Google+

God of War: Ascension review

Solid
Back to Article

25 comments

  • BladedFalcon - March 7, 2013 10:20 a.m.

    Well, can't say I didn't see this coming, and can't say I really care at this point. God of War is a pretty cool series, but after 5 entires of doing pretty much the same thing, I no longer feel excited for it. And this game, while it initially promised to show you more depth into the personality of Kratos, my enthusiasm about that faded as soon as I saw the E3 Demo, showing you once again, the same old, same old. But furthermore, even if the action is still good. (which shouldn't be a surprise at all) The fact that the story is lame and nonsensical is really disappointing. As much as people love to make fun of Kratos as a character, the story in the first GoW and even in the sequel was legitimately good, specially for an action game. You KNEW why where you fighting, and what for, and most importantly, you did care. So the fact that this game didn't even try is really a step back for the series. So yeah... I dunno, but I think that unless they really try something genuinely new with the series, I'm definitely done caring at this point.
  • winner2 - March 7, 2013 10:31 a.m.

    I'm glad that the game does what I care about well. The grand scale fights and visuals, and especially the fighting itself are all I care about with this one. Puzzles and story are just distraction here, I want to fight giant beasts, titans and gods.
  • metalgatesolid - March 7, 2013 10:46 a.m.

    I love Kratos. He is a jerk and he knows it, we know it and Sony knows it. Greek Mythology has so many amazing stories and characters it makes Hideo Kojima look on in awe. Given the fact this is the sixth entry in the series over 2 consoles, i think its being a very consistant series and with averages of 4/5 across the series means its one of the best series available. As the review reads its the same formula covered with the best visuals and fans wont care. Give me kratos, some blades and things to destroy, and im there.
  • 7-D - March 7, 2013 11:34 a.m.

    Greek Mythology certainly does have a lot of interesting stories. Some peer right into the depths of the soul (and beyond). I haven't really seen GOW really take much from them though to be honest. Taking characters from mythology and turning them into steroid rippled caricatures is hardly utilizing the source material. Infact, some of the depth and range of Greek Mythology is exactly what the series would do well to incorporate into it's 'plot'. As it is, the narrative seems penned straight from the Hollywood rulebook than anything Mythical. And that's coming from a fan...
  • Ames32 - March 20, 2013 8:06 a.m.

    Thank you it really annoys me that people complain about him being a one dimensional character yet when they go out of their way to show why he became the way he was. they still complain. UGH stupid people i guess.
  • TheDudeFromNowhere - March 7, 2013 11:01 a.m.

    They really emphasized the fact that you will be experiencing a different Kratos. Its a little disappointing that the game won't be plot driven. Oh well.
  • garnsr - March 7, 2013 11:22 a.m.

    I liked the first two games, but didn't really get into 3, despite playing all the way through. Ascension looks teriffic, but when the camera pulls back in the demo, and you're a tiny little something trying to fight tiny little bug guys, and you can't see where you are or what you're doing, it felt even more button mashy than usual, and it really put me off.
  • shawksta - March 7, 2013 11:59 a.m.

    What makes Kratos the badass we know is BECAUSE of his Anger. Either seems like a good installment but not steller, the unmemorable Multiplayer seems dissapointing considering they probably decided to make this game only to have Multiplayer, regardless, looks at least worth a play
  • wadesmit - March 7, 2013 12:59 p.m.

    Not sure why, but the only GoW game I've finished was Chains of Olympus on the PSP. Got GoW 3, never finished it. Same with Ghost of Sparta. Honestly, the lore to me was purely atmospheric, and did that well, but the story was weak. And that's what bored me about this franchise. Ascension doesn't appeal to me at all, with the exception of pretty visuals. But that's a draw for pretty much every person.
  • pl4y4h - March 7, 2013 2:32 p.m.

    I really stopped paying attention to the series after 3
  • talleyXIV - March 7, 2013 6:01 p.m.

    I would imagine since there were no other games after 3...
  • pl4y4h - March 7, 2013 8:41 p.m.

    huh? This game is came out after 3, unless you're talking chronologically
  • taokaka - March 7, 2013 3:41 p.m.

    So they got rid of his anger, so is he now a totally calm dude just casually murdering hundreds without a trace of restrain. Kratos' characterisation may have been shallow but it made sense and was damn well enjoyable. The review was what I was expecting, I thought the story would be just any old thing that could bring kratos back into action and I'm dissapointed that I was right. As a fan I will be picking this up but also as a fan I'm kind of annoyed they made this, it's time for god of war to retire.
  • AKALMoumen - November 11, 2013 4:33 p.m.

    Oh come on I bet you'd feel bad if the just stopped making them... People feel bad when good games get shelved... I think the MP hindered what could been a cool look at a more human Kratos... You are right thou I got a vibe of franchise fatuige from this Santa Monica should just take a break from the game make a new IP and then come back to GOW with something fresh like Naughty Dog...
  • taokaka - November 12, 2013 2:13 a.m.

    I truly do hate when a good thing comes to an end so yes I would be sad but it's inevitable, everything must end at some point. The way I see it is they can leave their fans wanting more and have their series be remembered fondly, or they can milk the series while doing their best to please the fans but ultimately disappointing them as the series becomes a shadow of what it once was. The problem is the grass is always greener on the other side, the first group want more games to be made for their beloved franchise and the second group wish that the games made hadn't tainted their love for the series. I believe that the first option is the one that will ultimately make us the happier but we don't realise it and instead we demand the second of the two options. What we want isn't more of the game as a product we want more of the experiences that made us fall in love in the first place, but that is harder to achieve than through just refining gameplay mechanics and stuffing in a story to justify the characters redoing the things they did last time. I don't want another spectacle orientated hack and slash, I want to experience the same giddy joy I had the first time I ripped into a swarm of enemies in the original god of war. However that can't be done by just giving me another swarm of enemies to rip into I need a new way to rip into new enemies and by restricting themselves to the predetermined rules of the god of war universe when they made this action game they severely hindered their ability to do exactly that.
  • AKALMoumen - November 15, 2013 8:52 p.m.

    Very true I agree if they can't improve and maintain the sprit of the franchise it becomes hollow... And its not as easy as publishers want us to believe it is... Few games can remind you why loved them but still not feel new but be completely new... And if they can't then sadly they should just stop... Now we both know realistlclly that won't happen if it keeps selling... So if they can't or won't end it maybe they should just put it aside for a while maybe a long while and then come back... Which on a more news related note they might just be doing that... They brought back the original Co-Creator the series... he also directed God of War 2 and the screen writer who headed Battle Star Galactica... The rumor is they might be making a new Sci-Fi IP... Oh and the guy who made this one quit or got laid off... So maybe your write maybe they'll hold it off... At least we get somebody who actually worked on the 1st 2 games so that good I guess... And I completely agree with you if they can't grow just stop...
  • newgames128 - March 7, 2013 5:07 p.m.

    Geez. On one hand it sounds like the best GoW yet. On the other, it sounds like the worst. Maybe they took on too much going from just doing SP to brand new MP and 3D.
  • PatHan-bHai - March 8, 2013 10:42 a.m.

    to me, GoW is the worst game from Sony. Hate it!

Showing 1-20 of 25 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 12 2013 - PS3 (US)
Mar 15 2013 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Sony Computer Entertainment
Franchise: God of War
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Nudity, Sexual Content

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.