Google+

Cartoon Network: Punch Time Explosion XL review

Mediocre
Back to Article

34 comments

  • josh-moorehead - September 5, 2014 7:03 p.m.

    I didn't find it to be that bad. Of course I've only played the n64 version of smash bros and playstation all stars. Even though I don't have much to compare it to, I still get a sense of satisfaction with playing chowder and belching in someone's face. I play this with my kids and we have a lot of fun. I do agree with others that cn left out some noteworthy characters but compared to some of the indie garbage being released to playstation plus members, its a breath of fresh air. I also think that this may be geared towards a younger audience. To me this is one of those " you like it or you don't" kind of games. If you are reading these reviews before trying it, dont. Form your own opinion or you could be missing out on somthing fun.
  • titleofusername98 - December 30, 2011 8:04 a.m.

    I didn't think this game would be any good. But after playing it I realized... I was still right.
  • Dadyo238 - December 11, 2011 2:35 p.m.

    Even though they have a lot of people hating on them, it's like the Big N can invent a genre that nobody can replicate. Take Mario Kart, Super Smash Bros., Zelda...
  • CH3BURASHKA - December 11, 2011 4:17 a.m.

    Can't say this was a surprise, but I'm pretty bummed. Cartoon Network has such a great roster spanning the decades, and if they had attempted to make an actual game rather than a boxback checklist, this could have been awesome. Any game is worth picking up at 5 bucks, which I will do, but it still sucks Courage the Cowardly Dog gets shafted in his first (second) video game outing. PS This seems like a good time as any to say that Telltale should pick up the Courage the Cowardly Dog license and make it episodic.
  • gondarpwns - December 9, 2011 8:04 p.m.

    well i had high hopes like Hollander but ehhh not every game can be awesome like SSB..... No ed edd and eddy, no buy
  • shawksta - December 9, 2011 4:57 p.m.

    Space Ghost was Narrating!? My God this couldve been AWESOME, too bad its not. Regular show and Adventure time shouldve made it but oh well. Rigby's already in UMVC3 anyway. There goes what couldve been an awesome game.
  • codystovall - December 9, 2011 3:33 p.m.

    This is sadder than when Marcelines dad ate her fries....
  • igothitwithabulb - December 9, 2011 5:27 p.m.

    Didn't the Ice King's dad do that, too?
  • emeraldphoenix7 - December 9, 2011 2:17 p.m.

    I totally would've bought this if it had Mordecai, Rigby, Finn or Jake in it. Alas, it does not, and so all we have here is absolute tosh.
  • GR HollanderCooper - December 9, 2011 3:04 p.m.

    RIGHT?!
  • talleyXIV - December 9, 2011 2:02 p.m.

    Go to 3:12 in that awful dev diary, and you can see how mature the makers are.
  • talleyXIV - December 9, 2011 1:53 p.m.

    So it isn't better than Halo: Reach?! Blasphemy. Anyway, Cartoon Network has really fallen since the early/mid 2000s, when Ed, Edd, N' Eddy went, I did too. Maybe that is just me growing up, I did become a teen when it left so I guess that makes sense. Don't really understand the game's name or the point of it when so many other great fighting games with better stories, characters, and actual gameplay exist. Sad to see CN grabbing for money with terrible games.
  • GR HollanderCooper - December 9, 2011 3:06 p.m.

    Regular Show/Adventure Time are two of the best shows on TV right now. There's no reason Cartoon Network didn't try and get this into this game. Pay whoever owns it if they don't - they're the stars.
  • garnsr - December 9, 2011 1:24 p.m.

    I'd play a Space Ghost fighter.
  • z50macdaddy - December 9, 2011 1:03 p.m.

    No Ed Edd or Eddy = No buy
  • flabslapper - December 9, 2011 12:53 p.m.

    The guy near the left is from the Kids Next Store show, I forget his name but he was supposed to be a lame bad guy who was easily manipulated...not that it really matters lol
  • talleyXIV - December 9, 2011 1:55 p.m.

    Kids Next Door? "Kids Next Store" Bahaha
  • spencertucksen - December 9, 2011 2:43 p.m.

    It's the Toilenator, if I'm not mistaken. If anyone watched the show, they'd know who it is. Lol
  • HankVenture - December 9, 2011 3:21 p.m.

    I believe you are right... it was a pretty decent show.. I enjoyed it being a teenager and all

Showing 1-20 of 34 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Available Platforms: Wii, PS3, Xbox 360, 3DS
Published by: Deep Silver
Developed by: Papaya Studios

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.