Google+

Worms 2: Armageddon review

AT A GLANCE
  • Very gentle difficulty curve
  • Great online matchmaking options
  • Every Worms, all at once
  • Lame overpowered weapons
  • Annoying opponents
  • Doesn't add much overall

When you review a new Worms, you review a feature set. Just how has Team 17 managed to ruin it this time? A Concrete Donkey which doesn’t require aiming or effort? An atomic bomb which wipes out the entire map? A weapon which kills flawlessly in a single, badly-aimed hit? All of the above, all at once?

Yep, that’s Worms 2, but Team 17 has got it right this time. The game introduces itself with a friendly intro which helps you set up your team and offers a very gentle difficulty curve on its campaign, but its real trick is in sticking to what has worked in previous titles. Online matchmaking options let you avoid the idiotic weapons which have increased the mirth but ruined the competition of a good game of Worms. Set it to Pro and you’re left with the classic weapon set – grenades, shotgun, bazooka, and whatever you find in boxes.

Worms 2 is every Worms, all at once, and the best Worms ever. Team 17 have given you the tools to make the game what you want but made sure you needn’t be at the mercy of Concrete Donkey-dropping idiots in every online game.

Jul 2, 2009

More Info

Release date: Jul 01 2009 - PS3, Xbox 360 (US)
Jul 01 2009 - PS3, Xbox 360 (UK)
Available Platforms: PS3, Xbox 360
Genre: Action
Published by: Team 17
Developed by: Team 17
Franchise: Worms
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Mild Cartoon Violence
PEGI Rating:
Rating Pending

13 comments

  • c1nd3rcell - July 6, 2009 11:42 p.m.

    I'm not surprised that worms 2 got such a great rating. I've always loved the gameplay that Development put into it.
  • AHolyMonk - July 6, 2009 12:47 a.m.

    It looks good, but im not gonna spend the cash when i got a free version of the original pc version, which in my opinion is amazing. I dont need online, playing that game side by side is rewarding enough.
  • ZombiesVsYourMom - July 6, 2009 12:38 a.m.

    Is this the sequel to the Worms Armageddon released on the N64 and Dreamcast? Weird!
  • bernie10 - July 5, 2009 3:16 p.m.

    what the hell is worms??
  • nikrusty - July 3, 2009 6:36 p.m.

    I love WORMS Armageddon will certainly try this
  • Dexsus - July 2, 2009 10:20 p.m.

    Got this today as a spur of the moment sort of thing and I dont regret it, one thing is though the shop could do with a bit more content.
  • infected123 - July 17, 2009 6:44 p.m.

    crap :(
  • infected123 - July 17, 2009 6:43 p.m.

    first
  • Moosebomber - July 6, 2009 1:11 a.m.

    Worms 4 mayhem on the original Xbox was the best
  • jammyhippo - July 4, 2009 10:12 p.m.

    worms is the best but is this x-box market place exclucive?
  • Spybreak8 - July 3, 2009 9:23 a.m.

    Having bought the first Worms on the 360, have played them previously on PC, on the first week I knew I'd probably pick this one up when it was released. Just bought it this morning and I've had so much fun ever since, totally worth it. I like that you can have just as much fun with single player, local matches and online matches equally if you play with the right people.
  • HellHound258 - July 2, 2009 9:55 p.m.

    I might get this just because its Worms. It may be simple but it is addictive

Showing 1-13 of 13 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.