - February 11, 2010 2:34 a.m.

    Bummer.I'm not against nudity and sex in video games, but those shower scenes (the second one in particular) have no place in the game other than to see some skin. I'm still going to buy it, but I think after this I'm done playing games for a while. Somebody call me when game makers decide to make games that actually deliver on the promises they make.
  • snothammer - February 11, 2010 3:08 a.m.

    I'm glad you mentioned the story plot holes. I was intrigued by this game, but that pretty much kills it for me. I think I'll wait for someone to try this concept again, someone who can actually write. Or I'll rent it, lol.
  • Amnesiac - February 11, 2010 3:27 a.m.

    Ladies and gentlemen, I give you the very definition of a love-it-or-hate-it game. I liked the demo much more than I thought I would, but this game, more than any other, can't really be judged on a demo. PS. Some of the comments here make me want to shoot myself in a vital area. And I'm not just talking about Xboxrulez.
  • CatrParrot - February 11, 2010 3:43 a.m.

    I dunno, I'm kind of on the fence about this one. I'll probably rent it first. And I see people are creating accounts just so they can bitch in the comments.
  • starhaw - February 11, 2010 4:15 a.m.

    WHY IN THE WORLD DO YOU GUYS AT GR CONTINUE TO FEEL THE NEED TO COMPARE EVERY AND I MEAN EVERY GAME TO MASS EFFECT 2??????....for gods sake they are completely different and on DIFFERENT SYSTEMS....why NOT COMPARE SOMETHING THAT IS ON ONE SYSTEM TO THE SAME SYSTEM HUH??? WHY NOT COMPARE MASS EFFECT 2 TO HALO ODST OR HALO REACH WHEN IT COMES OUT AND STOP COMPARING A 360 GAME to a PS3 GAME that's like comparing a ONE REPUBLICAN PRESIDENT TO A DEMOCRATIC ONE...if your gonna compare compare to the same system...........I love the way you guys write articles and how your website is set up but i swear you can be so biased sometimes it makes me want to forget about your site completely YOU ALWAYS and I mean ALWAYS have to find something to compare to the 360....its like your doing it just to get the friggin 360 name in the article when there is no APPARENT NEED TO...why don't you leave PS3 GAMES TO COMPARE TO PS3 GAMES and 360 GAMES TO COMPARE TO 360 games...WHAT ARE YOU GUYS GOING TO DO COMPARE GOD OF WAR III TO MASS EFFECT????........I'm sure I'll see it referenced in your review for it somewhere in the GOW III review..........please GR all I'm asking is just stop being so BIASED sometimes and stop throwing in games or system's names in an article that has nothing to do with it just for the sake of doing it....its almost as if your shoving your nose up MICROSOFT'S BUTT HOLES........(I'm sorry if that's rude but here in America I am guaranteed my right to Free speech and thats exactly how I feel)
  • KREATIVEassassin - February 11, 2010 4:57 a.m.

    @starhaw: What difference does it make what system it's on? Why should you only compare PS3 games to PS3 games and not 360 ones? That doesn't make any sense.
  • flaknschrap - February 11, 2010 5:17 a.m.

    if i bought this game i would take it home p00p on it and flush it down the toilet
  • 100Proof - February 11, 2010 5:25 a.m.

    I guarantee that if Heavy Rain was made for the 360 and using that craptacular Natal thing he'd slap his momma to get first dibs at flopping around their living room to play it. It'd be ground breaking and innovating a 10 out of 10 because it's even better than Mass Effect 2 (look mom no jaggies) and it fit on 3 disks so you know it's backed by that quality Microsoft technology. COD MW2 gets a 10 out of 10 and it used the EXACT same ending as COD MW with the only difference being a knife instead of a gun. Who reviews these games here high school kids?
  • TURbo - February 11, 2010 5:35 a.m.

    That is disappointing that the plot, fell flat. Being only a PC Gamer, I thought the premise of Heavy Rain sound awesome. @starhaw You do realize that Mass Effect 2 was released January 26th, 2010, and not 5000 BCE. Also they compared it to Mass Effect 2 in the realm of story and choices, not the shooting. So what if GamesRadar is biased towards Microsoft, does it change your consumer preferences? Probably not.
  • 100Proof - February 11, 2010 5:37 a.m.

    KREATIVEassassin - What difference does it make what system it's on? Why should you only compare PS3 games to PS3 games and not 360 ones? That doesn't make any sense. ------------------------------ Untill the 360 can put out a game that can stand up to the quality of Uncharted 2 then maybe. Hey, the 360 should compare their games to Wii titles since the 360 games aren't leaps an bounds better than a Wii title.
  • TURbo - February 11, 2010 5:44 a.m.

    COD MW2 did not use the exact same ending swapped out with a knife. 1. Ending of COD 4 was on a bridge 2. Imran Zakaev was never a friend and gave you intel for missions 3. You weren't airlifted by Kamarov 4.There was more than 4 bodies present 5. It took place in a more temperate environment 6. The helicopter was a Hind and not a Black Hawk
  • Rodnroll - February 11, 2010 6 a.m.

    And now i get to know that this is critically acclaimed in the whole planet earth. Well, i guess i will decide who is right with the reviews when i play. i'll buy it, now, for some reason, y WANT it. I was a fan of Fahrenheit minus de matrix crap, so what da heck.
  • 100Proof - February 11, 2010 6:15 a.m.

    You HAVE to be kidding TURbo lol Was there a rock on his right and not his left like in the first MW? Oh so IF at the end MW3 (whenever it comes out) it's on a boat oh, oh, oh and at night oh, oh and a tank is on the deck of the boat BUT they STILL reuse the same slow-mo dramatic where you're hanging on to life but have that last little bit of strength to kill the bad guy to save the day it'd still be uber awesomeness for you? Wow, maybe you could get a job writing reviews here too.
  • smallberry - February 11, 2010 6:22 a.m.

    But is it better than Omikron?
  • Japanjack - February 11, 2010 6:26 a.m.

    Were you attempting to be ironic by saying it was "Badly Written"? Lulz
  • Whizkid103 - February 11, 2010 9:14 a.m.

    I'm not going to attack the reviewer. It's his opinion, he listed what was good and what was bad, and that's exactly what he's supposed to do. But everyone who's not buying this game because it's a 7? Really? REALLY? Because obviously anything below an 8 is bad lolamirite? Do you morons really not realize that a 7 means it's a good game, but with flaws? Sort of like..hmm..I dunno..EVERY game ever made? This is why I hate numerical review systems, because no game can ever be truly perfect. Instead you should simply list the positives and negatives instead of giving it a score. And people who are saying this isn't a "real game"...you really need a slap in the face. Because you're not a "real gamer". I don't care if you don't want to play it. That's fine. It's up to you. But saying it's not a real game? Why? Because you're not shooting things? Playing online? Really, I want to know. People seem to not realize that games are no longer about pressing the B button over and over. They're an art form. And it really makes me sick to my stomach that people are saying things like this. If you're not going to play the game, at least not play it for the right reasons. Maybe you think it looks boring. Maybe you think the writing looks bad. Maybe you think that an entire game that's basically an entire QTE is a bad idea. But don't say it's not a game.
  • JayLin22 - February 11, 2010 9:46 a.m.

    Why did they put on the same underwear after their showers? Sis!
  • Megajamz - February 11, 2010 10 a.m.

    tbh just reading around and this my be the worst review for the title its gained amazing scores everywhere else so ill deffinitely still be picking it up. especially since bayonetta was 10/10 lmfao fail
  • vogler1604 - February 11, 2010 10:54 a.m.

    I was expecting that..
  • wrapdump - February 11, 2010 12:57 p.m.

    A diamond in the rough, then. Very, very rough. I enjoyed the demo, and it's something different, so I'll certainyl pick it up at some point. Excellent review, though.

Showing 41-60 of 125 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 23 2010 - PS3 (US)
Feb 26 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Quantic Dream
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.