Google+

Fallout: New Vegas super review

Excellent
Back to Article

90 comments

  • killerrpgfan - October 22, 2010 11:45 p.m.

    @kit07 They sponsored Quantum Theory and gave it a 4 i think.... i have never disagreed with a gamesradar review.... well maybe on Borderlands (that game is so freaking fun!)
  • killerrpgfan - October 22, 2010 11:41 p.m.

    wow... well i wasn't interested in this game until i read the review... might be stopping at gamestop tonight haha
  • shadowreaper72 - October 22, 2010 11:26 p.m.

    Didnt like fallout 3 so more than likely wont like this either.
  • OneToBoner - October 22, 2010 11:15 p.m.

    Been playing it all day and love it. I'm having a problem on the PC version where the game lags is more then 3 NPCs, including enemies, the game stutters. I hope a patch comes out soon. I agree with all the Is It Better Than's but Borderlands seems like it would be hard to compare. The only thing I find similar are the settings. Borderlands focus is on multiplayer coop and looting, while Fallout has always been a solo explore and scavenge type of game. Still, I agree with it and love every game on that list to death. Nice review, T-Nag.
  • mikeydo00 - October 22, 2010 11:15 p.m.

    Nice review would have been slightly better if it was posted the day htat game came out but oh well life still keeps goin
  • ventanger - October 22, 2010 10:59 p.m.

    I got it a few days ago and so far I'm loving it. The campanions are way more engaging and have their own quest chains, something very Bioware-y, which is great. As for the bugs, I've played for maybe 20 hours and it's crashed 3 times and I fell through the floor once. The game auto-saves whenever you're in a new area but if you're the person who thinks "OMG HOW BUGGY WTFUX GAME SUX" then really, get over it.
  • Eliath - October 22, 2010 10:55 p.m.

    Good review. Personally, the bugs have pissed me off enough to dock the score down to an 8, but it's definitely worthy of the 9. I complained about the bugs in the snow globe guide, but they are trying to patch the game quickly so there is hope. Fallout 1 and 2 as well as the old isometric Bioware games have a special place in my memory, so I can't admit to New Vegas being better. So far Fallout 3 was more engrossing for me, too. ... Hoo boy, Brett! I'm glad a games journalist finally admitted that they have no integrity and are total sellouts. I mean come on, Halo: Reach only got an 8, so Sony obviously slipped you guys some money! I bet Resistance 3 gets a 10 on GamesRadar you Sony fanboys! I only read your crap reviews because there are no other websites on the Internet that review games. ... Sorry I was listening to TalkRadar 119. Keep up the great work GR folks.
  • Memph - October 22, 2010 10:49 p.m.

    sorry but scoring any game high 'despite the bugs' is complete and total bollocks. gaming is the only medium with a strict no-returns policy where consumers end up with broken, unfinished goods and have no way to redeem their hard-earned if they feel it necessary. people really need to wise the hell up and stop paying within minute one to effectively beta-test before all the fixing and patches get rolled out. maybe then we'd have a steadier stream of quality and not have to put up with all this spinning heads, screen freezing, NPC glitching crap that absolutely does spoil the fun of any game. i'll pick this up but only when it's fixed up (and slashed in price) on steam.
  • crumbdunky - October 22, 2010 10:14 p.m.

    Who would have guessed than this years Fallout would again be under QA tested and be yet another Bethesda published/Embryo engined bug fest? Sure, Bethesda didn't make the game this time round but there's still the trademark feeling of paying full retail to do QA for FO:NV! Got to say it's madness to say this is superior to the first two games but worse than FO3, though, because that's just madness in my eyes. FO3 is the weakest to me as it lost tons of what made FO FO. The atmosphere and wit was dialled right back in an attempy to nsp[lice RPG and FPS in a game(FO3) that had(as NV does too) AWFUL first person shooting! It's crap and though VATS looks good it's so arbitrary(ignores it's own percentages when I'm playing anyway)that it regularly makes me feel like sacking the game(s). I've only played a bit of NV and admit to thinking a bit of the old wit had returned post FO3(a bit po-faced, yes? Compared to the originals for me)but that shooting and VATS just annoys me so much I can't see the game underneath that so many seem to. For me the originals are just infinitely better games with far more should and fewer broken game mechanics.Don't even let me start on the reused stuff in FO3 from Oblivion!
  • GamesRadarBrettElston - October 22, 2010 9:54 p.m.

    @kit You're right to think we're bought! I mean, the edit team WAS personally responsible for arranging advertisements and sponsorships, not a totally separate group of people with an entirely different agenda. Believe me, I've played games my entire life and hold them in high regard, but hoo boy can I be swayed into sacrificing my lifetime of genuine fandom for a one-time advertising campaign! Guess you can't trust all the other 9s out there either!
  • bron1417 - October 22, 2010 9:54 p.m.

    that's just what i was expecting this score to be. i was thinking in the 8 to 9 range but im happy with the score. i have the game and i love it so much already.
  • Apollomasque - October 22, 2010 9:37 p.m.

    How...DARE YOU say that New Vegas isn't better than Fallout 3! The story was twelve times better than the shitstain of a main campaign that Fallout 3! (Foghorn) The sheer AUDACITY to NOT give Fallout: New Vegas an automatic 10 is beyond baffling! What gives you the right to have your own opinion on something?! (Foghorn) I haven't even played through the whole game yet, but I know enough about Fallout: New Vegas to tell you that your choice as a professional games journalist is WRONG and I hope you BURN IN THE FUCKING FIRES OF HELL! (Foghorn) FALLOUT: NEW VEGAS WILL WIN GAME OF THE YEAR! IT DESERVES A TEN!!! (Foghorn)
  • kit07 - October 22, 2010 9:31 p.m.

    sorry but with the large "Sponsored Fallout New Vegas" at the top, I just can't stand by your guys' score. and i hated the bugs/glitches in FO3, so if they are here in FONV, then i won't give this game a chance till i hear that they have been patched
  • AlSwearengenHatesCocksuckers - October 22, 2010 9:16 p.m.

    @CadiedJester Ya it is WAY more open then Fallout 3. I waged a one man war against the Legion in my game. Ended up killing Cesar WAY before I was supposed to, almost as soon as I met him.
  • texasgoldrush - October 22, 2010 9:16 p.m.

    This reviewer must be smoking crack to think that New Vegas is better than Fallout 1 and 2 but WORSE than Fallout 3. Fallout New Vegas is superior to Fallout 3 in almost every way. Far better written, far more sidequests, better more balanced combat, better setting that fells liek a true Fallout sequel Yes, Fallout 3 had more "wow" factor, but Fallout New Vegas has more "substance". substance > "wow" factor
  • Redeater - October 22, 2010 9:14 p.m.

    @ MetalReborn Can you please fuck off already? It is bad enough you have to do it twice even if it by accident. Getting first isn't a challenge they post new shit every few hours.
  • Ulukai - October 22, 2010 9:09 p.m.

    Personally i dont see how New Vegas can be better than Fallout 1 and 2 but not Fallout 3. The originals still play great and i found them much better experiences. Just my personal opinion though. =) Guess i should like New Vegas then...
  • CandiedJester - October 22, 2010 9:04 p.m.

    Being a huge fan of Fallout 1 I totally and completely disagree that it's inferior to Fallout 3. New Vegas brings back way more of the old fallout feel especially by bringing back more of the old factions and organizations and nodding to the old games quite a bit, the story has way more options, and it's way more fun, and way more funny. You have almost no choice in Fallout 3, you can try to take the evil route or whatever, but good luck. The only real choice you had was to commit suicide or send in that lady from the bos. Wooptie doo. In this one you can basically take any route you want, because no one is all evil or all good. With the exception of possibly the Legion. Also the tone is where it should be, Capital wasteland was a cold and dreary place, New Vegas is warmer and much more alive. I could go on forever with reasons why New Vegas is absolutely superior to 3, but I won't. Just trust me, it is absolutely and positively a million times better.
  • garnsr - October 22, 2010 9:02 p.m.

    I played the GoTY version of Fallout 3, a year after the game came out, and the bugs in that bothered me less because I was playing an older game, I think, than they would have if I'd played it new. I don't think I really want more Fallout that much, maybe when the GoTY comes of this I'll get it, too.
  • CandiedJester - October 22, 2010 8:55 p.m.

    Yayyy. I notice pretty much the only thing negative are technical difficulties. Personally, I wouldn't dock points on a game for something like that. It's not like they intended it to be buggy. I would judge a game for content only. I would have given it a 10/10 so far. It's farrrr superior to Fallout 3. I love this game, love love love love love love love love it.

Showing 61-80 of 90 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Bethesda
Developed by: Obsidian
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Use of Drugs, Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.