Google+

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 review

Back to Article

111 comments

  • theblightsun - March 8, 2014 4:49 a.m.

    This review was totally lame. Ill bet this guys reviews if God of war were kissass. Los2 is a beautiful game. Im sure if konami wanted a free run assasin creed type world they would have done that. The combat is excellent, visuals are stunning, difficulty demands skill too. The story is great as well. Im a die hard castlevania fan. Los2 jerked smiles and butterflies outa me within the furst 2 minutes just like los1 did. Instant nostalgia hit with the line "What is a man? A miserable pile of secrets!" Reintroducing alucard seems promising but ill have to wait and see. Compared to god of war, los2 is no different in mechanics. The platforming is a bit deeper and the character story is better than the usual repeat kratos tale. Environments are nicer to look at too. The cramped "linear" tunnel areas mentioned in the review are the same as the load screens in Symphony of the night. A corridor that connects one area to another. Nothing more. None of the actual environments are small. Enemies dont abuse unblockables at all either. As for projectiles.....learn to dodge. Nit all games are made to be super easy u know. Climbing and platforming: nothing spectacular but it gets the job done. dome platforming sections are simply to get to another area while others seem to serve tge purpise of showcasing an environment and perhaps a mini puzxke at the same time. If you want constant platforming iff every surface, go play assasins creed. Los 2 easily delivers a great castlevania experience. I havent soent 59 dollars fir a game in years, largely due to dissapointment. Los 2 was an exception. I waited long for it and it does not dissapoint at all. My I nly beef with this game is 1: it has an end and 2: a weird glitch in the audio when dealing w I th the gorgon sisters made the game crash twice. Im syre that will be patched though. Dont trust this guys review. Its very wrong.
  • vergildmc007 - March 7, 2014 8:17 a.m.

    Combat lacks finesse Too many poor diversions Loss of scale and spectacle I don't think you actually played the game or you need to learn how to do a review, eitherway it's a fantastic game who deserves a 10/10. The combat system is absolutely great and it puts really a challenge when it comes to bosses. The soundtracks... these just makes you concentrate more and more and makes you feel like you're in the game, the cutscenes just want to keep you watching playing all over. A beautiful history. The game is made the old fashioned way, hard combat system, awesome history, awesome soundtrack, a lot of puzzles(and hard ones) feels like and old good game. So whoever did this review knows NOTHING about videogames.
  • MrJP - February 26, 2014 2:49 p.m.

    I find it a real shame that both Thief and this have reviewed as being average or decent. I was hoping for more as I only play a handful of games a year (usually half a dozenish) so doubt now that I will get round to either. I ruddy loved Dishonoured and was hoping for Thief to be more of the same (or very close). Castlevania just needed to live up to the hype, as I was really excited and thought LOS was a solid 8.5
  • Untamed - February 26, 2014 6:14 a.m.

    On metacritic the user base gave it 8.5 now that is the true review done by 69 people and with the typical 4 and 5 reviews it still gets an 8.5 from the players
  • pl4y4h - February 26, 2014 7:34 a.m.

    Granted, a good chunk of those reviews are purely (and irrationally) reactionary to ones like these (also you seem to be trying to do some damage control in the comments, solidifying my point). Round it out to 7.5-8 and that would probably be more accurate
  • ThundaGawd - February 25, 2014 7:36 p.m.

    Just tell me there's no Chupacabra's in this one and it'll instantaneously be exponentially better than the first in my books. Those motherfucking chupacabras were the single most annoying thing I've ever experienced in a fucking videogame in the last few years. Every single fucking time one of them showed up in the first LoS I wanted to slam my fist through the screen and fucking strangle the little shits to death and then stomp what was left into a meat grinder.
  • Vonter - February 25, 2014 8:06 p.m.

    I think he is a merchant now.
  • GR_DavidHoughton - February 26, 2014 3:21 a.m.

    Yeah, Vonter's right. There's one Chupacabra, who you need to rescue via a puzzle early on. After that he sets up shop in the castle.
  • HeartlessandSoulless - March 5, 2014 10:08 p.m.

    OHOHO!!! You think the Chupacabra's were annoying? Just wait for when you're playing the stealth sections! In special the section against [SPOILER]Pan's Brother[/SPOILER].
  • Untamed - February 25, 2014 6:42 p.m.

    Smooth combat and great skill tree. A ton of great boss battles. Lots of puzzles. ( stealth parts are like puzzles more than Hitman). 90% of the environment's are beautiful. Strange trippy story a little like wtf but great. Nice and long thank God, so sick of waiting forever for a game and finishing it in one night. Lots of hidden goodies to find ( make you enjoy exploring . Nice platforming though I wish some jump points weren't marked. If you like 3rd person action platforming puzzle games ( plus it set in Castlevania) you will enjoy this ride 8.5
  • Outofmanyone - February 25, 2014 4 p.m.

    Oh well. I already have it installed so, I'm about to start on it. I did see a few reviewer's refer to--of course--Symphony of the Night when describing their experience with the game and commenters wishing Castlevania would just return to a 2D side-scroller but even then I can see people complaining that they don't like it but oh well. I like when developers try bringing a franchise into new territory. It keeps things fresh. That was a good review, I always appreciate when the reviewer has good points to add to a game that may be considered mediocre, rather than just a long list of negative aspects. One thing though, why no mention of Óscar Araujo's musical score? From what I heard it sounds brilliant.
  • GR_DavidHoughton - February 26, 2014 3:22 a.m.

    I mentioned it in the positives/negatives box-out. It's stunning, probably the best part of the game actually, particularly the main theme.
  • Outofmanyone - February 26, 2014 3:34 p.m.

    Ah, I see it. My fault. That's good to hear, I just started the game but It sounds great so far.
  • gilgamesh310 - February 25, 2014 11:23 a.m.

    This is very disappointing indeed. I was all set to buy this game, but it seems almost all reviews come to the consensus ghost it's fairly average. I knew Thief would be shit but I expected more from this.
  • Untamed - February 25, 2014 6:31 p.m.

    Don't listen to these reviews maybe there written by 20 year olds who think ps2 is old school . I'm about 4 hours in. Yes the factory is ok, but the story, environments, and puzzles are great. The stealth parts are more a puzzle then Hitman. It's awesome you play and enjoy it trust me. I love how people complain it's to long wtf . GoW was a joke all of them ( great games) but come on you wait years then 8 hours later your done. Now that's disappointing. I loved the first one and this adds to a great foundation. I few hiccups ya but all and all a solid 8.5
  • shawksta - February 25, 2014 10:34 a.m.

    Its a shame, but its definitely an interesting experience.
  • R_U_Guys_From_British - February 25, 2014 10:08 a.m.

    Wow, these reviews are a surprise. Really disappointing, I was going to buy this over thief but I don't think so now.
  • pl4y4h - February 25, 2014 9:12 a.m.

    Having seen people talk this game up and down, a 3 will definitely hurt a lot of people
  • Clovin64 - February 25, 2014 7:44 a.m.

    All these reviews have left me feeling pretty dissapointed and have dampened my excitement for the game. Those stealth sections in particular sound terrible to me. You're freakin' Dracula! Why should you be hiding in rat form half the time? Oh well, I slogged through Mirrors of Fate HD just to catch up on the story in prep for LoS2, so I kinda have to play it myself anyway.
  • EmiyaLightbringer - February 25, 2014 6:04 a.m.

    This kind of reviews make me double think getting/play a game but like many have said so far it's a matter of opinions and even a game with a half note can shine. I love Castlevania and even with all this opinions I'll tear this game limb by limb...

Showing 1-20 of 111 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Feb 25 2014 - Xbox 360, PS3 (US)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Action
Published by: Konami
Developed by: MercurySteam
Franchise: Castlevania
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Language, Nudity