Google+

Heavy Rain review

Solid
Back to Article

125 comments

  • John-117 - February 10, 2010 11:13 p.m.

    Bleck, I should really look over what I type more, I meant to say "I've been on a pretty big media blackout", also "an objective review". Anyways, back to studying for midterms, hopefully the comments can stay relatively civilized.
  • RebornKusabi - February 10, 2010 11:13 p.m.

    So this game might end up being one of those "Love it or Hate it" type of games where there is simply NO inbetween between the two. At the very least, that's the gist of what I got from the review. I was one of the few who loved the entire first 3/4ths of Indigo Prophecy/Fahrenheit (sp?) and promptly hated every second the final half... I'm going to give this game a chance, as I have enough patience to play an Adventure game such as this and if the game hooks me, I'll gladly sit through an hour long cutscene and be completely enthralled by it (I loved every second of MGS4, skipping none of the cutscenes and have replayed it several times to get all of the Emblems and unlockables) so I'm a be pickin' dis **** up lol
  • Joshin69 - February 10, 2010 11:15 p.m.

    OK, you can nail me for this, and no i have yet to play HR but you give it a 7 and say "three things you will hate" two of them... "It's badly written ,It feels a little smug at times" Do you play computer games?? this can be levelled at every game on the market this gen, bar none. That leaves one thing you will hate about this game and that was clearly enough for the reviewer. I love GR (UK) but sometimes i despair! You can not have two things you will hate about this game that applies to nearly every game ever made.
  • SumCallMeTalent - February 10, 2010 11:37 p.m.

    ugh this all points back to the fact that we like to play video games because they involve things you cannot do in real life....... i could sit around and talk with someone all day but i cant get a machine gun/chainsaw hybrid and cut a alien thing in half you can have great storytelling in an action game also..... Mass Effect
  • tsuanthony - February 11, 2010 12:05 a.m.

    I respect your reviews but I think your overall a bit biast and somewhat a fanboy.. sure you might accuse me of putting flame bait up right now, but giving this review a "7" doesn't help either I just think that you were a bit tooo tough on this game, and didn't give it a fair review if you look at modern warfare 2 , that game is loaded with problems, horrible story, worser then the 1st yet you gave it a "10" you need to avoid changing how you review your games and i'd appreciate it more if more then one person working in the games radar staff reviewed this, we need more secondary reviews
  • Megajamz - February 11, 2010 12:09 a.m.

    xboxrulez you are the worst troll to ever attempt to annoy a comment section. interested in heavy rain ill pick it up day 1
  • Pocotron - February 11, 2010 12:24 a.m.

    @tsuanthony Trust me, you aren't being the raving fanboy on this website... I'm looking at YOU XBOXRULEZ! FUCKIN' TROLL!
  • CH3BURASHKA - February 11, 2010 12:29 a.m.

    To fully comprehend the reasoning for the 7/10, I read the entire review, and I still think it's a load of bull. As a frequenter of this site, I would appreciate a more objective review (case-in-point: "You'll hate it if you're an action junkie"? Why the hell doesn't the review for Halo or Gears or Killzone say "You'll hate it if you're a platformer or puzzle-solving junkie"?) Many reviews are very satisfied with the game, which either suggests the internetz are wrong, or David Houghton was the inappropriate person to entrust with the review. I haven't played it, so I have only reviews and screens and videos to go off of. If I experience the same... apathecity whilst playing the game, I will write an apology. However, it seems that there's enough 'proof' that Mr. Houghton's opinion is, to put it simply, wrong. ...and yes, I know 7 is a 'good' game. I, however, am quite sure it's a great or excellent game.
  • SausageLozenge - February 11, 2010 12:44 a.m.

    Snore, I'll wait till its 20 bucks.
  • LMR13 - February 11, 2010 12:52 a.m.

    wow... what a biased review. rate it for what it is, not what u want it to be. this review fails...
  • TobiasBrucknersSon - February 11, 2010 1:01 a.m.

    It's got really good reviews. I have mine preordered and can't wait. I hope it will sell really well. It's nice to see a company take a risk on something new as opposed to making the same old thing. Hopefully people will give it a chance so we can see more different content.
  • Cyberninja - February 11, 2010 1:14 a.m.

    i will try the demo on thursday for myself and i think that since this game is diffrent than most i think aleast 4 diffrent people should have reviewed it and average out the score
  • Jose22 - February 11, 2010 1:20 a.m.

    how could you make a review if the game isn't out yet????
  • Xeacons - February 11, 2010 1:29 a.m.

    Gotta love Quantic Dream! No, scriptwriting was never one of their strong suits, but even back with Omikron, they really pioneered some of our favorite genres. I loved Indigo Prophecy, despite it's short-comings, so this one looks one worth picking up. Hell, worth picking up a PS3 for, as long as it's exclusive.
  • mEgAzD - February 11, 2010 1:33 a.m.

    For the people complaining about the score, just buy the game. I don't think a 7 really matters if you already know you wanna buy the game.
  • Rodnroll - February 11, 2010 1:33 a.m.

    The gameplay seems to be exactly like Fahrenheit. All that hype, and just a 7. Well, that's typical of overhyped titles. I will give it a try anyway.
  • anthonyjh63 - February 11, 2010 1:34 a.m.

    Any critic that makes the comparison between this game and film is an absolute moron and is doing a disservice to videogames. I mean, do you fucking consider the implications of what you're saying or do you just let it all spill out of your head? As for the game itself, I don't have an opinion. I'm quite excited for it, but going by what I experienced in the demo I'm thinking it will have a problem with bad dialogue and voice acting. We'll see, I suppose.
  • Rodnroll - February 11, 2010 1:40 a.m.

    oh, by the way, that guy Xboxrulz or whatever....is and imbecile.
  • mentalityljs - February 11, 2010 2:18 a.m.

    I gotta agree with Yeager1122. From past previews to this review, it sounds like the game was stripped of all it's potential glory just prior to it's release. So sad, it being poorly (or badly lol) written, along with all the plot gaps and cliche crap. Hopefully the immersiveness will distract from all the broken pieces.
  • mentalityljs - February 11, 2010 2:33 a.m.

    YaY, xboxrulez is back! I see that he's back to his usual shit talking and already managed to get one of his comments deleted! lol. What a d-bag!

Showing 21-40 of 125 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 23 2010 - PS3 (US)
Feb 26 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Quantic Dream
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Themes, Strong Language, Use of Drugs
PEGI Rating:
16+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.