Google+

God of War III review

Back to Article

67 comments

  • crumbdunky - March 9, 2010 2:41 p.m.

    No, it does not "depend" on anything whether GOW1, 2 or 3 is better than Bayonetta because they ALL are. bayonetta's a good game but hardly worthy of such lofty comparisons in my eyes as it's the very laziest supposedly "new" IP ever made. To pretend it's anything other than DMC with breasts and a big butt/little head combo is to be in the biggest pile of denial since Moses was washed up on said river in ancient times in his lonely basket. Look, Bayonetta's a really fun romp but the story is horribly broken and you end up s=uasing the same five or six combos over and over rather than really needing or wanting the billions on offer. most importantly, though, is the fact tjhat anyone else making a game so similar to their earlier work and having the gall to make out it's a new IP would have been ha,mmered but for the media darlings over at Okami towers Platinum(who didn't even BOTHER making the PS3 version themselves) and Kamiya(who dialled in pretty much all of this from old games and mainly DMC)got off with pure praise-as ever! Anyway, that apart a great review and none of the idiotic stick for not innovating enough(seriously, there's TONS of brave new risks taken here and what idiot would mess with the basics of the best "less is more" combat ever created? You get extra points for not giving it the "masher" treatment and seemingly understanding hw GOW is truly played(and DMC and Bayonetta to be fair) and that's with thought and skill and by getting yourself tuned into the pace of the game and each battle within it. Loves me some GOW! Cannot wait for my month of juggling Kaz and Kratos. Good, good times. Lots of brawling and elegant, balletic stabby death for me! Seriously, did anyone ever try to play GOW2 through on titan by mashing buttons? Tell me what greta fun that must have been will you? To me it sounds like the most pointless race to frustration I ever heard of.
  • lnksmartt - March 9, 2010 12:35 p.m.

    Cannot wait to get this game, I think the site scores games very hard so to me it means something when a game has a 8,9, or 10
  • OmNomRomRearghNergh - March 9, 2010 9:32 a.m.

    A very big reason to get a PS3 just got much bigger.
  • sgloomy - March 9, 2010 7:22 a.m.

    @ mubobi7593 the 4th one is Betrayal which was a phone game and i think i read somewhere that there are references to it in this game. waiting for this game has become physically painful for me over the past week, it needs to be Monday right NOW!!!!!!
  • Karnageous - March 9, 2010 4:41 a.m.

    Oh my god, you people looked WAY too far into my comment. Stop freaking out and just calm down. I am entitled to my opinion and it looks like others agreed with me, but I wasn't bashing anyones comments on here, so grow up. I was simply saying that probably the last 5 game reviews I have seen are all 10s, and the likeliness of them all being 10s is mathematically very low. So if you want to get snippy thats fine, but actually pay attention to what I am saying. And btw the kid who said that I was "implying" that Bioshock 2 was an exclusive needs to learn how to read because all I said is that it was on 360, not an exclusive. I don't know for sure what I would rate the games, but what I am saying is that there have been alot of 10s lately, never stating whether or not it was necessarily undeserved, just unlikely. So chill out children.
  • TURbo - March 9, 2010 4:20 a.m.

    Well It's easier to give 10's on a 10 point scale, compared to a 20 point scale, 40 point scale, or a 100 point scale.
  • Embolado - March 9, 2010 3:15 a.m.

    Damn you David Jaffe!! No Multiplayer = Lazy POS devs Where is Twisted Metal? *smirk
  • wrapdump - March 9, 2010 12:35 a.m.

    Interesting that there aren't many calls of "OMG! A campaign that's just TEN HOURS?!", while Halo 3 and Gears 2 were both heavily derided for being the same length.
  • sleepy92ismypsn - March 9, 2010 12:19 a.m.

    visibly bare breasts you say? this games sure to be epic. a contender for game of the year and something to show off to your friends especially those with that inferior console
  • SumCallMeTalent - March 9, 2010 12:04 a.m.

    10 hours?? *sigh*
  • Cyberninja - March 8, 2010 11:56 p.m.

    @ mubobi7593 they proably included colletion for ps3 and @Karnageous bioshock 2 is also a pc and ps3 not a xbox exclusive like your impling. I most likely will get FF13 first before this because i havent played GoW 1 or 2
  • Megajamz - March 8, 2010 11:41 p.m.

    cannot wait at all had my preorder down for ages
  • ventanger - March 8, 2010 11:35 p.m.

    There's nothing wrong with assigning 10s to a few games a year. It's just logical that enough 'must have' games are going to come out to count on one hand, and in some explosive years, two hands. I think some sites have to hold back on their scores by asking "Well will it ALWAYS be this good?!" which is a stupid and unfair question to ask. Nobody is going to look back and bash a review site for thinking a game is great when it came out. recaptcha: underarm military... that perfectly describes the second-to-last picture on this review.
  • BDSLiVe - March 8, 2010 11:31 p.m.

    This game doesn't need miltiplayer!
  • ArmTheBomb - March 8, 2010 11:27 p.m.

    I would watch oout if I were you, Mr. Reparaz, you know what happens when Kratos hears about game reviewers giving his game any negative points...
  • mubobi7593 - March 8, 2010 11:13 p.m.

    Wait, 5th game in the series? GOW 1, 2, the PSP prequel... <_< Imma failure which one am I missing?
  • djsn1per - March 8, 2010 11:09 p.m.

    So great games shouldn't all be getting 10's, just some of them? Hmm...following this logic GT5 should only get a 9 since the limit of 10's will be reached by then o.O IMO this was a great review and score so I'll definitely be making this the 4th game in my PS3 collection xD
  • KREATIVEassassin - March 8, 2010 11 p.m.

    @Karnageous: What's wrong with giving out 10s? 10 doesn't necessarily mean absolute pefection, it means incredible. And it sounds like God of War 3 is just that.
  • GodofPS314 - March 8, 2010 10:38 p.m.

    Seriously Mass Effect just got the 10 because ya know it is Xbox's biggest title. Can we go back to the days when only games like this get 10? Great review
  • Karnageous - March 8, 2010 10:35 p.m.

    GamesRadar, I love your site as much as anyone, probably more as I visit EVERY DAY lol, but honestly with all of the tens? This Mass Effect 2, and Bioshock 2? You gotta calm down just throwing these 10s out there, or else they don't really mean anything. I am an Xbox guy but I am NOT a fanboy, as I just said two games for the 360 too. Just food for thought

Showing 21-40 of 67 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: SCE Santa Monica Studios
Franchise: God of War
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Nudity, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content