Google+

The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D review

Excellent
Back to Article

67 comments

  • Nap1400 - June 17, 2011 6:50 p.m.

    Obligatory "THIS GAEM IZ BETTUR THEN HAL0: REACH?!??!?" comment. You guys are never going to live that down. Still, I'm getting this. No doubt about it. Still wish that they added an extra dungeon a la Link's Awakening DX, but I'll enjoy this just the same.
  • Imgema - June 17, 2011 6:32 p.m.

    "Back in the day, we expected games to be mysterious and obtuse; today, we’re all accustomed to mechanics that lead us from one place to the next, even if it’s on an almost subconscious level" I disagree completely. Sorry, but i like this kind of difficulty. It makes the game more immersive, believable, atmospheric and mysterious. It makes the particular game better. I don't need hints all the time. You know, some exploration doesn't hurt.
  • Sinosaur - June 17, 2011 6:27 p.m.

    @Shinespark Nowhere in the review did Brett say that Twilight Princess was OVERALL better than Ocarina of Time. Please read more carefully, because you were either using scores (which don't matter that much) or saw the few lines about how the combat system in Twilight Princess was a bit more exciting and blew it out of proportion. The only place they ever really say something is outright better than something else is the three example titles, and none of those were Twilight Princess so obviously nobody said Twilight Princess was better than Ocarina of Time.
  • gamingfreak - June 17, 2011 6:24 p.m.

    Looks like its time to finally buy a 3DS.
  • shawksta - June 17, 2011 6:09 p.m.

    Awesome review as it should be, now gamers of this generation can experience why we fucking love this game. I cant wait to pick this up on sunday!
  • FlashDancerElite - June 17, 2011 6:07 p.m.

    I love how the second page of the review exists solely to justify giving it a 9 instead of a 10. Not that this (or any other review) is gonna stop Nintendo from printing money with this game.
  • garfunkling - June 17, 2011 6 p.m.

    Im interested in buying a 3ds for this and the eventual starfox coming out in the fall. While truth be told the only experience with Legend of Zelda I've had is a small bit of Wind Waker I'm willing to give this a try to see what all the hububs about.
  • jackthemenace - June 17, 2011 5:59 p.m.

    ... I still think Darksiders was a good game. And I'm still trying to get a hold of a copy of Okami on the PS2. As much as I'd like to get this, I don't own, or intend to buy, a 3DS. And, I DID enjoy both Spirit Tracks and Phantom hourglass. I think, personally, 2D styles LoZs are a lot better, and more fun to play. Although Twilight Princess was very fun, it would've been a LOT easier to play with a simple controller. Which means I might actually BUY a Wi U.
  • Shinespark428 - June 17, 2011 5:49 p.m.

    OBJECTION! Try as you might, you will NEVER convince me that Twilight Princess is a better game than OoT. OoT has WAY more memorable music and a timeless story. I honestly can't remember either from Twilight Princess. OoT was more original, while TP pilfered from Okami. The locations of OoT were timeless (TP's weren't bad, but I prefer OoT's), the minigames and sidequests were WAY more fun. Sure TP had some great moments. Most of them involving (ironically) water, snow, the double hookshoot, or that top-like thing (help me out here). Oh, and most of your complaints about OoT genuinely seem like nitpicking. Plus, if Twilight Princess is so perfect, why do some people like Victor Lucas from Reviews on the Run think it can be boring and monotonous; where as seemingly NO ONE dislikes OoT? Also, I love Okami to death, but OoT's music and boss battles are a little better. That being said, Okami is still an amazing game, but most people who've played it still wouldn't say it apes OoT. Oh, and this isn't biased nostalgia speaking. I didn't get that much of a chance to play OoT as a child. I only played through it all the way a couple of years ago on the Wii's Virtual Console. The ONLY games I liked at least as much as OoT were Metroid Prime and Mass Effect 2. No others.
  • krismair - June 17, 2011 5:43 p.m.

    I've already played it IT'S AWESOME !!!! I can't stop play tell i saw the Review on facebook well I agree with you i think they should og let the 3DS Street pass and other stuff work with it cause I street pass with 20 per day and if i put it away i dont want to exit the game but I hope you Guy/girls get you Game on the 19 !!!!
  • archnite - June 17, 2011 5:42 p.m.

    I only bing this up because you brought up Darksiders and it may be a petty, "who cares" fact but 3D Dot Game Heroes was literally Zelda on the PS3. Also, better than Halo: Reach?
  • sgloomy - June 17, 2011 5:36 p.m.

    I've never played a Zelda game before but I think I'll be picking this one up as soon as I finish Alice. Sounds like I've missed out on a really great series. Better late than never though!
  • ChrisCultista - June 17, 2011 5:35 p.m.

    Lol at 4chans reaction. "A 9!?" "THIS BE A SHITTY REHASH! HURRR!" http://boards.4chan.org/v/res/99142816#q99142816 Dumbfucks
  • Bladex206 - June 17, 2011 5:33 p.m.

    Can't wait, My 3DS finally getting it's game on. ^_^
  • Thequestion 121 - June 17, 2011 5:32 p.m.

    Fantastic review, Brett. Couldn't agree with you more.
  • Xtapolapopotamus - June 17, 2011 5:30 p.m.

    HOW DARE YOU GIVE THIS GAME ANYTHING LESS THAN A 20/10 IT ARE BEST GAME EVAR MADEEEEEEE!!!!!!111!! Ugh, bullshit aside, awesome review. I first played OoT as Master Quest for pre-ordering Wind Waker, so much of OoT nostalgia is lost on me. I couldn't agree more with what you said about the mechanics, and as far as a Zelda experience goes, Wind Waker or Twilight Princess are far superior. I know this game exists largely out of nostalgia, but if I had a 3DS, I'd probably get it just to play through it again.
  • Odpaterson - June 17, 2011 5:29 p.m.

    Oh man, if I didn't have pay stupid rent and eat stupid food I would buy the shit out of this! Just after buying a 3DS...
  • db1331 - June 17, 2011 5:28 p.m.

    Brett, your rampant fucking Nintendo bias has gone TOO FAR. OF COURSE you would rate this higher than Halo: Reach. YOU HAVE FUCKING ZELDA TATTOOS. I hope you play this stupid rehashed port too long and the 3D gives you eye cancer. Seriously though, I really, REALLY want this. I have a week long vacation with the in-laws coming up, and a 3DS and OoT would go a looooooooooooong way towards helping me survive it.
  • Stabby_Joe - June 17, 2011 5:28 p.m.

    I know this game is going to have haters in the near future, well get this: some games age well, better if they're are improved. *ques shocking music*
  • Maxw144 - June 17, 2011 5:16 p.m.

    hahaha I loved the way you voiced "preeeetty neat".

Showing 41-60 of 67 comments

Join the Discussion
Add a comment (HTML tags are not allowed.)
Characters remaining: 5000

More Info

Release date: Jun 19 2011 - 3DS (US)
Available Platforms: 3DS
Published by: Nintendo
Developed by: Nintendo
Franchise: Legend of Zelda
ESRB Rating:
Everyone 10+: Animated Blood, Fantasy Violence, Suggestive Themes

OR…

Connect with Facebook

Log in using Facebook to share comments, games, status update and other activity easily with your Facebook feed.