Google+

Heavy Rain review

Back to Article

125 comments

  • lovinmyps3 - February 12, 2010 11:53 p.m.

    My main draw to this game was to engrossed in a narrative, because the gameplay doesn't really appeal to me at all. I was going to buy this day one but I guess I'll use that money to get Aliens vs Predator and wait 'till the price drops.
  • hardcore_gamer1990 - February 12, 2010 10:32 p.m.

    This is crushing.... I really was hoping for a perfect narrative device and moving plot line, not some cliched noir flick with Heroes-esque plotholes. Not that I care about Heroes' plotholes. I'm downloading the demo now and am just aching for it to be better than the review gave the impression of. A 7/10... I still can't quite believe something this well publicised and hyped could fall to mediocrecy. No, wait, HAZE did it too. I should invest in an Xbox at this rate...
  • Canucklehead - February 12, 2010 8:10 p.m.

    You'd almost think with the reviewer's score being so far out of what appears to be the critical median on this game (and Gamesradar traditionally having scores in that median area) that a second look would be warranted. I mean I have no problem with the way the reviewer set out and made his point, but I question where the critical analysis ended and personal preference bias crept in. No, this isn't a PS3 v. Xbox360 thing its more about the genre of game. The big red flag for me is the fact that one of the negatives was "you'll hate it if you're an action junkie". Of course this game has never been, nor is it intended to be an action game, so to hold that against a game is kind of like saying Basketball junkies will hate Madden 2010. I feel that perhaps the reviewer is not a big fan of the play style and allowed some of that personal perference to seep into a critical analysis. Which is unfortunate.
  • GameDev - February 12, 2010 4:03 p.m.

    @mentalityljs I see what your saying about the review being unbiased this way. But actually thats absolutely the reason why is shouldnt be done this way. I mean do you ever think GR would get someone to review a HALO or COD title who absolutely hates FPS games? NO WAY would they do that and it just goes to prove how stupid reviews can be if done wrongly. I mean just imagine, I can see the same thing happening with FF13. If the game is reviewed by a person who hates JRPGs that game wont be getting any higher then a 5or6, it would just be impossible. The same thing happened here with HR, someone who should not have reviewed it did! Which was completely unfair to the game and its genre. Its obvious that gamers who will play this will no matter what someone says, but for the people who were in the middle these type of reviews will be putting them off even though its like 1 in a 20 - whereas all the rest are very high scores.
  • kdombaz - February 12, 2010 3:03 p.m.

    A comparison for you all. Mumber of "Perfect Marks" for titles by GR XB: 25 PS3: 13 Perfect Marks for Exlusives for each Platform XB: 10 PS3: 3 Multi-Plat titles scored Perfect on XBox but not on PS3 XB: 15 (All perfect 10) PS3: 10 (2 not reviewed, 2 scored 9, 1 scored 8) Exclusives on PS3 that could have been perfect 10 Killzone2, InFamous, Resistant1-2, Motorstorm1-2, Heavy Rain, MAG, MGS4 Multiplatforms could have scored perfect 10 on PS3 but didn't Bioshock, Orange Box, The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Titles scored perfect on XBox but not reviewed pn PS3 Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City Guitar Hero 2
  • kdombaz - February 12, 2010 11:19 a.m.

    @ xboxrulez Uh OK! I will shutty the moth. @ oryandymackie GR has to keep this trash talking crowd happy you see. That's why there will be an element of "not everybody's cup of tea" slant on it. In other words our 10-14 year old XBox crowd wouldn't have liked it anyways. After seeing MAG review, Heavy Rain review on GR I realised even more than before that GR cannot exactly go ahead give gushing reviews about PS3 games. I accept they can't do that when there is no merit for it but they will hold back when it merits. But Mass Effect 2, MW2 and any kind of Halo will get that recognition. I like reading GR but i also take their reviews with pinch of salt like I do with any other site.
  • jacob_kreed - February 12, 2010 6:03 a.m.

    7 another badly reviewed game, microsoft PR department must be getting it right. This game is better than the excellent fahrenheit. If you are unfamliar of the game its first hitchcock style of adventure game. The game deserves a 9 or 10, for some reason any game developed by Sony at the moment gets rubbish and over critical review. Download the Demo and check out a great game
  • TURbo - February 12, 2010 2:48 a.m.

    I would like a Quantic Dream game NOT written by David Cage
  • mentalityljs - February 12, 2010 1:17 a.m.

    Oh, and @ Xboxrulez You say ur 14 yrs old? And ur compairing a video game to music? At 14 you can't possibly appreciate a god damn thing about music. I'm not a Simon and Garfunkel fan, so don't think i'm just trying to defend them personally. Listen to some of their songs and at least TRY to appreciate their talents before insulting them. I was ignorant towards certain music when i was ur age, too. But then i grew up, started making music, and realized what it was to do just that. So please, grow up or shut up.
  • mentalityljs - February 12, 2010 1:06 a.m.

    WOOPS! sorry Dave. I meant Houghton, please don't kill me!
  • mentalityljs - February 12, 2010 1:05 a.m.

    @ GameDev Don't take this the wrong way, it's just my guess. But perhaps Dave Stoughton reviewed HR for the very fact that this ISN'T his first-choice kind of game. I truly want to believe that the GR staff is well rounded and not overly biased. With that said, I believe it's important for a journalist to take an opposite approach in reviewing a non-favorite. So in the end, the review ends up being NOT biased. Otherwise the game would've gotten a 10/10 just because it was favored by the reviewer. Make sense?
  • Pocotron - February 11, 2010 9:56 p.m.

    I was never interested in this game to start with. Not my type of tea, ya know what im sayin'? But I will say this might have been a bad reviewer for his wrong type of game. I figured Mikel would review this. Ha! reCaptcha is social humorist! Ha ha!
  • oryandymackie - February 11, 2010 8:55 p.m.

    100Proof? 'The quality of Uncharted'? Sure, it was a good game, but hardly revolutionary - hardly a gem that will be remembered for years to come.
  • oryandymackie - February 11, 2010 8:52 p.m.

    And kdombaz, you can't say that GR were biased in this particular review and then claim that Xbox owners are 'trash talking 10 year olds'. Besides, the story is recycled from so many cheap paperbacks.
  • oryandymackie - February 11, 2010 8:47 p.m.

    This game could have been so much better if the writers weren't obsessed with making it 'deep' (see: pretentious). I would have liked to see a completely OTT plotline - think SR2 made QTE. Plenty of action, plenty of comedy. What I don't want is an over-used, cliched, trenchcoat-clad, world-weary inspector standing out in the Heavy Rain. Think CJ Johnson. P.S, I'm an Xbox owner anyway.
  • kdombaz - February 11, 2010 5:16 p.m.

    It is becoming very clear that there is a clear division between XBOX gamers and PS3 gamers. The demographics seems different. PS3 attracts more discerning gamer and Xbox attracts trash talking 10 year olds. Of course the games and how they are received by the jounalism community reflects that division. This game is not a mature game per se it's for more mature audions.
  • mdiaz033 - February 11, 2010 5:04 p.m.

    I will say this: Some advice: everytime Gamesradar reviews a PS3 exclusive, do yourselves a favor and read other source's opinions. I LOVE GR but they are at times somewhat bias against PS3. It really is true. I'm surprised Uncharted got the score it did on this site but it proves they can appreciate fun and flawless games. Also, for this game, it would be best to remain skeptical. In other words, buy at your own risk. Everyone says this game is a 9 or 10 but GR is saying 7. Either everyone is kissing HR's ass and GR is telling the truth OR GR is being biased and HR is really a superb game.
  • JohnnyMaverik - February 11, 2010 4:44 p.m.

    @ GameDev actually he was complaining that the female shower scene was overly sexualised where as the male shower sceen wasn't, frm what I've seen I agree. Also, he complains that the story wasn't high brow enough for him, and it cheepens itself at points, aswell as potentially breaks itself. The gameplay is fine until moments when you have to hold down 4 buttons and flick an annalogue stick at the same time. Finally a 7 is probably a fair score from what I've read about the game, a few people will love it, some will like it, many will hate it. You can't give it a 10 and then say, yea, only a minority of people will actually enjoy this and out of those only a few will be blown away.
  • JohnnyMaverik - February 11, 2010 4:37 p.m.

    Oh btw, if you want an adventure game play The Longest Journey... PC exclusive, amazing, suck it. Then play Dreamfall... then go cry because the series will never be finished because MMO's = money(optional).
  • Doctalen - February 11, 2010 4:18 p.m.

    Disappointing, I had such high hopes for this game. Oh well time to move on.

Showing 41-60 of 125 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 23 2010 - PS3 (US)
Feb 26 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Quantic Dream
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.