Google+

Dragon Age II review

Great
Back to Article

53 comments

  • EwoksTasteLikeChicken - March 16, 2011 12:28 a.m.

    I'm almost finished with the first Dragon Age, and when I'm done, I'll be sure to pick up this game. To be honest, I'm glad if the combat is faster and easier. Some of the bosses in number one are unbelievably hard, and I'm getting tired of just watching my guy attack an enemy with me doing nothing.
  • hatebreeder - March 16, 2011 12:27 a.m.

    personally I think DA2 is miles better than the Origins and Awakenings. The bland graphics, tasteless GUI, Boring side quests, mute main character *this always bugs me* and sometimes uninteresting locations are all changed for the better in this second proper installment. Don't get me wrong, I fuckin' loved DA:Origins and Awakenings, but theres only a few ways they could have went to further the game and it's mechanics and I think they really went the right way about it. The fact that the main character has a voice and a personality I think makes for a much more compelling story, I think its safe to say that most of us have given up on that whole "the main character is you!" shtick that games are so found of when they can't be arsed making a formidable leading man/woman for the game to get behind. I think in terms of sequels, this is one of the biggest improvements on an already great game i've ever seen.
  • Bobbety - March 16, 2011 12:25 a.m.

    I was thinking about picking this up for PC after realizing the PS3 version was so much clunkier than on PC, but it looks like I'll be buying the console version again this time.
  • ManlyPanda98 - March 16, 2011 12:22 a.m.

    I just finished DA2 and I think that, while it was different from the original Dragon Age, it has been one of my favorite games this year. My only complaints would be how every fight you have to fight three to four waves of enemies and that they reuse the same environments over the course of the game.
  • NotBraze - March 16, 2011 12:12 a.m.

    I haven't finished it yet, but I'm really liking it so far. To be honest, a lot of the more "Hardcore RPG" elements presented in the first game sucked me out of the story a little more. I hated that the difficulty was so obnoxiously hard in the first game and that I just had to grind through the same areas over and over again, I dreaded early conversations with companion characters because I felt like I listening to an encyclopedia of the world rather than having meaningful dialogue with a human (or elf, or dwarf, or golem) character, and I didn't like the fact that the combat system was more about setting up the moves and watching it play out than about actually engaging in fierce brutal combat. Granted this game is too easy at times, there's a lot of repeated locations, and you could say it's just Mass Effect with swords and Dragons, but I think in many ways the changes are improvements. It has a much more distinct and striking art style, the writing is loads better, the combat, while button-mashy, feels more intense and fun, and it over all just feels a lot more grand and epic than the first. Yes, there's definitely still room for improvement, and I think adding back in some of the more "hardcore RPG" elements while still retaining the same epic style that this has would be a good move, but I think overall this is a step in the right direction.
  • Hullonotna - March 16, 2011 midnight

    That was a short review. Very short. Also I am glad the lvl of difficulty was less this time around. In DA:O it was unbelievable. Characters died after 6 or 7 hits and that is on the easier difficulties.
  • mockraven - March 15, 2011 11:58 p.m.

    I loved the narrative style and how everything unfolded towards the end. It made up the simpler and easier combat system for me. Of course the "normal" mode of the game played like easy/casual in Origins and the combat itself was basically hitting 'R' on the PC then waiting for stuff to die which was a bit boring, even with the action-styled animation. Also, I agree that the areas were rather linear and felt constraint to me. The reusing of the dungeon maps wasn't too bad although re-skinning them would have helped give the feel of variety. Voice acting was great, though, the hands on the models were a little gross, but the animation in the cut scenes were improved over Origins. I'm liking it a lot so far... so long as I don't try to think of it as the classic RPG that I grew up to and loved.
  • LSZ - March 15, 2011 11:56 p.m.

    There is no sense of immersion in this world. I take out gangs of attackers using massive fireballs and chain lighting and then a second later I have a templar passing me by and saying something along the lines of "oh hello, have a pleasant day. Good thing you're not a mage so I don't have to arrest you!". Seriously? How about the giant magical staff I have on my back? Or the mage robes? I'm shooting giant firey meteors out of my ass and no one seems to notice! Everything about this game screamed "lazy" to me. It was a rushed game shoveled out to make a quick buck. Didn't expect that from Bioware. The Witcher 2 is the medieval RPG that people should be looking forward to.
  • Brutalicus - March 15, 2011 11:53 p.m.

    Not that I see any hate here. Just reflecting on the past week of Internet-going. Must be tough to review a game where reactions are so polarized!
  • garnsr - March 15, 2011 11:52 p.m.

    I tried the demo and I don't think it's quite what I'm looking for. It seemed like a lot of mashing X, then run a little while to the next mass of enemies to mash X some more.
  • Brutalicus - March 15, 2011 11:45 p.m.

    Game is fucking amazing. I can't believe the hate it's getting.
  • Nodoudt - March 15, 2011 11:43 p.m.

    No Super Review? Well, colour me surprised! Still I think I'll pick this up, because it's like a real time KoTOR...I think... Oh well, at least it's not better than Halo Rea-*shot*
  • lilbuddha - March 15, 2011 11:41 p.m.

    So they basically turn the combat of the game into something COMPLETELY DIFFERENT, they claim(ed) months ago that DA2 wouldn't be "dumbed down" like ME2 was, and ... THIS is what we get.

Showing 41-53 of 53 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 08 2011 - PS3, PC, Xbox 360 (US)
Mar 11 2011 - PS3, PC, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: BioWare
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Language, Violence, Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.