Google+

Donkey Kong Country Returns review

Back to Article

62 comments

  • EricGirasole - November 20, 2010 9:18 a.m.

    I've been waiting for the new Donkey Kong since I was 5 Lol but never the less this look's Really Good that Dinosaur-esque level was Incredible and the picture with the Train on the tracks by the Mole Is graphically one of the best sight's I have seen in Gaming BUT the game ISNT that Hard. AND I dont know how it rank's higher than SM Wii becuase ... Donkey Kong is a game that can only really be enjoyed Once , Whereas returning backfor Mario was meaningful as to get all the star coins ( I currently have 4-5 World Nine levels) and SM wii WAS designed for Co-Op play and ... quite frankly I've never played a game with better Co-Op but ewnough on that.... Epic Yarn.... meh never had much time for it I guess butI'm sure We'll have plent of Kong on the 3DS
  • IfMikelReparazAndChrisAntistaHadAChildItWouldBeAGreatPizzaCritic - November 20, 2010 9:04 a.m.

    The new video player's great, give Joe (I'm pretty sure he was working on it) a hug for me.
  • Krhyme - November 20, 2010 8:17 a.m.

    I will definately pick this up before xmas even though I hardly play the wii. Donky Kong Country was some of my fave memories of childhood video games, especially at xmas time so for the nostalgia alone, it's worth it.
  • Hotdiddykong - November 20, 2010 7:35 a.m.

    Forget my last comment, I understand the stances of this, This games gonna be awesome! I cant wait to get it :3
  • Hotdiddykong - November 20, 2010 7:32 a.m.

    Im sorry but an 8? Im gonna be finding myself enjoying this more than Epic yarn because its crazy so this game gets a 9 in my book, but Im gonna have to play it first, still, this shouldve gotten a 9. Seriously Though: "Countless unfair deaths" Retro Studios wasnt gonna make it easy and the original DKC games has Unfair deaths
  • Thuperman - November 20, 2010 4:28 a.m.

    I thought this review was good, the cheap deaths will make me angry but ill probably love this game anways. Also i noticed you only mentioned music from the first DKC being in there, does that mean there aren any tracks from DKC2?
  • Redeater - November 19, 2010 11:36 p.m.

    @GamesRadarBrettElston I wouldn't take to many of the comments on here to personaly. I don't think half of the people even read the review let alone understand the difference between a hard game and a cheap death. I'm looking in your direction Sonic 4....
  • GamesRadarBrettElston - November 19, 2010 11:32 p.m.

    Hey, if you're all content with shaking the remote every four seconds and playing the same level over and over because you weren't properly warned, add a point. Otherwise, it's going to annoy the crap out of you. And I never considered DKC 1 2 or 3 hard at all. The first one especially is easy to go through without dying. And again, why so worried about an 8? Did you miss the whole first page where I say how awesome the majority of the game is?
  • Redeater - November 19, 2010 11:28 p.m.

    As someone who last year 101, 102 and 103% the 3 original countries...this review makes me kind of sad. I was really looking forward to this game but being forced to waggle isn't exactly my idea of fun.
  • JSRF - November 19, 2010 10:41 p.m.

    YES! YOU GUYS FINALLY UPGRADED YOUR VIDEO PLAYER SO IT WORKS! VICTORY!
  • razorwiretensho - November 19, 2010 10:35 p.m.

    I used to have that promo, and I watched it all the time... Never realized that it would be something to remember later! O.o
  • skylerthomson - November 19, 2010 10:34 p.m.

    naw its hard because you didn't play the originals and you're not up to the task. every other review seems to think the difficulty is awesome and fun. still surprised you didn't like it all that much. They put the superguide in there just for you:)
  • elpurplemonkey - November 19, 2010 10:05 p.m.

    A lot more GR hate in the comments than I would have expected. I mean, the review seems fair to me. A difficult game is fine as long as it's not unfair. It's Brett's opinion that the level design is often unfair, other people may not take it that way, I don't know what everyone's problem is. More concerning are the controls- why can't I just play with a Gamecube or Classic controller? I'm sure I'll get used to it eventually. Good review, can't wait to play this one.
  • GamesRadarBrettElston - November 19, 2010 9:58 p.m.

    It's not hard because it's hard, it's hard because several levels are intensely unfair and misleading. I finished Mega Man 9 and 10 and, while insanely tough, I knew what I was supposed to be doing and I knew when I died it was my fault. Here, it could be because the waggle acted up or the level just suddenly throws some unpredictable, impossible to decipher situation that demands you die. And I said I prefer this to the training wheels, too-easy New SMBWii. I love it when a 2D game doesn't shy away from being a hardass, but IMO DKCR routinely goes about it the wrong way. Also has the whole world lost its mind? 8 is a great score. It even says "great" next to the damn number. Despite my occasional concerns with certain levels, overall it's a wonderful 2D throwback.
  • CandiedJester - November 19, 2010 9:31 p.m.

    Difficulty is not a valid reason to deduct points form a game. What happened to games being difficult regularly? Games are way too easy nowadays. I prefer a challenge. I would say the difficulty should gain the game points not the other way around. Because difficult is how it should be.
  • ihopethisisnotantistasblood - November 19, 2010 9:26 p.m.

    can't wait to listen to talkradar and hear bret yell and complain about the game
  • skylerthomson - November 19, 2010 9:18 p.m.

    Games Radar how u fail me. Destructoids review >>>>>>>> yours.
  • y2kpikachu12 - November 19, 2010 9:09 p.m.

    I READ THE HELL OUT OF IT!
  • rafa_slash - November 19, 2010 8:47 p.m.

    I politely dissagree, but I havent played the game yet, so my opinion doesnt matter.
  • batmanboy11 - November 19, 2010 8:29 p.m.

    Cool. I need to check this out come Sunday.

Showing 21-40 of 62 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Nov 21 2010 - Wii (US)
Available Platforms: Wii
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Retro Studios
ESRB Rating:
Everyone: Mild Cartoon Violence

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.