Google+

Final Fantasy XIV review

Troubled
Back to Article

46 comments

  • JayBeat - October 20, 2010 8:25 a.m.

    First.
  • Zepaw - October 20, 2010 8:20 a.m.

    Eyeabetes? I love you so damn hard GR.
  • CH3BURASHKA - October 20, 2010 8:10 a.m.

    I didn't have high hopes, or any at all, but SE really shat the bed on this one. Apart from Final Fantasy, they don't have much (aside from Eidos, but that's a different matter). You'd think they'd take their time with their treasured franchise.
  • Kirol - October 20, 2010 7:49 a.m.

    Hm. I'll request another review when the PS3 version comes out, when the game is actually finished. Potentially, this is just a (paid) open beta. They have plans to fix those bugs you mentioned in there, such as the auction house and interface systems, so just give it a little time before jumping on the hate wagon, ok?
  • Fusionmix - October 20, 2010 5:13 a.m.

    FF is dead, my friends.
  • thedonut - October 20, 2010 5:08 a.m.

    At least it's better than Quantom Theory.
  • Zerochantista - October 20, 2010 3:58 a.m.

    @pr0tostar thing is, the Japanese hate FFXIV too. JP news blogs have a new piece mocking the game on a daily basis.
  • slimjim441 - October 20, 2010 3:32 a.m.

    Didn't FF XIII just come out like 6 months ago? They don't even spit out shitty Sonic games that fast! By the way, it;s good to have you back, Sonic.
  • Shenlong4517 - October 20, 2010 3:06 a.m.

    Four... Ouch. To think we got masterpieces like VI-IX from this same company not too long ago. Funnily enough, there's a FFXIV ad right under this comment box. You need to get your ad priorities straightened out, GR.
  • dougtulane - October 20, 2010 2:45 a.m.

    I'm about as big an FF fanboy as you'll ever find. That being said, I'm actually glad FFIV is getting hammered. Perhaps Square will reevaluate their philosophy a bit, and put out some proper RPGs. I can count the number of Square games I've enjoyed in the last 10 years on one hand and none of them are without serious flaws (FFX, FFXII, The World Ends with You, KH 1&2) I've played many more Square games that flat out let me down. I honestly don't think anything is going to change though. Square now seems only to now how to make extremely pretty games with lousy, convoluted stories, and now it appears they can't even make the battle systems exciting. I've been off the "if it's Square I must own it" bandwagon for a good long while. One of their games will have to get excellent reviews to get a purchase from me.
  • pr0tostar - October 20, 2010 2:30 a.m.

    Alot of the bugs and incomplete things they'll patch in the coming months (I still feel they're making excuses about the PS3 ver, the mess of the PC ver is awfully coincidental.) But the underlying fact that western critics really can't expect our consumerbase to understand is that the Japanese take their MMOing balls seriously. I've spoken with many JP players from XI and they've told me that they play to be challenged, and within a community; way more than offline games. They're the kind of elitists that enjoy making the impossible possible (lookup Pandamonium Warden or Yilbegan from XI,) not the kind that just want cool armor to show off (us, WoW players.) SE's MMO team tries to add in something for everyone, but their hardcore elite players are who they strive to please. I agree with 4/10 from a western standpoint. From a JP perspective, 6/10 till they fix the elementary stuff. tl;dr, SE's not gonna tell the fanboys, but XI and XIV weren't made for them.
  • NightCrawler_358 - October 20, 2010 1:46 a.m.

    Square... come on whats happening? Every FF fan knew XIII wasn't up to par, and now this... oh how i miss X and it's predecessors.
  • Mikaro - October 20, 2010 1:29 a.m.

    Lol, I loved the opening. I could see it now. M Night Shyamlan's The Room! Anyway, I do hope the console version is better. 'Tis a shame when a company like Square puts a buggy mess out.
  • JohnDagger - October 20, 2010 1:04 a.m.

    I kinda saw this comin...too bad. I hoped I would have been proven wrong
  • n00b - October 20, 2010 12:59 a.m.

    @nomnom52 i think most final fantasy ppl had considered this on the off-shoot and looked forward to ff13verses ever since it was announced as an mmo. i know im one of them
  • Crabhand - October 20, 2010 12:55 a.m.

    @MyNameIsMyName From what people have played in the demos at E3, GDC, etc, it at least seems to be well built. It's not being overambitious like most other MMOs, the ones that attempt to change up the core mechanics. I expect it to at least play well and have a phenomenal story (Bioware writing, knawimean?) But yea, FFXIV... at least this review has some very creative metaphors.
  • bball42242442 - October 20, 2010 12:53 a.m.

    no not all of us FF fans will flip, what do you take us for? Halo fans?!
  • Rockmotron9000 - October 20, 2010 12:40 a.m.

    oof! i started following this game after a friend told me about it back in May. He has since quit playing video games completely in order to preserve his family. as a result, he no longer pays attention to the news about this game. all the negative reviews this game has gotten have actually made him feel better about having missed it. everyday i get to tell him about a new review that says this game is crap. so, in essence, thank you G-dar, for helping me help my friend preserve his family.
  • PlainLikeVanilla - October 20, 2010 12:38 a.m.

    Eyeabetes XD Maybe if they spent a little less time on the visuals the game wouldn't be terrible.
  • MyNameIsMyName - October 20, 2010 12:38 a.m.

    On an unrelated note I am officially worried about The Old Republic. It seems every MMO I hear about isn't nearly as good as Blizzard's. I never played an MMO, but ToR may be my shepard into the genre, but it seems that he genre's success is an aberration.

Showing 21-40 of 46 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Sep 22 2010 - PC (US)
Sep 22 2010 - PC (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Square Enix
Developed by: Square Enix
Franchise: Final Fantasy
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Animated Blood, Language, Suggestive Themes, Violence
PEGI Rating:
12+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.