Google+

Dragon Age II review

Great
Back to Article

53 comments

  • DeliciousPie - July 8, 2011 1:09 p.m.

    You can turn off the button-mashing in the Game Options menu.
  • Cloudlv6 - May 5, 2011 6:36 p.m.

    The Mashy combat system makes sense if they were going for a Mass Effect feel how do you emulate gunfire with swords and shield exactly like they did. If you think about it gunfire is button mashy combat too lol.
  • babyhenchy1 - March 24, 2011 10:56 p.m.

    After completing it, I have to say that while this game has some inexcusable flaws and is not as good as Origins, the story in this game IMO blows Origins away. And I loved the story in Origins. The conflict is grayer, the characters more interesting, Kirkwall (despite getting a little repetitive) feels real, and even the kind of annoying cliffhanger has gotten me excited for DAIII. Just fix some of the flaws BioWare and it will still be a Day 1 buy for me.
  • FVDub - March 19, 2011 8:01 a.m.

    It's nice to see not all the GR readers are raging on this game like the rest of the gaming community. The game has faults, especially the lack of environments, but the gameplay is more enjoyable on consoles than DA:O ever was and the characters are great.
  • publicanemone - March 19, 2011 7:38 a.m.

    I really don't get how you're faulting the game for having an "easier difficulty level" when you can adjust the difficulty at any time. I found normal to be a breeze all the way through but hard presents a good, interesting challenge IMO.
  • mockraven - March 17, 2011 4:45 a.m.

    I posted earlier, but now I've beaten the game. Still liking it a lot, even with its short-comings, and plan on playing through again to see if how you treat your companions affect the main storyline much or if some of the main story was just hard scripted to go certain ways no matter what you do. One thing that irks me, though, is what the point was in carrying over your DA:Origins save. The only benefit I saw was cameo appearances, otherwise it didn't seem to do anything for the main storyline or anything else for that matter. That somewhat disappointed me.
  • texasgoldrush - March 17, 2011 4:34 a.m.

    @ TriforcePlayer Hell, no. By making Hawke silent, you would kill much of the emotion and the personality the game had. In fact with a silent protagonist, the big sad even in Act II would fall flat. The story's ending was great..not every story has a happy ending. This game story is more of a tragedy than an epic hero tale. This is by far bioware's darkest work. Your companions can even be as big of "villians" as the antgonists are.
  • farsided - March 17, 2011 2:05 a.m.

    just picked this up and it's absolutely incredible. 9/10 easy.
  • revsears - March 17, 2011 12:03 a.m.

    Played more last night... and this is fable II.5 isn't it? I never played fable III because of how much i hated fable II, but that's what this game reminds me off. It's fable II with better graphics, and boss fights. It's certainly better than fable II but if not for some text here and there it wouldn't feel connected at all to DA 1.
  • Yeager1122 - March 16, 2011 11:56 p.m.

    I just started playing the first one and am loving it so dont know about this one now.
  • OrionOnyx - March 16, 2011 9:08 p.m.

    They aren't giving this game enough credit. I spent almost 20 hours on my first playthrough and it was fun all the way through! The combat is ALOT better than Dragon Age: Origins, so I don't know why people are complaining about the combat being dumbed down. Sure, it HAS turned into somewhat of a button masher, but it is a helluva lot better than the first combat system! This game deserves at least a 9 or a 10.
  • Cleanser247 - March 16, 2011 8:26 p.m.

    I personally can't wait for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. I'm sure it will score high, and possibly be game of the year no doubt. I've tried out Dragon Age: Orgins, and I enjoyed it a little bit, but I still would rather play The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion : ) Great review Eric!
  • TriforcePlayer - March 16, 2011 8:09 p.m.

    I like DA 2 a little bit more than Origins but I hope they combine the faster combat and menu upgrades with the more open and adventurous Origins if they make another one. I wish they'd have kept Hawke silent and given us more chat options than taking from Mass. I hated the story ended too. Varric and that Seeker were annoying.
  • freakyfro99 - March 16, 2011 7:10 p.m.

    The story really isn't as great as you say in here. It just kind... ends. I thought I was at the halfway point, or maybe 3/4 point, when the game ended. It just didn't have that grand end-of-game feeling to it. The UI pissed me off too. It was definitely geared towards a more console audience than PC.
  • OHMYGODIMONFIRE - March 16, 2011 6:13 p.m.

    I actually think I may prefer this to the first one. The thing is, I know the combat system in the first one was definitely more tactical, but I was never a fan of the "click attack and they keep attacking until you tell them to use an ability" style of combat. I always preferred it when it was more beat-em-up style. I guess the only combat I can really compare what I perceived it to be in the review to is kind of like fable 2, but with more abilities? Please clarify if you could.
  • LSZ - March 16, 2011 5:48 p.m.

    The difference between this and Mass Effect 2 is that the streamlining in Mass Effect was needed and worked great. I didn't see a need to change DAO (a fantastic game). Also, if some of the changes didn't work, at least Mass Effect had a an epic story and great characters to fall back on. With Dragon Age, a medieval RPG setting isn't exactly anything unique in gaming these days. With DA2, I liked Merrill and Varric and everyone else was very forgettable.
  • presc1ence - March 16, 2011 5:42 p.m.

    Had started to get bit interested in this one , but one sentence kills it for me. Its like ME2, the most un rpg , rpg i have ever played.
  • GamesRadarMatthewKeast - March 16, 2011 5:38 p.m.

    We received review code on the day that the game came out, instead of early as we might expect, so it was impossible to post the review on release day.
  • babyhenchy1 - March 16, 2011 5:15 p.m.

    @Clovin64 I agree with the dungeons being inexcusable. The story on the other hand was brilliant I thought. When it comes to delivering gray morality, Dragon Age II is about as good as it gets.
  • Clovin64 - March 16, 2011 4:08 p.m.

    I beat this game a few days ago, and I quite liked it. The combat felt much better suited to consoles than Origins, and I love how much Hawke is an improvement over your blank-slate Warden in Origins. Storyline, on the other hand, is a big let down and revisiting the exact same dungeons 8 or 9 times is unforgiveable.

Showing 1-20 of 53 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Mar 08 2011 - PS3, PC, Xbox 360 (US)
Mar 11 2011 - PS3, PC, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, PC, Xbox 360
Genre: Role Playing
Published by: Electronic Arts
Developed by: BioWare
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Language, Violence, Sexual Content
PEGI Rating:
18+

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.