Google+

Dynasty Warriors 7 review

Back to Article

39 comments

  • Rockman - April 6, 2011 10:06 p.m.

    I will not even begin to speak for other people as that will be impossible, so I will explain why I enjoy the games. Firstly, I enjoy the gameplay, dated though it may be. It's pretty awesome to take out a crowd of 30 or more soldiers with a combo string ending in a screen clearing musou attack. Secondly, the story is epic. Considering the source material, this makes sense. Thirdly, while there may not be much to set them apart, each new game will bring SOMETHING to the table. Dynasty Warriors began as a 1-on-1 fighting game, which tried to emphasize strategy over button mashing. When DW2 was released, it took on its hack-and-slash style we know today, DW3 added multiplayer cooperative play, DW4 added create-a-character, DW5 retained the Stronghold feature from DW4: Empires, DW6 brought in swimming/climbing, as well as trying the Renbu system, and DW7 tries out weapons switching and bridging story lines. On top of this is the ever expanding character list which is always welcome. If DW8 comes out, I'll be the first to pick it up. tl;dr - Fun gameplay, epic story, and while the games are similar, each release tries to add something to the formula. Just my two cents.
  • ChickenFillet5140 - April 6, 2011 9:33 p.m.

    All my closest friends are DW super-fans and they all buy every single one of these games day of release. I just don't get it.
  • Kudoshinichi - April 6, 2011 9:18 p.m.

    I'm not surprised this got a 4, given the track record on the previous reviews for this series at a slew of other websites. I love the Samurai Warriors series, and Dynasty Warriors is what got me interested in Asian history games (and introduced me to the wonderful company that is Koei). As has already been stated, it's sad to see this get such a disappointing review when things like CoD get 10's across the board. In any case, I, for one am excited to pick it up because I strayed as far away from 6 as possible and this looks like a major improvement.
  • RamenChimera - April 6, 2011 8:46 p.m.

    If there is a Dynast Warriors 8, somebodies getting punched.. in the neck. Honestly how do they make enough money to keep making these?!
  • jameshalsey - April 6, 2011 8:28 p.m.

    You may say 4, but what I see is 40! YEAH!!! I'll leave.
  • FoxdenRacing - April 6, 2011 8:21 p.m.

    @bball: Story and characters? Nah. But a new mechanic or two wouldn't kill them, and trying to get a better balance between historically dubious [it's heavily romanticized] and romanticized fantasy I'd greatly appreciate. What would get me to buy #8? A good character editor. The 'Empires' risk-like mode. A return to a broad variety of weapons of the earlier games [5 and back]. Some form of strategy to the battles [5 Empires' supply lines, for example]...when a Guilty Gear spinoff does what your series is known for, but better, it's time to be introspective. Better hit detection, less budget to particle effects and more to the character models. Tune the basic mechanics so that mind-numbing repetitive becomes mindless fun. Possibly an 'alternate history' mode where players can tell their own stories with their own create-a-characters. Cinematics beyond the same 5 famous scenes from the books, or some way to get to know the diverse and interesting cast better than 'that overpowered dude I need to run away from' and 'the funny-looking fat guy'. There's plenty they can do to add to it without giving up the core...and I hope they do.
  • FoxdenRacing - April 6, 2011 8:04 p.m.

    It's a shame watching the series decline...when it was on top of its game, it was one of the finest hack'n'slashers available, in an industry that has largely forgotten about them. Sadly, in an attempt to keep themselves fresh they've dropped a couple turds in our laps. The 'Empires' spin-off series...mixing mash-happy battles with actual strategy [supply chains, kingdom management, etc] was a welcome addition. Halberd Warriors 6: Hooray for Halberds did its hardest to kill what little reason there was to play more than 2 characters, though...swapping out the unique and interesting weapons for most of the cast [there were a few repeats, but with a 50+ strong roster, there's bound to be weapons that feel similar] for halberds, halberds, a longsword, more halberds, and just for variety, a halberd. Closer to historically accurate? Sure. But the mix of fantasy and history has always been a draw, all the way back to the novels. Hopefully #8 breathes some life back into it by bringing something to the table.
  • bball42242442 - April 6, 2011 8:03 p.m.

    @sideofbeef There are a ton of changes, what do they expect them to totally switch the story and characters? it's based on history. I don't get it seriously, Call of Duty barely changes at all and it gets 10's every year, and a new DW comes out and you look at it and say oh that's the same game, it's horrible.
  • SideOfBeef - April 6, 2011 7:48 p.m.

    For the next game, I'd suggest just linking to this review. If they're not making any changes, why should the media?
  • bball42242442 - April 6, 2011 7:30 p.m.

    @Japanjack I know they didn't play this game on Chaos, or even Hard. Because if you get caught up in one musuo, you're dead. And to say the graphics are horrible on this game is a major lie, compare to DW6 and they are phenomenal, they have hundreds of people on screen at once and what do you expect, Final Fantasy graphics? IDK about the 360 but they look good to me on my PS3.
  • bball42242442 - April 6, 2011 7:24 p.m.

    It is nothing like DW6, if you actually played them for more than 5 minutes you would know. DW6 was crap and all DW fans will kind of admit it, 7 it nowhere near as repetitive as 6 and has brought a ton of new features and upgraded everything. So no it's not the same game. That's why you go to Destructiod for DW reviews because it's an actual fan reviewing not somebody who can give all Call of Duty's which have no changes a 10 and all DW the same exact short crap review.
  • Japanjack - April 6, 2011 7:14 p.m.

    Not like I suggest this game to newcomers, but I think it's fine for those who do enjoy hack and slash games.
  • Japanjack - April 6, 2011 7:13 p.m.

    @kjdubz22 They are usually at the top of sales for a bit in Japan whenever they release, and they sell pretty well everywhere else. I agree that there are hardly any changes, that is why I didn't play 4-6 (including all their spinoffs). I enjoy Asian history; the Warring States Period is the most dramatized era in Chinese history for no other reason than it's awesome.
  • Japanjack - April 6, 2011 7:10 p.m.

    No worse than those who buy ANY sports game each year... People need to understand that the Musou series definitely has a niche market anywhere besides Asia. I liked 2 and 3 when I was younger, haven't bought one since, but I do plan to buy 7. I also enjoy Sengoku Basara quite a bit, I don't see what people have against it... Too many people complain about how easy it is, turn up the difficulty then, reviewers are known to love the easiest difficulty usually; try something a bit more challenging for once. I promise you that Hard mode on Dynasty Warriors Gundam 2 is in fact quite hard.
  • kjdubz22 - April 6, 2011 7:09 p.m.

    @sinwar I understand that I guess a better way to put what I was saying is that the fan base must be bigger than I realize and these games must be making money, because I don't know anyone who plays them
  • deadpool125 - April 6, 2011 6:58 p.m.

    I had a huge argument with my friend about DW. I said it hasn't innovated since it began, with the parameters that story, characters, and new combos don't count. He said it has innovated, and I just accepted that he is daft.
  • luckyseven - April 6, 2011 6:56 p.m.

    WHO exactly keeps buying these?!! They have absolutely no reason to exist
  • sinwar - April 6, 2011 6:44 p.m.

    @kjdubz22 people still buy them and the games are still made because they are awesome and people like them. It's like asking why people buy a new call of duty ever year even though it's just basically a reskin with minor tweaks. cause people love the game
  • kjdubz22 - April 6, 2011 6:27 p.m.

    It's crazy how review scores really don't matter too much with Dynasty Warrior games, because the people who love them will buy them, and the rest of us are still confused why they're still being made.

Showing 21-39 of 39 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 29 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Apr 08 2011 - Xbox 360, PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Published by: Tecmo
Developed by: Omega Force
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Alcohol Reference, Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes, Mild Language
PEGI Rating:
16+