Google+

Blade Kitten review

Decent
AT A GLANCE
  • Simple and fun combat
  • Beautiful, wonderful world
  • Great puzzles and events
  • Kit Ballard's characterization
  • The constant dangling carrot
  • Kit Ballard again

Blade Kitten is a surprise. A good surprise sometimes. A bad surprise other times. You begin enjoying yourself, but Kit Ballard, our strange cat and human hybrid bounty hunter, just has to utter “Win, Get!” Hearing Internet memes spoken aloud reminds you of how stupid they sound.

There's a story here. You land on planet Hollow Wish and immediately fall under attack from another silly-looking bounty hunter. She steals your stuff. She blows your stuff up. Naturally, you chase after her and adventure begins. More story seeps in, but it's hard to care unless you have an attachment to the comic. Ignore the story and enjoy the environment. Bright and colorful, it's a beautiful place brimming with feelings of Ancient Rome displaced into a modern land. Out of the urban, the hills roll while gigantic creatures chase you. The world is fantastic. Superb.

Then Kit speaks again. Kit is such an obnoxious character. Hollow Wish can visually lure you in all it wants, but Kit will test your tolerance. Kit feels like nothing but a sexualized fan fiction character. Unlikeable to anyone but the direct audience of the character. Our guess for the audience? Deviant art addicts. So try ignoring Kit. Combat is simple, but that's why it's fun. It involves positioning yourself around enemies and then employing proper attacks and blocking. Environmental and spatial puzzles freshen things up after clearing hundreds of enemies. Complexity isn't everything.

Blade Kitten feels quite capitalistic. Collecting money is what you do if you're not destroying robot guards. Irritatingly, the game constantly teases you with flashing coins in the corner of your screen. It is nonstop. It is impossible to simply concentrate on the game. Stop dangling the carrot, we get it. You want us to explore the world. We know it's great looking, now stop it. While aimlessly collecting money, watch for how Krome Studios made sure not to block your character with the foreground. It's a neat idea that displays a cool visual effect.

Summed up, this is about platforming and beating foes up. Blade Kitten is simple, but simple is fun when such a fantastic world surrounds you. Kit's characterization makes immersing into Blade Kitten's world difficult, but at least attempt the adventure. You may not want to kill Kit the whole time. Maybe.

Oct 8, 2010

More Info

Release date: Sep 22 2010 - PC
Sep 23 2010 - Xbox 360
Sep 21 2010 - PS3 (US)
Sep 22 2010 - PC
Sep 23 2010 - Xbox 360
Sep 21 2010 - PS3 (UK)
Available Platforms: PC, Xbox 360, PS3
Genre: Adventure
Published by: Atari
Developed by: Krome Studios
ESRB Rating:
Teen: Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence, Mild Suggestive Themes

12 comments

  • minimaxi - October 11, 2010 1:22 p.m.

    its already dropped to $10 in steam now hmmmm I wonder why! I just dont like the character period. the word "manga-bait" just popped off my mind, whatever that means
  • wrapdump - October 9, 2010 8:05 p.m.

    Fair enough about the game, but this review wasn't very well written and felt super disjointed. An intern perhaps?
  • SenatorPepper - October 9, 2010 4:03 p.m.

    @adbot New era cap? Sign me up! I want to be "in" on the new era!
  • chrisantistas2inchpenis - October 9, 2010 10:58 a.m.

    Woulda been a five if it wasn't sponsoring Talkradar :P
  • 510BrotherPanda - October 9, 2010 7:03 a.m.

    I agree with santalouse37 on this article; there are far to many periods in it... Also, I don't see how the voice acting could detract so much from the score, if indeed the game itself is simple but decent. TVs do have mute buttons these days, right? Then there's the part about "DeviantArt addicts". I've seen many actual competent artists advertising their work on there, not just 10-15 year olds that "think they're the greatest". Imaginary Friends Studios is an example. http://www.imaginaryfs.com/
  • santaclouse37 - October 9, 2010 5:30 a.m.

    Glad to finally see the official GR opinion after hearing about it nonstop from TDar. However, with all due respect, there were way, WAY too many periods in the write-up. Many of your sentences, as well as (consequently) the writing style as a whole, felt disjointed and abrupt, and could have done with a few more commas & conjunctions here and there. Just a thought.
  • hanktherapper - October 9, 2010 3:54 a.m.

    Hate to be cynical, but is the reason this review took so long to get up is because of the ads on TalkRadar?
  • Memph - October 9, 2010 1:31 a.m.

    that dodgy bare-arsed kiddiegirl thing in x-blades was worse. way worse
  • iamawesome27 - October 9, 2010 1:04 a.m.

    i actually bought the full game. With a different protagonist, this game could have possibly been able to hold its own along with other, current gen 2.5ishD platformers.
  • garnsr - October 9, 2010 12:37 a.m.

    The demo was kind of interesting, but it felt kind of aimless. The world is big, but doesn't seem to flow very well. It's too bad you can't really wait for downloadable games' prices to drop very reliably, $15 is too much for this.
  • EnragedTortoise1 - October 8, 2010 11:33 p.m.

    Played the demo. My opinion: A nice action-platformer, great graphics, nice sound, and the worst f*cking voice actor to ever grace a current-generation console. But she's a catgirl, so all is forgiven.
  • enlargedhousecats - October 8, 2010 11:30 p.m.

    yeah, that pretty much sums up how I feel about the game. The game is fun but kit is distractingly annoying

Showing 1-12 of 12 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.