Google+

We Recommend By ZergNet

102 comments

  • Evanesco - September 13, 2014 1:57 p.m.

    Never visiting this site again. This is the most fanboy review I've ever read. You should be ashamed of yourself.
  • Shigeruken - 20 hours, 10 minutes ago

    Good riddance.
  • angelo-cornelius - September 13, 2014 6:01 a.m.

    I found a review that is pretty spot on (while you're waiting for gamesradar) check it out and let me hear your thoughts. This guy is always pretty spot on with his reviews (especially his Sims 4 review) so I agreed with everything he had to say! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xNKcJR_E5Hc
  • matthew-mchone - September 12, 2014 8:16 p.m.

    I really want to keep up with this review and I hate to complain, especially since Gamesradar is my go to gaming site and the only one I visit regularly BUT it's getting hard to try and keep up with this review, especially on mobile, due to the "slideshow" formatting. I may be missing something but I really wish there was an option to skip to a particular day's entry as opposed to trying to slide though 15 or so slides, to reach the 4th entry. I'll stop whining/ranting now, but still, something to possibly consider for any future articles like this.
  • geekboy78 - September 12, 2014 5:40 a.m.

    glad to finally read something with some positivity about this game - seems there are some real contrary people out there who have been waiting to call this game a pup before giving it a chance. but.... the crucible. where is this vanilla option? everyone else is saying that the crusible gets rid of level advantages, and it even says so on the crucible description of control, for example, but i still seemed to get my ass handed to me in games where i come up against level 20+ people but hold my own agains those with the same-ish level. and only playing people within about 5 levels? i wish! my level 7 warlock was in with no chance in some games and kicked the proverbial in others. the big boys did it and ran away.
  • GR_DavidHoughton - September 12, 2014 5:52 a.m.

    The alt. Crucible match appeared on the left of the map for me. Might be progress-locked though. I'm still working out how the normal Crucible deals with level-disparity. Current theory is that weapon and gear /properties/ stay, but damage is balanced out a bit. I will investigate more over the weekend and report back.
  • geekboy78 - September 12, 2014 5:55 a.m.

    thankingyou it appears it is my destiny to be in love with but slightly confused by this game.
  • GR_DavidHoughton - September 12, 2014 6:06 a.m.

    That's the way up until about level 16. Stick with it, trust that it knows what it's doing and will tell you eventually, and when you hit 20 it will all make sense. And blow your mind.
  • GOD - September 12, 2014 3:19 a.m.

    Have not seen any of the 6 player raids you mentioned. I'm currently at level 22. The story was very short I feel, in terms of the actual missions given. This is made worse by it constantly sending me into the same three strike missions over and over when in the strike playlist. The gameplay is fun, but once you're level 20 it seems like the strike playlist is the only non multiplayer thing to do, yet it's the same three strike missions. Also these strike missions are just reused ones from the story with the difficulty raised. So why aren't the several other strike missions from the story in this playlist as well? Like I said I like the gameplay, but I can see these same three already getting repetitive. Also, although I don't feel like I'm grinding to get gear or gain levels at this point (really enjoying my second subclass), I do feel like I'm grinding to level my actual weapons. Armor levels extremely fast. Weapons at rare difficulty seem to take forever to level and I'm still not sure what causes them to level. A normal rare gun will be used constantly because you have the most ammo for it, and even then takes a pretty long amount of time, but I suppose it's reasonable. A special or heavy rare gun though, takes far too long to upgrade. I can't even reach the FIRST upgrade level on a rare RPG that I've used in strike after strike after strike. Story, good, but will be finished very fast. Gameplay, really fun and probably the highest point of the game, which is the most important. Leveling, doesn't feel like a grind as even after "cap" you still unlock new abilities for a long time, but leveling better weapons is very grindy. Post-game, fun even though you're replaying past areas, but currently there is very little mission variety despite the story having a wealth for them to choose from to mix into post game. Multiplayer, fun but discovering how the weapon balance works there is a little tricky. Usually you want highest impact, but on say an auto rifle, rate of fire is actual more important. It's weird. With so many different weapons, and variants on those, it's hard to tell what's actually good in PvP.
  • hester2 - September 12, 2014 7:44 a.m.

    I think the first raid is being released next week.
  • kijib-kijin - September 11, 2014 3:28 p.m.

    spoiler: it flopped
  • talleyXIV - September 11, 2014 10:50 a.m.

    8.5/10 I love PVP, Capture is a ridiculously fun game mode and everything feels very balanced. Shooting is incredibly satisfying. The story on the other hand is okay. Pretty generic, the missions are fun with friends but it hasn't been my favorite part.
  • Spartan_91 - September 10, 2014 8:42 p.m.

    Pretty good review thus far. The only thing i'll say was wrong was about the big guy under the moon. I was in a party that was doing well, i was lvl 12 warlock, i had a lvl 13 warlock and a lvl 14 titan as team mates, we got him down to about 1/4 life left and we all died. We then had to restart and my teammates abandoned me. I decided to attempt it by myself and after about 15-20 minutes of shooting his weak spot (belly) he went down with little to no problem, except that i had around 30 rounds left with my assault rifle and none in my Rocket launcher or secondary
  • GR_DavidHoughton - September 11, 2014 7:53 a.m.

    I have destroyed Phogoth since the time of writing that. Similar story to you, actually. A friend and myself went in with a three-man team, only to have our randomly-assigned partner bail out after two attempts. After a few changes of tactics (pro-tip: RUN!), the remaining two of us smashed him up after an hour. I had my specials and super better set up by that point, with armour and perk buffs integrated to shorten cool-down time, so that helped. I got a few rockets out, but it was mostly auto-rifle all the way. It's now seeming like only Strikes and Raids 100% demand a full team, and that's definitely a good thing. Smart, involved gunplay remains the most important, regardless of level and loot drops. Though solo success definitely depends on thoughtful tactics and determination.
  • Spartan_91 - September 11, 2014 10:40 a.m.

    There was definitely a lot of running between the partial walls that make up his cage
  • judofrank1977 - September 10, 2014 12:53 p.m.

    How this game hasn't been compared to Firefall is beyond me. There are a lot of similarities but also what seems to be massive improvements too. It looks great to me though im sure it will be riddled with typical fetch quests and there will be some grinding. I'm an MMO veteran so Im ok with grinding. It separates the men from the boys and I love seeing nooblets whine about it. Graphics look great as expected and the gun play looks tight which is nice. My only complaint will be the "friends only" raids. If it's so hard that you need mic chat that's fine but the solution is to either build an in game fireteam/raid chat or tone it down some so good skilled players can muddle through. The way it is now people are going to be spamming F-list's just to get some team stuff done.
  • _--_ - September 10, 2014 12:36 p.m.

    --dont worry guys --the metacritic 'user scores' are in --Destiny on ps4 scores 6.1/10 --xb1 5.0/10 --ps3 3.0/10 --360 4.4/10
  • KNITEpanda - September 11, 2014 1:59 a.m.

    Hard to take anything you say seriously with the dash grammar.
  • matthew-mchone - September 11, 2014 1:40 p.m.

    THANK YOU! Every time I see one of his comments, it irks me to no end.
  • Spartan_91 - September 11, 2014 10:42 a.m.

    I can't see it being that bad, while the game does feel like i was given at most 3/4s of a game i would say that its at least a solid 7.5-8/10. Hopefully it gets better with more planets or something... Anyone else wanna see Neptune? Jupiter? A random made up planet?

Showing 1-20 of 102 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.