Google+

BioShock

AT A GLANCE
  • Masterwork in storytelling
  • Unforgettable atmosphere
  • Diverse and unusual combat
  • Reaching the end
  • Praying for a sequel
  • No multiplayer will bother some

[Editor's note: Got the game already? Check out our plasmid strategy guide with expert tips and explosive video for BioShock's every power. Or, if you're not allergic to major spoilers, read our Secrets Revealed feature.]

How do you review a game like BioShock? When describing an experience so overwhelmingly original and so mind-blowingly brilliant, where exactly do you begin? When every single aspect of a game has been as creatively conceived, meticulously crafted and lovingly produced as it has been here, how do you possibly condense your thoughts into just a few hundred words?

We suppose the best place to start is where you will start - in an airplane, as it plummets toward the frigid black ocean surrounding a lonely lighthouse. The sequence is harrowing, but ironically, may be the last normal thing that happens to you in BioShock. For the next 20-25 hours, you will be submerged in a haunted underwater world, a formerly utopian metropolis named Rapture in which every ideal has been twisted and every dream destroyed.

Citizens who came to this city seeking freedom now wander its streets as monsters, the mutated products of unrestricted science. Businessmen who came seeking opportunity turned to war instead, ruining the fragile infrastructure. The population's most innocent - little girls - are forced to commit the most unthinkable acts. And Rapture's founder, Andrew Ryan, would rather see his creation crumble than see it saved.

BioShock's story is the best we've witnessed on the Xbox 360 to date. The concept, characters and pacing are all leagues above the current competition; the genuinely shocking twists are worthy of a feature film. Unlike a movie, however, the experience here is always a personal one - a quest of discovery, a search for identity. Most remarkably, while the answers you desire do exist, the game does not give them away easily. You can play through once, neglecting a particular audio tape or scratched message on the wall, and miss an entire layer of the plot. The more time you give to BioShock, the more it rewards you.

More Info

Release date: Aug 21 2007 - Xbox 360, PC
Oct 21 2008 - PS3 (US)
Aug 24 2007 - Xbox 360, PC (UK)
Available Platforms: Xbox 360, PC, PS3
Genre: Shooter
Published by: 2K Games
Developed by: 2K Boston, 2K Marin
Franchise: BioShock
ESRB Rating:
Mature: Blood and Gore, Drug Reference, Intense Violence, Sexual Themes, Strong Language
Charlie Barratt
GamesRadar

I enjoy sunshine, the company of kittens and turning frowns upside down. I am also a fan of sarcasm. Let's be friends!

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000
  • reyah - September 29, 2014 10:51 a.m.

    Hello, I just got this game cheap from here: www.thegamekeys.com . They have a very good delivery time and I am fully satisfied! Do check it out!
  • Jughead - October 8, 2008 12:50 a.m.

    Great game. I made a profile to comment about this game though because the review I read said that you couldn't see what happened to the little Sisters after you harvest the Adam. If you look closely if you decide to kill her you throw a away a husk that may have once been human shaped and if you don't kill her I thought it was pretty obvious when she thanked you and climbed up into one of the wall vents. Otherwise an awesome game.
  • oryandymackie - August 30, 2008 6:35 p.m.

    Yay, First To Comment! Bioshock is such an undersold legend as the main consumer caj just wants his Need For Speed, and The Wii Family want their Wii Sports! I think I'm gonna buy BioShock RIGHT NOW!
  • Raynor22 - October 27, 2008 11:15 p.m.

    this game is f'n awsome must buy for any who loves shoting things
  • oryandymackie - August 30, 2008 6:52 p.m.

    Yeah the trailer of BioShock really shocked me. I mean, he was gonna hit a small child with a wrench! and then he just gets stopped in time then he gets a drill through his hand?! I thought this was a sandbox underwater with a few things to kill. But I loves it anyways!
  • freakinJINJO - July 1, 2009 5:59 a.m.

    Dam near perfect. It doesn't need multiplayer it wouldn't do the game justice. Can't wait for the inevitable sequel!
  • footballrules154 - January 26, 2009 3:20 a.m.

    i'm either gonna get bioshock, call of duty 4, or a RPG
  • LOUDcarBOMB - December 19, 2008 5:23 a.m.

    Bioshock is a great game! This game has great replay value since you can use different plasmids to beat the game. I would get this game as a BUY!!
  • firewire95 - January 19, 2009 2:53 p.m.

    This Game is Awesome, The Graphics and Interaction With Everything... Pretty Hardcore! But don't get caught with out any ammo.