Google+

God of War III review

Back to Article

67 comments

  • Embolado - March 9, 2010 3:15 a.m.

    Damn you David Jaffe!! No Multiplayer = Lazy POS devs Where is Twisted Metal? *smirk
  • TURbo - March 9, 2010 4:20 a.m.

    Well It's easier to give 10's on a 10 point scale, compared to a 20 point scale, 40 point scale, or a 100 point scale.
  • Karnageous - March 9, 2010 4:41 a.m.

    Oh my god, you people looked WAY too far into my comment. Stop freaking out and just calm down. I am entitled to my opinion and it looks like others agreed with me, but I wasn't bashing anyones comments on here, so grow up. I was simply saying that probably the last 5 game reviews I have seen are all 10s, and the likeliness of them all being 10s is mathematically very low. So if you want to get snippy thats fine, but actually pay attention to what I am saying. And btw the kid who said that I was "implying" that Bioshock 2 was an exclusive needs to learn how to read because all I said is that it was on 360, not an exclusive. I don't know for sure what I would rate the games, but what I am saying is that there have been alot of 10s lately, never stating whether or not it was necessarily undeserved, just unlikely. So chill out children.
  • sgloomy - March 9, 2010 7:22 a.m.

    @ mubobi7593 the 4th one is Betrayal which was a phone game and i think i read somewhere that there are references to it in this game. waiting for this game has become physically painful for me over the past week, it needs to be Monday right NOW!!!!!!
  • OmNomRomRearghNergh - March 9, 2010 9:32 a.m.

    A very big reason to get a PS3 just got much bigger.
  • lnksmartt - March 9, 2010 12:35 p.m.

    Cannot wait to get this game, I think the site scores games very hard so to me it means something when a game has a 8,9, or 10
  • crumbdunky - March 9, 2010 2:41 p.m.

    No, it does not "depend" on anything whether GOW1, 2 or 3 is better than Bayonetta because they ALL are. bayonetta's a good game but hardly worthy of such lofty comparisons in my eyes as it's the very laziest supposedly "new" IP ever made. To pretend it's anything other than DMC with breasts and a big butt/little head combo is to be in the biggest pile of denial since Moses was washed up on said river in ancient times in his lonely basket. Look, Bayonetta's a really fun romp but the story is horribly broken and you end up s=uasing the same five or six combos over and over rather than really needing or wanting the billions on offer. most importantly, though, is the fact tjhat anyone else making a game so similar to their earlier work and having the gall to make out it's a new IP would have been ha,mmered but for the media darlings over at Okami towers Platinum(who didn't even BOTHER making the PS3 version themselves) and Kamiya(who dialled in pretty much all of this from old games and mainly DMC)got off with pure praise-as ever! Anyway, that apart a great review and none of the idiotic stick for not innovating enough(seriously, there's TONS of brave new risks taken here and what idiot would mess with the basics of the best "less is more" combat ever created? You get extra points for not giving it the "masher" treatment and seemingly understanding hw GOW is truly played(and DMC and Bayonetta to be fair) and that's with thought and skill and by getting yourself tuned into the pace of the game and each battle within it. Loves me some GOW! Cannot wait for my month of juggling Kaz and Kratos. Good, good times. Lots of brawling and elegant, balletic stabby death for me! Seriously, did anyone ever try to play GOW2 through on titan by mashing buttons? Tell me what greta fun that must have been will you? To me it sounds like the most pointless race to frustration I ever heard of.
  • crumbdunky - March 9, 2010 2:45 p.m.

    @karna-I don't think the game perfect enough to be getting ten has been made, ever, and even held back, at the time from giving classics like OoT more than the 9.5 mark as I always felt that any fault made a mockery of a perfect score. Thing is GR, and other sites have painted themselves into a corner by giving out so many that scores have got redundant without ebven considering that all sites review using different scales and different amounts OF those scales. time has come for either the end of scores or to make a set media standard that we all agree is best.
  • Xplosive59 - March 9, 2010 5:36 p.m.

    if this wasnt a ps3 exclusive they would of given it an 11 stupid biased games radar only kidding
  • philipshaw - March 9, 2010 6:31 p.m.

    Was getting this game anyway but this was a great review and lets me see that my money will be well spent
  • hardcore_gamer1990 - March 9, 2010 11:46 p.m.

    @TheWebSwinger - Well duh.. Twenty-TEN :D Cheap jokes ftw. Anyway. Epic game. Epic series. Now to persuade the parents to allow me to get GOW Collection and this and I'll be very happy :)
  • GoldenMe - March 9, 2010 11:55 p.m.

    A game gets a 10 and people are freaking out/ bitching about. I wish I can go back to my Sega Genesis, where all the good video games are at.
  • Cwf2008 - March 10, 2010 5:24 a.m.

    Seems like it'd be more of a 9 game to me, but who cares 9 and 10 are still incredible scores. Anyway wish i could get this game but i got a 360...oh well someday i will play this
  • TheIronMaiden - March 10, 2010 7:45 a.m.

    this is going to seem like the longest week ever.....even worse than waiting for MW2.
  • MrWeaselTips - March 11, 2010 1:26 p.m.

    This is the turning point, I am seriously considering getting a PS3 now! Will continue to buy multi-platform games for 360 though, one step at a time!
  • crimson_soulreaper305 - March 11, 2010 10:12 p.m.

    one word...Epic.
  • jordanlacroix95 - March 12, 2010 1:30 a.m.

    so glad it got 10/10 !!!! ultimate edition on tues. !!!!!! screw ign, 9.3 / 10 ?!?! thats bullshit! it deserves a 10.
  • DeathandBlackMetal4 - March 13, 2010 7:36 p.m.

    I can't wait for this game, Its my favorite game series.
  • CLEIP - March 20, 2010 2:57 a.m.

    Ok, i played this game alot now, and it is just no way it is a 10. Definantly a 9, but 10, no way. GR has become way to geneorus with their scores lately. this game is not the first nor do i think it is the last one to get a way to high score...
  • minimaxi - March 21, 2010 11:19 a.m.

    people are right in that GR is too generous with 10's lately. If bayonetta gets a 10, this one deserves a 12. perspective of a gow fan who enjoys bayonetta and appalled by dante's inferno's purely business approach

Showing 41-60 of 67 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: SCE Santa Monica Studios
Franchise: God of War
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.