Google+

Fat Princess review

Excellent
Shares
AT A GLANCE
  • Beautifully crisp, deceptively cute
  • Deep and rewarding gameplay
  • Against/with friends, it's a hoot
  • Not as good played alone
  • May be too cutesy for some
  • Can get a bit unfocused

This doesn’t take place in a post-apocalyptic world. There’s no brooding score. Its characters don’t chomp cigars. But dismiss it at your peril. This 32-player online game expands on the ‘capture the flag’ mode found in every multiplayer game since the introduction of broadband. But there’s an enjoyable tactical slant to it. For one thing, you can swap your character’s class on the fly by picking up different hats. Need to stop the enemy from taking over your outpost? Pick up a Ranger’s cap and ping an arrow into his soft bits. Need to fix your castle doors before the enemy gets in? Get your engineer hat on and start chopping wood.

You’ll also have to weigh up whether to apply your energies to sapping the opposing team’s defences or building up your own. Do you over-feed your imprisoned princess with cake or build a catapult and leap to your missing monarch’s rescue? It’s brilliantly addictive, rewarding stuff.

With so many tactical options and a maximum 16 players per team, it can get a bit unfocused: without a headset you’re likely to get confused. That said, we teamed up with just one mate and had a whale of a time. This is arguably Sony’s most interesting and quirky exclusive since Little Big Planet.

Aug 13, 2009

More Info

Release date: Jul 30 2009 - PS3 (US)
Jul 30 2009 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3
Genre: Strategy
Published by: SCEA
Developed by: Titan Productions
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Blood and Gore, Cartoon Violence, Lyrics
PEGI Rating:
12+

We Recommend

10 comments

  • crumbdunky - August 14, 2009 6:01 p.m.

    I was VERY sceptical about FP tbh but I played at a mates the opther day and thought it was cool as. Managed to get on a team where we knew almost everyone and after that I didn't look back! Really clever, cutesy and addictive and just the kind of little gem PSN/XBLA should serve up with more regularity and thankfully the servers seem to be managing much better than the first horror stories I'd heard as I found absolutely zero lag when we played(though we were all in the same country).
  • Ravenbom - August 15, 2009 6 p.m.

    @Littletaco - it's 15 bucks, iirc. It's honestly a little pricey, and I was pissed off because I couldn't connect at all the first weekend it was out. They mostly fixed that though.
  • PS3FANBOYKID - August 16, 2009 6:03 p.m.

    That game sucked ass. It was boring and not worth $12.
  • peace4me - August 14, 2009 1:14 a.m.

    I love this game.
  • Tasty_Pasta - August 14, 2009 2:31 a.m.

    I love Fat Princess, and it deserves a 9. Seems like such a short review, though...
  • bamb0o-stick - August 14, 2009 11:15 a.m.

    Tasty Pasta: Are you saying this article needs more cake force-fed? I've been unsure whether or not to get this. Been torn whether to pick up MvC2 or FP atm.
  • WAY2DOPE - August 14, 2009 6:22 p.m.

    I love this game but it need more maps the football mode is awesome
  • LittleTaco - August 14, 2009 8:47 p.m.

    how much does this cost? i cant check since my ps3 being fixed
  • Wizrai - August 19, 2009 4:06 a.m.

    I do like this, but needs some sort of off-line multiplayer!
  • yetipellets - August 19, 2009 7:52 p.m.

    Looks great. but i still need a headset, im so deprived. cool review, i dont think it needs to be longer. ping an arrow into his soft bits, sounds fun.

Showing 1-10 of 10 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.